We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Lucky jackpot, super holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropicana Resort Phu Quoc

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tropicana Resort Phu Quoc to your Saves list
Tropicana Resort Phu Quoc
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Trang Hung Dao 100, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 73 Hotels in Phu Quoc Island
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lucky jackpot, super holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

We had no hotel booking while landing in Phu Quoc island. Walking out of airport, a charming local guy showed a pamphlet of Tropicana and offered a free ride to check out the place.

This was a real jackpot for us. We got a very good discounted last ninute price $40/night. The garden and pool looked very nice and spread out bungalows. We took only 1 night for start as we planned to check other hotels.

I took a scooter and drove around 5-6 hotels, which all looked much worse, deserted gardens, houses really next to each other. So my conclusion is that we got the best possible deal just like that.

The breakfast includes one type of omelet or pancake and drink. That's plenty for me with 35C+ mornings. Otherwise the food is OK, we like to go out to different restaurants anyway (Mondo is quite close, night market seafood about 1,5km).

The beach is very nice, pretty clean, small waves and some wind to avoid overheating. Roofed beach chairs are great, plus really amazing sunset. Massage on the beach, pretty big pool and kind service. Suitable for couples and families, we loved staying here :)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WaldecTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    42
    23
    17
    14
See reviews for
19
61
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Nice garden and beach, bungalow bit old renovation would help a lot but not too bad, a plus is the swimming pool, and the staff very very helpful and friendly, breakfast needs improvment when you stay long there, but i would go there again :))

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dergreif12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

One of my travelling companions had reserved our triple room for four nights at the Tropicana as the finale to our two week trip to Vietnam. After checking the resort's trip advisor rating I confess to being a little apprehensive as to what to expect, however the reality proved to be a pleasant surprise.The location is idyllic, the pool and beach both offering the peace and quiet we were seeking, the restaurant food was more than acceptable and the bungalows, whilst a little tired were very comfortable. The staff were all extremely friendly with the manager providing us with a free transfer to the airport on the day of our departure. I would not hesitate to stay at the resort again and would urge readers not to be put off by the resort's middle ground rating - it is actually very good for an island that is still in its infancy in the world of global tourism, but judging by the new shiny international airport will soon be developing at a faster pace.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Enjoyed a bungalow on the beach. Very quiet and a good place to relax and unwind. Good food, friendly staff, clean and tidy, fridge in room. Shops close by and a short walk to the town. They hire mopeds to explore the island, use google earth for a map!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nickm218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We had our first night in phu Quoc at another place, but we missed having a refrigerator in the room as well as a swimmingpool. We therefor walked along the beach and checked out the different hotels with bungalows, compared prices and felt in the atmosphere. We really liked this place! For 100USD a night we got a seaview bungalow with a veranda pointing right at the beach! Nice sunbeds at the beach below. Breakfast is ok, nothing special, but including in the price. Rooms are clean, they have a moscito-net which is needed in jan/feb, refrigerator, AC and fan. Nothing fancy, but much better than a lot of the other bungalows along the beach. The pool is nice and you can rent a motorcycle from the hotel (150.000 dong à day). Close to beachrestaurants and night market is about 20-30 min walk from here.
We stayed here three nights and like it. (We are actually quite picky travellers)

Only thing to complain about is that the beds are quite old and hard.

Room Tip: Worth every penny to book a room with seaview! Costs only 15usd extra à night and is soo nice to hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The resort is beautifully positioned on long beach, a quieter section of the island. The veranda gives a beautiful view of the ocean with the sun setting bang in the middle of it.

Staff here are fantastic. Very welcoming, great with children and always happy to help.

I think the reason reviews on here are so mixed is that there is not much to distinguish the 30 dollar rooms from the 80/100 dollar rooms. Its not five star but who wants to sit in their room when the beach is directly outside?? Breakfast is quite small but the swimming pool, reasonably price bar and lovely garden are just some of the things that completely outweigh this. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dan-fix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We spent 2 nights here over Xmas and splurged the $120/night. This was after staying 4 days for a similar room on the same beach for $35/night. It was amazing and much more peaceful and relaxing though. Not for the budget traveler though. Wifi was weak. Staff, especially the manager were very helpful and nice. I'd go back if I had money to blow.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HOTTUB777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phu Quoc Island hotels
1.1 mi away
Paris Beach Phu Quoc
Paris Beach Phu Quoc
#2 of 11 in Duong To
4.0 of 5 stars 500 reviews
0.6 mi away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#1 of 29 in Duong Dong
5.0 of 5 stars 341 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cassia Cottage - The Spice House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bauhinia Resort
Bauhinia Resort
#4 of 29 in Duong Dong
4.5 of 5 stars 95 reviews
0.6 mi away
Saigon Phu Quoc Resort
Saigon Phu Quoc Resort
#14 of 73 in Phu Quoc Island
4.0 of 5 stars 420 reviews
1.2 mi away
Famiana Resort & Spa
Famiana Resort & Spa
#12 of 73 in Phu Quoc Island
4.0 of 5 stars 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Resort Phu Quoc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Resort Phu Quoc

Property: Tropicana Resort Phu Quoc
Address: Trang Hung Dao 100, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 73 Hotels in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropicana Resort Phu Quoc 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Tropicana Resort Phu Quoc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing