We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, bad food, nice pool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Saigon Phu Quoc Resort
Ranked #25 of 118 Hotels in Phu Quoc Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

The breakfast was lacking. I'm an American who enjoys western foods for breakfast. The selection for western food was warm "fresh" milk and cereal. (I asked for Sikhs milk and they said the it wasn't possible. I'm not sure how the milk can be fresh and only served warm.) Also there were pancakes with honey. Other than that the choices were not western.

The gym is very small and really only enough equipment for 1 or 2 people to workout at once. The tennis court is good.
The pool is nice. However, the staff does not do table service and are not in the bar when needed.

The free shuttle goes to the airport only. We were departing from the ferry dock. The taxi was $15.

Upon check in we were asked to pay $162 (for the two of us) for a gala dinner Christmas night. The staff could not explain what the gala was offering. We had to talk them out of the charge.

The bed was beyond hard. I'm use to hard beds in Asia; however this bed was more firm than most. Additionally we booked a king bed. But, the bed we were given was actually two smaller beds put together.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (535)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

176 - 182 of 535 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Spent 5 nights here. Rooms are spacious and comfortable with a small balcony. The beach area is one of the best features of this hotel. It's Difficult to see the beach/ water from any of the rooms as the palm trees block a clear view.

Rooms are equipped with tv, DVD, a small fridge/ minibar. Wardrobe/ drawer space is non-existent. There's a complicated lighting panel which is a real pain as inevitably there's one light left on at night which we couldn't figure out how to switch off.

Bathroom is basic enough with a small shower cabin but powerful showers which was good. Lots of toiletries etc too.

The beach area is lovely, plenty of padded beds with free beach towels, hammocks, shaded tables/ trees, etc and lots of equipment on the beach if you get bored such as kayaks, small boats, game of chess, table tennis etc. they've also netted off a large area of sea in front of the hotel, so you can enjoy a swim free of nasty jellyfish. Beach area is larger and nicer than a lot of other hotels close by.

Pool area is large, again with lots of beds and a bar. Pool area is best in the morning as it gets shaded by early afternoon.

There's a gym and spa on site but didn't try either - the spa is twice the price for treatments than places on the street or you can get a massage/ manicure on the beach even cheaper again - about $5.

Breakfast is buffet style and plenty of food to choose from- omelettes, pancakes, fruit, kids cereals, cold meats, croissants/ danishs/ cakes, breads, cheeses, jams, sausage, egg, bacon, spag bolognese (yes, for breakfast!), Vietnamese breakfast - pho, stir fried veg/ fish etc.

Staff are pleasant and friendly but a minor gripe is they have a tendency to push their own tours/ buses, etc. we asked for information on getting a bus to Phnom Penh and they told us tourists couldn't cross the border and they heard stories of people being turned back. Needless to say we got our own information in the village and had no problems crossing the border.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank whisper_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. Beautiful resort! The rooms are very clean and comfy. The beautiful beach was only a few steps away. There is a restaurant right on the beach so ordering food and drinks was simple. We traveled with a tour group where half the group stayed at a different hotel (Huong Bien). We had to go the other hotel for breakfast and lunch and the beach does not even compare to Saigon Phu Quoc resort. I would choose Saigon Phu Quoc over that any day.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TunaFlyBy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We, a backpacker couple, stayed six nights at Saigon Phu Quoc Resort. We had a beachside villa which was fantastic. The resort is a bit older and long beach is getting very commercial. Nevertheless, waking up in a comfortable bed with a view at the blue water and sky was excellent. The beach was very clean and the chairs with beach umbrellas made the stay at the beach superb.
The breakfast was oke, a bit old fashioned and so was the whole service. Not bad but also nothing to be surprised by. Pool was oke and so was the tennis court. It advertise itself with four stars and a spa but in current standards its three stars and the spa is a separate old fashioned building.
We had a great time due to the bungalow which was comfortable and 5 meters away from the beach which was super. But it was expensive and the other parts are a bit old fashioned.
Overall, relaxing stay with an excellent beach and view.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanna_Koen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

I expected more from a place that was rumored to be really fun and nice. This would be a good couples retreat. You would definitely have a lot of quiet time to yourselves. Don't EVEN bother to come to the island if you're single. If you're a golfer, hopefully they have a golf course built on the island by then.

Rooms are decent, originally a good concept turned tacky because a lot of uncoordinated furniture and accessories.

Cons:
In reality their gym and golf practice range are not what they assume it to be, ghetto.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chinoof86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Staff are friendly, beach was beautiful, VIP room was great, extra large comfy bed. Shower could be upgraded, but apart from that everything was great. Pool was large and clean. Grounds are pretty and clean.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sammy2182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

When I read the reviews about Phu Quoc it was clear that LOCATION is the number ONE consideration. This hotel's got that and a whole lot more besides!

It's PERFECT. What's more, everything about the place was top notch and value-for-money Unbelievable, in fact! From the moment we were welcomed in the lush reception area to the moment we left I simply can't fault it! Don't hesitate - this is by far the best of the best.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gizago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phu Quoc Island hotels
0.9 mi away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#2 of 49 in Duong Dong
651 reviews
13.7 mi away
Peppercorn Beach Resort
Peppercorn Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Ganh Dau
492 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cassia Cottage
Cassia Cottage
#3 of 49 in Duong Dong
1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Mercury Phu Quoc Resort & Villas
1.7 mi away
Famiana Resort & Spa
Famiana Resort & Spa
#12 of 118 in Phu Quoc Island
606 reviews
1.8 mi away
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
#2 of 118 in Phu Quoc Island
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saigon Phu Quoc Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saigon Phu Quoc Resort

Address: 62 Tran Hung Dao Beachside Boulevard, Phu Quoc Island 922200, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#15 Luxury Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#20 Spa Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range: $98 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Saigon Phu Quoc Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stretching over 4 hectares, on the West Coast, Saigon-Phuquoc resort and spa offers 100 bungalows and villas (comprise bedroom, sofa bed, living room, bar connecting with dining space and kitchen). The property hides under coconut forests and striking colour of flowers. From these balconies, you can enjoy the sunset on the Thai's Gulf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Fastbooking and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saigon Phu Quoc Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saigon Phu Quoc Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Saigon Phu Quoc Island Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing