We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most unexpected delight off the beaten track”
Review of Sakura

Sakura
Ranked #30 of 239 Restaurants in Phu Quoc Island
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Most unexpected delight off the beaten track”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Kim has a fascinating life story, which is printed in the front of her menu. This restaurant was recommended by so many people on the island we just had to go there and when we arrived we were so surprised at how rustic it was...we really didnt know what to expect.

Now I usually would never order a stir fry vegetables but I did - and it was like none I had ever eaten...the tofu was yum...and I dont know what magic Kim put in that dish but it was so unusual - I loved it.

Her food is a fusion of Japanese and Vietnamese. I would go there for lunch if I were you. By the way, she buys great wine from another wonderful, Vietnamese home-style restauranteur Thuy, and it is pretty good considering the rest of the wine in the country is so lousy!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank AshleyGlade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    313
    176
    71
    31
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food, too bad it wasn't closer to town”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Just like the other reviewers the food was fantastic. Loved all the dishes we ordered and the service was quick and friendly. Our lunch for two including entree, main, dessert and drinks came up to $15. The only down side was the taxi fare was $20 each way from town. We would have gone again during our stay on the island if it wasn't for the taxi fare.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank the_one_and_only_hof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Chicken Curry”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This local restaurant takes care to make everything from fresh ingredients. The result is lovely flavours and taste. Its location is only 10 minutes walk from the Mango Bay and Coco Palm resort, so worth a try if you fancy a change. The restaurant is quite basic but is good value. We ate there for dinner a few times and it cost approx 700,000 dong (€20) for a family of 5 including nice cold beers. The staff are very friendly too.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonBullit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Authentic Vietnamese Cuisine”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We have visited the restaurant twice in the last few days for dinner and lunch. It's a simple restaurant - open fronted and, like most Viet places, fairly basic. You won't find any frills to suggest a fine dinining experience which may be important to some. For the true foodies though this is a place with the heartbeat in the kitchen. Family run and with a friendly welcome, the English speaking patron is happy to help with any queries about the dishes. We ate chicken curry, fish curry, steamed morning glory in garlic, spring rolls and squid sate. Each dish was prepared and presented perfectly - and very generously! The staff are a delight and ever attentive. If you can't enjoy a place like this for a meal - you must be fed up of eating. Go & enjoy.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 55travelpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Home Cook meal near Mango Bay”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

I stayed near Mango Bay and its just walking distance from the resort. THe food is only average to my taste. The owner is very friendly and ready to help with the menu.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sakura also viewed

Phu Quoc Island, Kien Giang Province
Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island
 
Phu Quoc Island, Kien Giang Province
Phu Quoc Island, Kien Giang Province
 
Phu Quoc Island, Kien Giang Province
Phu Quoc Island, Kien Giang Province
 

Been to Sakura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing