We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of HIEU Family Restaurant

HIEU Family Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 223 Restaurants in Phu Quoc Island
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Be patient and then enjoy the food. Do not go here if you don't like to wait as it was very busy so there was a long wait for food. If you don't mind that then I recommend this place, as the food is authentic and well priced.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    33
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
274 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Come barefooted and with an empty stomach.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

This place serves amazing food, is great value and with huge portions. The owner speaks English - the only negative point is the service can be a little slow and disorganized.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NZfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent food, lovely setting and amazingly cheap!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

This little beachfront restaurant situated next door to Mai House resort is a wonderful find. It's casual beach dining with a wide range of seafood on ice next to the bbq so you can choose what you want. There is also a menu with some great veggie options (their curry is the best one I've had on both Cambodia and Vietnam). Portions are large (not to mention unbelievably cheap) so if you're ordering for one person, remember to ask for the small plate! Service is friendly and the owner is wonderful. We ate here a few times and on one occasion I ordered a starter that wasn't to my taste (there was nothing wrong with it, I was just being adventurous and it didn't pay off). The owner insisted that we couldn't pay for it as I hadn't eaten it. Amazing! I obviously tried to pay for it, but I lost that battle. The place is always busy, so if you want the front row of tables, get there early!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KirstyandTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent small restaurant on the beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

This is a fantastic place, right on the beach, very good and fresh food, served by the father of the family, while other family members do other chores. Fish is grilled right in front of you on the beach prices are very reasonable and they also servce good wine...an absolute winner.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank MariaPaalman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Yammy local food on the beach setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

I'm staying at the moment in Cassia Cottage and been visiting their place once in the evening and once during the day. Food was just great; fresh, very, very hot, reasonably priced and the most importantly very tasty!

The coconut curry was the best curry I've had so far during my trip within last over four weeks in Myanmar, Cambodia and now here in Phu Quoc.

For those of you staying in Cassia, as you arrive to the beach, turn left and walk around 200 meters to this small place. This afternoon around 2.20 pm the place was almost full, so it must be the food...:)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tiia1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed HIEU Family Restaurant also viewed

Phu Quoc Island, Kien Giang Province
Phu Quoc Island, Kien Giang Province
 
Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island
 

Been to HIEU Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing