We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting but...”
Review of Phu Quoc Prison

Phu Quoc Prison
Book In Advance
More Info
$94.00*
and up
Phu Quoc Discovery - The North
Norrkoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Interesting but...”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

The place was interesting, but small. We spent 30 minutes there and that was quite enough. The staff didn't know much english, they barely understood when we asked were the actual prison was. There are no signs guiding you there, but it's right next to the main road so not hard to find anyway.

The story they're telling is quite one-sided, but it's the ones who win the war who tells the stories- right? Still- it was interesting, terrible and worth a visit!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Karin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    327
    213
    52
    23
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Eye opener.”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Can't say it's not worth visiting here if you have seen the prison in Hanoi as they all are a part of history and different. A big eye opener and shocking makes you appreciate what you have.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank xMiraBellax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Worth it if you haven't already seen the prison in Hanoi”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Sadly this is typical of most of the attractions in Vietnam. Well put together but poorly administered. We were unable to get the lights or fans put on in the main room which meant it was very dark in places and very difficult to see the displays properly. The figures are very well done and realistic. The English translations on the boards outside the prison barracks are so bad that at times its difficult to understand what is actually meant. In spite of this the content is shocking and brings home how futile war is. The prison in Hanoi is far better so if you've been there then it's probably not worth going to this one. If you haven't seen Hanoi then it's worth a visit. Note that it closes over lunchtime from 11h30 to 13h30 so you need to plan around those times.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Home27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Shocking, but well worth it”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

It was quite a confronting experience walking through phu quoc prison. Seeing how the north vietnamese prisoners were treated was saddening. But it was informative and educational as well. Well worth a visit, just be prepared to see examples of treacherous conditions

Helpful?
Thank dwt991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Phu Quoc Prison, Worth the look”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We grabbed a motor scooter from near where we were staying and went for a ride. CAlled into the prison, which appeared to be closed. However once getting off the scooter and having a good look at the main entrance area, noticed there was no one there. Place was open however, so we just walked in and had a look around.

Very confronting, and very well done. Being an ex serviceman who served in Vietnam in 1970-71 I was very interested in it. Didn't open my eyes up all that much as I sort of knew these things used to happen, but keeping in mind it happened on both sides.

The cages and tactics used were very cruel and considering it was happening not all that long back.

It would have been nice to have a coffee or cold drink there after walking around the compound but there was nothing open. There was a toilet to the side of the compound which looks like it is used by workers or tenants from the place (not that we seen any) so maybe a better toilet set up also. Maybe even a tour guide that you can hire who can explain things to you, although it is pretty plain what used to happen there.

Certainly needs to be a bit better organised and even charge an entry fee to go and have a look. We spent probably an hour or so there and it was well worthwhile. I recommend it to all who stay at the lovely island of Phu Quoc.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank nikowgcf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phu Quoc Prison also viewed

Phu Quoc Island, Kien Giang Province
Phu Quoc Island, Kien Giang Province
 
Ham Ninh, Phu Quoc Island
Phu Quoc Island, Kien Giang Province
 

Been to Phu Quoc Prison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing