We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Barbecue at the table” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mango Bay Restaurant

Mango Bay Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Barbecue at the table”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

I recommend their barbecue at the table. You can manage it yourself and there is a wide selection of sea food, chicken, beef, etc.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Johan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    501
    188
    51
    19
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent food in a fantastic location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We had two great meals here - the pan fried crab was especially good. Good service too. Try the dragon fruit juice - delicious! The beach at Mango Bay is also stunning and incredibly quiet.

Helpful?
Thank Leonora B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fresh and by the sea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

One of the better eating spots on the island. Great setting, with comfy tables/couches overlooking the sea - right up against the rocks. Food was fresh, tasty and they have a dedicated vegetarian menu. Cocktails were also interesting, with nightly specials changing often.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank StenicCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Shabby Chic Phu Quoc Style”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Laid back, Robinson Crusoe-esque resort and restaurant with a great menu and the chance to learn how to cook it too! We spent a pleasurable two hours with chef, Linh, learning how to whip up some local specialities - Goi Cuon (fresh spring rolls), Cha Ca la Vong – not a local dance but a delicious fish and dill creation and Nem Xaoi Chuoi – Mango and Banana nem – deep fried spring rolls with honey and chocolate. We sat down and ate our creations after each course was finished. They also have a decent wine list and a la carte menu - international and local.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GrantCalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Level Contributor
194 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Lovely place for a posher meal on Phu Quoc”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

A friendly bar owner in Long Beach recommended this place to us. So we took the scooter and followed the signs to Mango Bay.

The setting is lovely and it is very well run. I think the manager is North American. The staff are quite friendly and helpful. There is free wifi.

The first time we went we had a couple cocktails, a carafe of wine. My husband had a crab sandwich and I had the sea bass in the clay pot, kind of deconstructed bun salad with the vermicelli on the side but you can mix it all together and it is amazing. We had the creme brule trio but bc of the cute little pots design they don't get enough brule on the top so they weren't as good as everything else. Mango bay is one of the few places we found a decent wine list. It was so nice we went back again NY day.

We had cocktails again, a bottle & 1/2 wine (!) and had more seafood dishes and the apple tart for dessert. The bill was 1,463,000 VND which is about 70 USD. Expensive for Phu Quoc but we enjoyed ourselves, the food and the lovely atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cocorotsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mango Bay Restaurant also viewed

Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island
Duong To, Phu Quoc Island
 
Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island
 
Duong To, Phu Quoc Island
Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island
 

Been to Mango Bay Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing