We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Phu Quoc Island
Post
Inbox
Search

“Fantastic sunset restaurant excellent location, food and staff”

Mango Bay Restaurant
Ranked #44 of 530 Restaurants in Phu Quoc Island
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Over the years our main restaurant has gained a reputation — it has become a destination of choice for both resort guests and non-resort diners on the island. Famous for its beautiful Sunset views and extensive gourmet menu, Mango bay is inviting guests on two locations: Mango bay 'On the rocks & 'At the beach for an extraordinary experience!
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A bulbous place , even though built recently it feels authentic , they have built the restaurant out onto the rocks while keeping the rocks inside the restaurant . they have built around nature not broken nature to build . A wide choice of foods on the menu . May be missing some vegetarian dishes but I’m a vegetarian and I throughly enjoyed the food.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank juliebL4280EU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarkadiVivien, Guest Relations Manager at Mango Bay Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear juliebL4280EU,


Thank you for your sweet comment regarding Mango Bay, we appreciate you giving us a 5* review!

Mango Bay has been 10 years in the making, during a decade of hard work Mango Bay has grown itself out to be a wondrous resort & restaurants that people know today.

"they have built around nature not broken nature to build "
I love this sentence, is exactly the approach we are trying to take each day, each year.

I am a bit confused about your note about not having enough veggie options, as we have a full-page of starters and mains for our vegetarian guests!!! Is it possible that you have missed it?

Maybe next time we can show you, and you can indulge your tastebuds once more;

I sincerely hope to see you again!

Best wishes,

Sarkadi Vivien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,488)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 1,488 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2020 via mobile

Good for breakfast, but also lunch and dinner is great. The pancakes in the morning are really good. For lunch and dinner the seafood is great.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Ravi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarkadiVivien, Guest Relations Manager at Mango Bay Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Ravi K,

Thank you very much for visiting Mango Bay and sharing your wonderful comments on our food and
service. Our team is proud of bringing you delightful dining experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit. :)

I wish you the best,

Sarkadi Vivien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2020

We booked the restaurant for the Xmas evening, as they sent us a mail to choose the menu, and here we are standing in front of the manager telling us that there is no reservation.. We had a table fortunately ! Not everything was available whereas the Xmas menu was going on for several days... Quite disappointed
The last night, same again and we have booked with the manager directly face to face the day before so we had waiting and a remote table far away from the small show (singer and guitarist that were quite good !)
The service is very slow but the waitresses are very nice.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank EmmanuelleM1404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarkadiVivien, Guest Relations Manager at Mango Bay Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2020


Dear EmmanuelleM1404,

Thank you for your comment regarding dining with us, we do appreciate you taking the time to advise us of your experience visiting Mango Bay.

First, let me apologize for the inconvenience! Last month we have been extremely busy, which slowed down the dynamic of the restaurant over the holidays, the special menu was available for 2 days only, and the foie gras was the star ingredient this year. We ourselves are surprised how fast we have finished our stock! We completely understand your dissatisfaction.

Also, let me express how disappointed I am to read that your booking got mixed up!

We have reflected this to our management team, and I would like to apologize again for the poor service.
We promise to try our best to improve on the matter and avoid mistakes like this in the future.

Please don't shy away from giving us another chance, we would love to have you again and give you the signature Mango Bay service you deserve.

Best wishes,

Sarkadi Vivien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2020

We went in the evening and got a shared grill platter for 2 persons. We waited a bit for it. Everything was served at the same time and therefore some of the food were cold before you got to it. There were no presentation of what the different foods were. The food was delicious was some was cold before we could eat it.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank KMPeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarkadiVivien, Guest Relations Manager at Mango Bay Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2020

Dear KMPeen,

Your valuable comment is very important to us and has been shared with our team for improvement.

We are deeply sorry to hear that the experience you had at Mango Bay wasn't to your satisfaction. The food/service you mentioned was definitely not up to our standard.

I sincerely apologize for not providing you an enjoyable dining experience and would advise for the next time to inform our staff members at first hand of the problem, so they can adjust right on sight.

Let me also reassure you; we, of course, will try to avoid this happening in the future!!

We hope you'd give us another chance if you are visiting the island again!

Kind regards,

Sarkadi Vivien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2020 via mobile

Pho looks good but it is without any taste_
- Just waterrl with herbs and Meat. I Will never come back again and i do not. Recommend this place at all.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank 168marius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBihan, General Manager at Mango Bay Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2020

Dear 168marius,

I am sorry to read your review.
Are we talking about worst Pho ever in the all world in the history of Pho? We are very sorry if that is the case.
Our Pho might not be the best in Vietnam, and cant compare with a street restaurant in Hanoi...but the worst...really???
Each morning, around 30 of our guests order a Pho and we never had that comment. so i would say that i doubt it is true.
But, to avoid from having any "worst ever" experience and leave unhappy from a restaurant (I saw you tend to like to give very bad reviews), i will give you a magic trick: When you are unhappy about something, raise your hand. The magic in it is that a staff will come to you and politely ask you what happen. After explaining yourself, our staff will offer to either change your dish or replace it. Try it, it takes much less time than posting a review on Tripdavisor but allow you to leave satisfied from most of the restaurants. Also, you might see that most restaurant, us included, are only trying to do our job as best as we can. we do understand that guests satisfaction is the key to any success. and our numerous great reviews give us a bit of credit i believe.

Have a nice day and do not forget the magic trick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mango Bay Restaurant also viewed

Ong Lang, Phu Quoc Island
Ong Lang, Phu Quoc Island
 

Been to Mango Bay Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing