We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disapointing Snorkeling trip” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of John's Island Tours

John's Island Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Paris, France
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Disapointing Snorkeling trip”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

We booked a snorkeling trip with John's Tour for 17$/pers which is very cheap compared with the 40$ we paid for a similar tour in cham Island. Positive: 3 snorkeling stops in nice spots, corral was very nice, beautiful surroundings, a short stop on the way back at bai sao, a very beautiful beach. Negative: usual stop at the pearl farm the local tourist trap, lunch was terrible, they advise snorkelers to stand on rocks to rest which is completely detroying the corral. Not their fault but these waters were not hosting many fishes and when windy the visibility is near zero. Overall a nice day but a disappointing snorkeling.

Helpful?
11 Thank Kid-u_paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    93
    68
    73
    70
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Waitsfield, Vermont
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Impression on John's tour”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

All of us in the bus thought that John tour should not have stopped at the Pearl factory as we were only allowed 10 minutes at SAO beach.
Also, there is no need to stop at the fishery and insist people to buy more shrimps and fish for their lunch.
90% of caucasian guests were not impressed with this detour.
Everyone would prefer to have more time snorkel and relax at SAO beach

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Cuc H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Great Day on the Water in Phu Quoc”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

We were in Phu Quoc for the first three days of our honeymoon. Khanh, at Sea Star Resort, helpfully suggested John's Tours for a great way to see the small islands to the south of Phu Quoc, do some snorkeling and fishing, and have a good lunch, all for $17.00. When the weather was a bit dicey early that morning, he kept an eye on it and in the end suggested it would probably be okay. We went on the trip and couldn't have been happier. We stopped at Phu Quoc Pearls on the way down, but managed to resist temptation. We transferred out to the big boat and then observed as the tour guides negotiated crabs and fish for our lunch barbeque fresh from the floating seafood market! We relaxed on the upper deck on the way out to the fishing hole. I even managed to catch a fish! After they cooked up the small fish we caught, we went snorkeling. The snorkeling gear was in great shape and the reef was teeming with fish. We then had a wonderful barbeque lunch of crabs, fish, soup, vegetables, tofu, omelete, and beer. After lunch we visited another snorkeling area and did a bit more snorkeling and swimming. We couldn't have asked for a better day or better guides. Thanks to Khanh for suggesting it!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
11 Thank Lawrence W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Decent snorkelling trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

I booked this trip for $17 through the very friendly and informative Khanh at the Sea Star resort. Our guide on the tour was Dong. He was very knowledgeable, and provided a lot of interesting information about the island en route to the boat. Unfortunately the weather wasn't so great, but it still cleared up enough to get in the water. We went to three snorkelling spots, although two would have been enough as the fish and coral looked very similar at each location, so at the third spot hardly anyone could be bothered getting into the gear and back in the water again. Fishing was fun, and it was a nice touch that they served up the caught fish straight away. We also got to try sea urchins for an extra fee - yum! The lunch was adequate but nothing special. The time spent at Sao Beach on the way home was nice - cocktails on the beach, and such lovely warm water!
Overall I thought the day was good value for $17.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
10 Thank Barbarella83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Squid Fishing: not worth it.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

John's Tours had many locations in Duong Dong where you could sign up and we were expecting that the extensive energy put into it's advertising was going to carry over into the tour.
We were picked up 30 minutes late. Our guide did not introduce herself and she could barely speak English. We drove to the harbour, got on the boat, were given unhealthy mayonnaise-soaked sandwiches as we rocked back and forth out on the water. We sat while the sun set. And sat. And sat. Then our guide gave us the squid fishing lines and kinda-sorta demonstrated how to use it. No one caught anything other than a plastic bag. I am not sure that there was even a fisherman on our boat. We just started to laugh at how ridiculous this tour was. One girl was so nauseated that she lay on the bench with her head hanging over the side of the boat. We just sat and sat some more, half-pretending to fish. The water was ridiculously choppy and then they brought out dinner which we tried to catch in our mouths as it bounced off the table! Who knows if it was good or not, we were so hungry at that point I would have had another awful sandwich. At this point, our group unanimously asked to go back an hour early. I am not sure what the heck we would have done out there for any longer anyways. Oh, and sure, you could buy beer, but it was hot. No thanks.
At no point on the trip did our guide ever offer any information about anything, be it the itinerary or, god forbid, some facts about squid fishing on a squid fishing tour.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
15 Thank Carolyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John's Island Tours also viewed

Phu Quoc Island, Kien Giang Province
Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island
 
Phu Quoc Island, Kien Giang Province
Phu Quoc Island, Kien Giang Province
 

Been to John's Island Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing