We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best restaurant on phu quoc island”
Review of Areca restobar

Areca restobar
Ranked #38 of 246 Restaurants in Phu Quoc Island
Price range: $3 - $6
Cuisines: Seafood, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Description: Vietnamese typical cuisine
UK
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“The best restaurant on phu quoc island”
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Simply the best food on the island-every single dish tastes different...try the seafood hotpot if you want a traditional Vietnamese experience they bring you a stove & the broth and you put the veg & seafood in.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank dexter41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    97
    20
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing seafood near La Veranda”
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We stumbled upon this place walking back to our hotel from the beach. The seafood is fresh and the dishes are divine. The staff is very friendly, and the menu is offered in multiple languages.

This might be the best food we've had in Vietnam thus far, and it's cheap too! Don't worry if it's not as crowded as some of the other places, it's just not featured in the guidebooks.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sak5h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“BEST RESTAURANT IN PHU QUOC”
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Friendly Service, beautiful seafood. Coked on open bar b q. Snapper I had on two different nights was cooked magnificently in herbs and spices. People running the place can't do enough for you, they even also remembered us from having a meal there the year before. They don't have a lot of snapper to choose from so my advice is get there around 6.30 to 7.00 pm for a good sized fish. Great value, great service, great food, can't beat that.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank nikowgcf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Quite ok”
Reviewed December 20, 2011

Went once and all pur food was nice except my fish with phu quoc pepper sauce. Too much pepper!!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Karin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicious food, great price!”
Reviewed October 7, 2011

We decided to eat at the Palm Tree this evening, on the strength of the previous reviews. It is opposite the entrance to La Veranda, in an open air setting. It was completely deserted when we arrived at 18.30ish, but it's still the very start of the high season and very quiet here generally. Our food was SO good (I had squid stuffed with pork- I highly recommend). We also had a couple of mojitos each, which were excellent. The food arrived quickly considering they fired up the kitchen especially for us, and we had no complaints at all about our dinner. The bill was very reasonable and we left full, happy and slightly tipsy from our cocktails! Don't be put off if you go there and it's a bit empty. It's worth the slight lack of atmosphere for the food!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foreyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Areca restobar also viewed

Phu Quoc Island, Kien Giang Province
Phu Quoc Island, Kien Giang Province
 
Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island
Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island
 
Phu Quoc Island, Kien Giang Province
Phu Quoc Island, Kien Giang Province
 

Been to Areca restobar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing