We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A totally chilled out holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Saigon Phu Quoc Resort
Ranked #21 of 98 Hotels in Phu Quoc Island
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A totally chilled out holiday”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

After reading mixed reviews we had slightly lower expectations, however we were pleasantly surprised to arrived a lovely resort, It has all the ingredients - lovely venue, great pool, tennis court, spa facilities and excellent rooms. For us it is what we wanted as after travelling in Vietnam we just wanted to chill out. Not a fault of the resort but genuinely the island is lacking a bit of atmosphere due to it still being in development. Very different to some Thai islands which are so developed, but you can see that is what they are aiming for. Not a huge amount of buzz in the restaurants and bars. We didn't eat in Saigon Phu Quoc restaurant, preferring to explore local restaurants, but overall the hotel had everything we needed for a lovely holiday.

Room Tip: Took the cheapest room option and this was absolutely fine. Huge room and bed, very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank anya1506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    212
    96
    34
    14
See reviews for
107
246
15
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Our stay at Saigon Phu Quoc Resort was very relaxing. The staff were very friendly and professional. We stayed in a panorama room which is set right at the back of the resort however our room still managed a view of the ocean.

The room was very spacious and very clean. The resort is cleary a few years old and the bathroom could do with a renovation as the shower, although clean, was old and the grout a bit grotty. We also had an issue with a blocked drain so the shower kept filling up when we were showering. Other than that minor negative everything else was great.

The resort has many recreational activities from golf to karaoke. All activities are free of charge which is great. You can also get tennis or golf lessons if you want which I think is a nice touch.

The resort is located right on the beach and only about a 10 minute walk to the town centre and night market. We ate at the hotel one night only and the food was good and ok priced. Breakfast had many options, Vietnamese and western style.
Free transfer from/to the airport is included which is nice for a change.

I would recommend this resort to people.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank funkyshygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

This supposedly 4 star hotel definitely didn't turn out the way we thought it would. On the website it looks very promising and looking at the price range we thought this place was a sure thing. We wanted to end our vacation in a luxurious place but instead we ended up in some dated governmentally owned hotel. I'm sure the design and the rooms where all top notch 30 years ago but right now not so fresh anymore.
Next, service: there is no service. They hardly have anyone working there compered to every other place in Viet Nam, where personnel is always around. On top of that this is THE only place in the whole of Viet Nam where the employees are not friendly. They just do there job, no smiles, no interest nor friendliness. Just open the hotel information book in the room and you'll know exactly where this mentality comes from.
Further more, we had to pay all nights upfront, and the restaurant we only tried once.... For dinner walk out the hotel go to the right walk for 500m there're a couple of great places.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NilesNhouwer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Great hotel, great location as it is right on the beach. Food at the hotel is ok. The breakfast was not bad but better food can be found at the night market which has fresh seafood and pop up cafes which is 10 min walk from the hotel towards the harbor.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaillingard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Arrived at this hotel to find we had been upgraded to a bungalow, great location, plenty of shops and restaurants nearby, a very warm reception on arrival. Our room had a huge bed, plenty of space to put clothes away. There was a choice of DVDs and music. We ate at the BBQ once, very good and plenty to choose from, however, the restaurant outside are just as good and a lot cheaper.
There is spa, tennis courts and a gym on site, we never had a problem getting a sun lounger and the beach is very clean, my only criticism is that our bungalow (613) backed onto the tennis court which is open from 05.00 -22.00 daily and woke me up daily!!!
On checking out we received a free hat and DVD!!! I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanandDav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed from 7-11 Jan 2013 and had lovely weather with an occasional shower despite gloom and doom weather forecasts. The resort was lovely (in fact more attractive than the photographs I'd seen). Rooms, breakfast, gardens all lovely/. Couldn't fault anything. The service was very impersonal and rather sterile (but to be expected in a resort that size I guess). Long Beach itself was a huge disappointment after visiting the beaches of Thailand. I just couldn't see the beauty (and believe me I tried very hard as I was the one who convinced our group to go there instead of another beach destination!). Yes, the water is warm, but its also not clean! Fine for a lie around but not tempting to swim in. We made more use of the pool. Also not very atmospheric if you're hoping for some beach barbecues and cocktails at sunset. Not an indictment on the island as a whole at all, Phu Quoc is stunning! But for an idyllic day at the beach, head off on your scooter.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linsyCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafing, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The hotel is south of the town, but very close to the town.
It is a typical up market resort place, with all pros and cons. Garden is pretty good, all is being constantly cleaned (we found it disturbing to see somebody cleaning as of 07:30), rooms are good. Some good things to do we had really fun with (canus, big chess), and some things we didn’t use (e.g. tennis)
Really worth mentioning is:
Pool is good, children enjoyed it a lot
Restaurant is really nicely set to have a romantic dinner in the evening – food is a bit more expensive than in other places, but not so much that you feel ripped off.
You can easily walk somewhere else: Nightmarket in town good – here food is 50% compared to the hotel. Thai/French restaurant and a good pizza restaurant within five minutes the other direction), you get free bikes from the hotel (sometimes even the breaks work, so keep looking for a bike which will not kill you!)
Con:
It is pretty close to the town, so I had the impression water is even a bit more murky then further south – but generally the water was pretty murky all along the north and west coast, and quite a lot of rubbish in the water (in my opinion driven by fishing boats)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tw1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phu Quoc Island hotels
13.7 mi away
Peppercorn Beach Resort
Peppercorn Beach Resort
#2 of 98 in Phu Quoc Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cassia Cottage
Cassia Cottage
#3 of 47 in Duong Dong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
0.9 mi away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#1 of 47 in Duong Dong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Vinpearl Phu Quoc Resort
Vinpearl Phu Quoc Resort
#13 of 98 in Phu Quoc Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
1.8 mi away
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
#1 of 98 in Phu Quoc Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
1.7 mi away
Famiana Resort & Spa
Famiana Resort & Spa
#11 of 98 in Phu Quoc Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saigon Phu Quoc Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saigon Phu Quoc Resort

Property: Saigon Phu Quoc Resort
Address: 62 Tran Hung Dao Beachside Boulevard, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#15 Spa Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Saigon Phu Quoc Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stretching over 4 hectares, on the West Coast, Saigon-Phuquoc resort and spa offers 100 bungalows and villas (comprise bedroom, sofa bed, living room, bar connecting with dining space and kitchen). The property hides under coconut forests and striking colour of flowers. From these balconies, you can enjoy the sunset on the Thai's Gulf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Fastbooking, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Saigon Phu Quoc Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saigon Phu Quoc Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Saigon Phu Quoc Island Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing