We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average for a high price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Saigon Phu Quoc Resort
Ranked #24 of 113 Hotels in Phu Quoc Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We chose this hotel for our Christmas/New Years Holiday. We had some friends visiting from the states and wanted to show them a beautiful beach and hotel. Additionally, we were travelling as a larger group, as we have 3 children, brought our nannies and our friends are a family of 4. We travelled during peak season and had to prepay the entire room when I booked it 4 months earlier. Not a chance of a refund - which was fine, as I never needed to ask for one. HOWEVER, the service here continuously disappointed.

1. We had a booking for their large family suite (not sure of the exact name, but it is a bungalow, on the beach with a living room that connects two rooms. Addtionally, we booked a garden suite (we would have booked two of the same bungalows, but there weren't 2 available). Upon arrival, it took over an hour to check in. And the nervous tapping on the keyboard affirmed our suspicions...they had given our room away...the expensive $400+ night room. This was a huge splurge for us. They wanted to put us in 2 rooms on the beach, but we have a 3 year old and twin 1 year olds. How can we put them in a room without a door that connects to our room? We finally had to settle on a building close to the road and take 2 rooms and then move the next day in the middle of our activities. They offered us a free beach buffet dinner to take the rooms, so we would get out of their hair! ; ) We took it, then they tried to charge us for the other people in our party. We weren't the only one's sitting there for 1+ hours trying to check in. Finally got them to agree to give everyone the buffet. Thank you. Frustrating, but we had no choice but to accept the lesser room. We worked it out.

2. We specifically chose this hotel based on all of the activities they "offer" online. Babysitting, tennis, kids activities, etc. Pretty much none of them were available. The first day, I asked where the kids center was for babysitting. They pointed me to a room and I took the boys there. No sitter. Some 30 minutes later, i was told to just leave my kids there and they could play. Unsupervised. They are 1 year 4 months. What? Then they sent a male gym attendant to "watch" them. Finally went to the office, they said we need to book someone. OK. So I booked someone for the NEXT morning, went to drop the kids. Nobody arrived. I went to the office again and asked them where the sitter was. Said the sitter was sick. Decided against actually having a sitter while the kids were awake. I let everyone else go about activites so I could hang out with the kids in the room. So I booked a sitter for that night so we could take our group out for dinner, after the babies would be asleep. Was agreed on that morning. We make plans, at 5 that night, we are told that the sitter cannot come into our room while the babies are sleeping. They would have to stay up and go to the sitting room. We eventually just passed and let the nannies take turns going out and staying in. We wanted to give them a fun vacation as well.

3. The food is VERY overpriced. You can walk to the main road, turn left and walk 5 minutes and eat at this cool little hotel on the roof. We did. There were 8 of us. We ate and drank and filled up and spent $50...compared to our meager lunch at the hotel that cost us about $150.

The positives.
1. The beaches are beautiful.
2. When we did get our pricey bungalow...it was beautiful and comfortable. Great sitting area with a view of the ocean.
3. Breakfast buffet which was included was great.

I would caution on choosing this resort based on what they offer, as most things were not actually available. If you are travelling without young children and just want a beautiful little beach bungalow...go for it. It is pricey, but very lovely and comfortable.

Room Tip: Garden Suites are a bit on the tired side, in need of updating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Teresa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (522)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

205 - 211 of 522 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2012

Free hotel transport was waiting for us at the airport. Check in was very fast bell boys took us to our room within 10 minutes. We were in the standard rooms which were fantastic. Good beds free tea/coffee & TV.
Breakfast was superb night restaurant fantastic food service. (Thank you phu. waitress.) The pool & beach very clean with life guards.
Night market turn left out of hotel very cheap food/ souvenirs. Turn right out of the hotel you have restaurants & bars.
Went scuba diving with flipper diving club (padi) had the most enjoyable time out there as it was my first try dive. The manager Neil from England is a top man who would do anything for you and he made you feel safe at all times.
The level of service was outstanding.
In all this hotel is fantastic and I would go back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steveWorksop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

The hotel has a good location by the sea. The rooms have good beds (which is not the most common in Vietnam). The breakfast is tempting. You can get both Vietnamese and more western food.
Nearby the hotel you have the nightmarked. It is a small marked with lots of resturants. I recommand a vist.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Squashstine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Free hotel transport was waiting on arrival and we were at the hotel within 10mins. Check-in was quick and the receptionist confirmed our return transfer and suggested check-out times. Free wifi everywhere as they have multiple routers. 

Large room and bed and a nice shower cubicle/bathroom. The beach chalet had great views of the sun setting over the horizon and watching the bats, there were no covers on the balcony chairs so they weren't too comfortable to sit on for long periods. Tried the inclusive breakfast on the first day, we got there late (10:30) not a lot of choice for western palates so we ate at Mondo's 10mins to the right for the rest of the week. 

The pool was the best feature of the hotel. The majority of guests tended to use the beach so there were always beds/towels available around the pool. The pool bar staff were friendly and were happy to spend time speaking to us. 

Check-out was just as easy and no problems with the accuracy of the bill. We were given a Vietnamese hat and a DVD of the hotel as we boarded our free transport back to the airport. 

Stayed here for 7nights and we thought it was excellent value. Phu Quoc is quiet but was great for us - already planning our visit for next year :-)

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ScubaDeano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Our second visit to the Saigon Phu Quoc Resort was more pleasant than the first one. Mainly because the hotel had made efforts to upgrade the beach and not least that there was almost no plastic litter floating in the ocean this time. Our first visit – April 2011 – was spoilt by ocean garbage.
Efficient front desk had all arrangements made on our arrival. All staff was very polite, friendly and serviceminded. A good sized room with a huge comfortable bed. Cleanliness and tidiness to all satisfaction, as well as a breakfast buffet with significant variations of western and Asian food. The a la carte menu is not very exciting and the meat food at the restaurant was not tasteful. Go for the fresh seafood. The everyday varied dinner buffet was more exiting, with a variety for all palates.
At least one visit to the night marked is a must.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Panorama Room was great - massive King Sized bed (two beds pushed together). No view to speak of because of the massive tree's growing in front (room 207) but who cares when you can walk to the beach in 2 minutes! Room was clean and big, with a big shower and decent-sized wardrobe. Hotel supplies decent toiletries too :-) Breakfast is good (not great, or the best we had in Vietnam) but is a Buffet with a decent selection. Fruit selection not so great but you can get Vietnamese style breakfast too (Pho, Rice Porridge, Spring rolls, etc) which is a nice change if you're fed-up of bread and cake! Room had a big balcony to hang wet swimsuits on, etc and the room also had a decent sized TV with access to a couple decent English-speaking movie channels. You can walk to the night market in 5-7 minutes and there are PLENTY of restaurants going the other way too (literally across the road of the hotel), set up specifically for the resort stayers on the sea-front. Cost of the restaurants is more pricey than other parts of Vietnam, but this is a resort island and they import most of their food so I can see why. For the affordable price, friendly staff, access to free bicycles, gym, tennis court, karaoke room, tea/coffee/kettle in room, complimentary water every day, etc I would definitely recommend this hotel. I would also recommend renting a motorbike from the guys across the road (they have a sign outside the hotel with bikes for $10USD per day). Motorbikes are automatic mopeds so very easy to drive and a most-have if you want to explore the island (there are no buses and taxis are expensive). Plus, petrol is cheap too :-)

Room Tip: Panorama Room 207 was great, no view(!) but decent enough! (read details above :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rich C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

This resort is right on the beach but depending on the season, the waves can be very rough as it was such for our kids in august. The location is fairly good and within walking distance to the night markets where you can really enjoy fresh seafood and lots of seashells and gifts, and inexpensive pearls. Breakfast buffets and lunches are usually included and are fairly good. Dinner buffets are extra costs and are worth it. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The resort is not giant by any means but typically small like most in Vietnam. Would come again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelBugsEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phu Quoc Island hotels
0.9 mi away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#2 of 49 in Duong Dong
628 reviews
13.7 mi away
Peppercorn Beach Resort
Peppercorn Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Ganh Dau
474 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cassia Cottage
Cassia Cottage
#3 of 49 in Duong Dong
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Coco Palm Beach Resort & Spa
Coco Palm Beach Resort & Spa
#12 of 49 in Duong Dong
197 reviews
1.7 mi away
Famiana Resort & Spa
Famiana Resort & Spa
#12 of 113 in Phu Quoc Island
578 reviews
1.8 mi away
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
#3 of 113 in Phu Quoc Island
1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saigon Phu Quoc Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saigon Phu Quoc Resort

Address: 62 Tran Hung Dao Beachside Boulevard, Phu Quoc Island 922200, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#19 Spa Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range: $83 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Saigon Phu Quoc Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stretching over 4 hectares, on the West Coast, Saigon-Phuquoc resort and spa offers 100 bungalows and villas (comprise bedroom, sofa bed, living room, bar connecting with dining space and kitchen). The property hides under coconut forests and striking colour of flowers. From these balconies, you can enjoy the sunset on the Thai's Gulf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saigon Phu Quoc Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saigon Phu Quoc Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Saigon Phu Quoc Island Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing