We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“so sad but worth a stop by” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phu Quoc Prison

Phu Quoc Prison
Book In Advance
More Info
$108.00*
and up
Phu Quoc Island Explorer Tour
jakarta
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“so sad but worth a stop by”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

i can only say that it was so sad to see this monument of the past. with the evidence of tortures and killings, not a good place for the kid but indeed a good place for history lover. I can only recommend this as a place worth to stop by for your trip to/from south tip, An Thoi. Nothing more to expect I guess

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank twini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    309
    195
    49
    22
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Worth a look at”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Another prison where terrible torture and terrible living conditions imposed on prisoners. I can't believe that anyone could ever survive due to the heat, torture , lack of food, water and diseases that were rampant

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank KazandTez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marlow
Level Contributor
142 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“modern history that should not be avoided”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

not much to see or do on this island...so to take in a trip with the prison was interesting.Well laid out and got the message over...but do beware propaganda.....newly built as all was destroyed after the war...good as part of an tour.....

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank sunnyMarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

We came to the prison, but it was under our expectation of such a historical site. The olace is under construction and everything was in a mess. They rebuilt everything, which might lose the original form of such a place. There wasn't any guide to show us around. It didn't leave any impresson on us, and the toilet was more than a nightmare!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank ThanhHuyen89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

The prison is being reconstructed on its original site. There is a building with pictures and statues demonstrating the atrocities that happened on this beautiful island. worth a visit but very biased as you would expect.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jsteven8484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phu Quoc Prison also viewed

Phu Quoc Island, Kien Giang Province
Phu Quoc Island, Kien Giang Province
 
Ham Ninh, Phu Quoc Island
Phu Quoc Island, Kien Giang Province
 

Been to Phu Quoc Prison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing