We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service and nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Saigon Phu Quoc Resort
Ranked #20 of 100 Hotels in Phu Quoc Island
Certificate of Excellence
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good service and nice hotel”
Reviewed February 16, 2011

We stayed in Star Cruise villa which was close to the pool , restaurant and beach. The bathroom is small and old,but clean. The bed was fine, but pillows were hard. There was very small balcony with two small chairs. The a/c in the room worked fine.
There were 4 rooms in the block;it means there is no individual bungalow at all,even for the most expensive villas (2 in the block).
We had breakfast included which was good; the service was excellent.
I think this is one of the oldest resorts in Phu Quoc, closest to the airport and nearby village-night market.The spa was great and cheap.
At the reception , there is free internet, and in the room as well.
The pool is nice, the vegetation is great, but we didn't like the beach. This is the only hotel on Long beach with wall in between the beach and the sea and stairs going to the sea. The sea is clean and nice for swimming. Maybe they built this wall to protect the beach.
So, from the beach there are 2-3 concrete stairs. You can't see this on hotel web photos. So,it is not convinient for the small kids.
Just hotel next door after Saigon Phu Quoc had normal entry to the sea and all other hotels on Long Beach .
For the dinner, we tryed every evening another restaurant just across the street. There are so many nice small restaurants close to the hotel. Indian Ganesh was ecxellent,and australian one(I don't rember the name;very close to Ganesh). Even, one night we had dinner in the restaurant at the beach.
One day we went to Sao beach,we rented hotel car.The beach is beautiful, you have restaurant there and sunbeds .
We visited few hotels at Long beach and I liked the best La Veranda and Cassia Cottages.Next time, I would stay there.
Also,on the way to Sao Beach, we visited EDEN hotel. It is very nice hotel with beautiful beach,better than Long Beach,with white sand and beautiful blue sea.The pool and restaurant are very nice.The only downside is the thing that there is nothing outside the hotel. Maybe you can walk by the sea and reach some restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maldivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    216
    96
    34
    14
See reviews for
107
250
16
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Wuhan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2011

My family and I loved, loved, loved this resort! It is RIGHT on the beautiful beach and has a magnificent pool as well. The staff were extremely friendly and everything was very clean. There are security guards all over the place who control the beach to make sure only hotel guests and their friends are allowed on the beach. There are even people who work there who sift the sand for garbage! The rooms are very spacious and clean and they even provide a DVD player with DVD's! There is a fitness centre that is not that clean or well-equipped but there is also a driving range, mini-golf, a tennis court, a restaurant inside as well as beach-side, a very good buffet breakfast, a few beach toys, a business centre, free wifi throughout the resort, and beach-side massage service (walk down the beach a bit and you can get $2.50 massages instead of the high price charged by the hotel!).

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emhiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2011

Compared to alternative hotels on the island of Phu Quoc we found this hotel to be very nice, but too expensive. "The beach" was a disappointment with polluted water and poor boats for the guests to row, and no sailing boats at all. Also the free bikes of the hotel were in a very poor state. The restaurant opposite the hotel was very nice, including the cabernet-sauvignon wine from Dalat.
Next time in Phu Quoc we shall be looking for at hotel at the southern tip of the island, which seems to be more active and with less tourists.

Best regards,

Martine and Claus in Copenhagen

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMSilfverberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brescia, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2011

We decided to "treat" ourselves after a couple of weeks of intense travel. What a totally depressing place to have chosen. Poorly kept, run down, in need of serious TLC. On first reflection the gardens were quite nice and the rooms designed around the space. The tips of the palm trees held tons of promise until we saw the 3 feet of beach leading to the sea and no possiblity of long walks on the beach due to each section being owned by another property. The first queston we were asked was to settle theoutstanding balance of our bill as we had paid, as requested, a deposit. I was immediatley suspicious as we had not even seen our room, and of course, refused! I should have known! Our first night was spent listening to the huge water tank outside our room fill and release or whatever it was doing, every 15 mins or so......by 4.45am when we could stand it no more, the receptioon staff seemed unsurprised to see us and immediately knew the problem. A disgrace! We said we would check out immediately and they therefore "upgraded" us. the next room was nice, but not stunning and to pack and repack was a total pain. Would never go back there again. To be honest Phu Quoc is no tthe paradise we had hoped but this hotel made it one of the worst experiences we have had on our many travels. It is a doshonest place. At least properties like Freedomland are totally honest and you get exactly what they say you get. My advice...book Freedomland, the cold water shower is well well worth it!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frogfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2011

January is an expensive time to come to Phu quoc, after paying premium dollars we were looking forward to relaxing on the beach. Unfortunately the resorts own their part of the beach, and this hotels beach has lots of rocks in the water that meant you could easily cut yourself . We took a scooter out around the island there are some amazing beaches that are lovely to swim at. Just really disappointing to see all the rubbish on the beaches. Hotels pool was good.

Hotels restaurant is expensive, service was terrible, however food was good once you get it. Suggest you eat at the good restaurants nearby. eg. Mondo or Ocean Bar and Grill. Hotel's breakfasts were very good.

We had a family room - the rooms were excellent - ie. clean, spacious and the bonus of having some DVD's for the kids to watch at night.

The resorts beach toys, bikes, tennis court we very old and run down. Most of the bikes breaks didn't work.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PenLea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2010

The rooms, the resort and the service didn't meet our expectations at all. The room called 'family suite' should have been big enough to host my family of 3 adults plus a two-year old, which it didn't. In addition, the room looked very run-down as if not maintained/cleaned. After making the reception staff aware of the situation, they offered us two VIP rooms instead, however, for a higher price (they claimed they only had VIP rooms left, which turned out to be wrong). The VIP rooms as such would have been quite ok. if the price hadn't been a hefty USD 135 a room ('discounted'), a rip-off (see bathroom pics). The 'resort' as such was not less disappointing, the pool, the playground, the reception, etc., all looked old and not maintained. On top, the employees were unfriendly and unwilling to help. Due to all that, we decided to shorten our trip from 5 days to 1, for which we had to pay a penalty of one additional night. Hence, we ended up spending close to 400 USD for one night in this 'resort' that is more like a backpacker place.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PatrickB02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights in November 2010. Paid about 105 USD per night for a room on the 3rd floor of the hotel building. The resort is a nice, fairly good quality place but beginning to show signs of aging. The beach was a bit of a compromise with a concrete wall/steps to enter the sea. The beaches in Phu Quoc seem to be reserved for the specific hotels so this can be an issue for some. The breakfast was very good indeed. There are a lot of activies that can be done at the resort such as petanque, ping pong, canoes and other water activies. However, some of the sea/beach toys (canoes, etc.) were in very bad condition (if not broken) and the area where they can be operated is cordoned off.
All in all this seemed to be one of the nicer resorts in Phu Quoc, but the value for money was not very good compared to other places in Asia. There seems to be inadequate hotel room supply on the island to keep prices down.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finlander82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phu Quoc Island hotels
13.7 mi away
Peppercorn Beach Resort
Peppercorn Beach Resort
#2 of 100 in Phu Quoc Island
429 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cassia Cottage
Cassia Cottage
#3 of 47 in Duong Dong
1,104 reviews
0.9 mi away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#2 of 47 in Duong Dong
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Vinpearl Phu Quoc Resort
Vinpearl Phu Quoc Resort
#13 of 100 in Phu Quoc Island
544 reviews
1.8 mi away
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
#3 of 100 in Phu Quoc Island
1,132 reviews
1.7 mi away
Famiana Resort & Spa
Famiana Resort & Spa
#11 of 100 in Phu Quoc Island
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saigon Phu Quoc Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saigon Phu Quoc Resort

Property: Saigon Phu Quoc Resort
Address: 62 Tran Hung Dao Beachside Boulevard, Phu Quoc Island 922200, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#12 Luxury Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#15 Spa Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Saigon Phu Quoc Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stretching over 4 hectares, on the West Coast, Saigon-Phuquoc resort and spa offers 100 bungalows and villas (comprise bedroom, sofa bed, living room, bar connecting with dining space and kitchen). The property hides under coconut forests and striking colour of flowers. From these balconies, you can enjoy the sunset on the Thai's Gulf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saigon Phu Quoc Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saigon Phu Quoc Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Saigon Phu Quoc Island Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing