We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simplistic, but no pool and expensive”
Review of Mai Spa & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mai Spa & Resort
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We found Phu Quoc the hardest to research, but opted for this. We booked 3 nights (£60 per night) and were very excited. However we checked out after one night as a little walk up the beach showed there to be many other options with a pool at half price!!
This is not a bad resort, but my main points would be: the beach restaurant is perfectly located, but the food was awful. Do not confuse with Mai House! The £60 meant we had a 'sea view' which was true, but with so many palm trees it was predominantly blocked out.
The room itself was large, but basic - ideal for the island life. We were however concerned by security for the first time, as the doors had very poor locks and a forceful barge could gain someone access...
The reception were surprised when we went to check out, and even offered to lower the price. But we felt slightly let down when other options (Phu Van Resort, Tropicana Resort) offered me a room for less than £30 per night and Phu Van has an amazing pool with better rooms.
So, my advice would be to look carefully as there are new developments everywhere (so don't just use the Lonely Planet because, in Phu Quoc, it quickly becomes out dated!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 262 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2014

We stayed 5 nights at the beach front room, which was really nice and clean. The cleaning ladies did a good job every day. The bathroom was also very nice, plenty of hot water after you've waited a while.

The location is excellent, only a short walk from the night market area. There's a bar/restaurant at the beach, where the breakfast is also served. Average food, but it is always nice to have your dinner at the beach.

The staff is helpful, the massage was really good. There also seems to be a full-time gardener who takes good care or the jungle-like inner yard.

There's no pool, which is a bit annoying on a hot day if because sometimes the sea can be full of some sort of sea lace or jellyfish that stings and leaves an itchy bite for couple minutes.

The rooms have no safe box or overall information about the premises or the services. The first one is ok, you can get a safe at the reception, but the lack of information is a bit stupid because I read somewhere that the older houses of Mai Spa were actually transferred from Saigon area. Fascinating story that they should communicate more.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Separate cottages spread around jungle-like vegetation which is closely watched and maintained by the full-time gardener who seems to cater to his plants day and night... and it shows. Large room, nicely furnished. Private bathroom mostly outside. Clean and very well cleaned every day. Lounge chairs on beach. Short walk to the city. Breakfast: eggs to order, good croissants and cake, fruit, excellent coffee, with tables barely a few feet from the ocean. There is construction next door but at a very slow pace, so it's not very noisy. But there are frogs... and other live things around. But then, this is the jungle.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sycha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We arrived early and were welcome by staff with a nice cup of refreshing tea. It is one of the best cold tea we had! While waiting for our room to be ready we were offered to have breakfast and later towels to relax on the beach. Staff at the reception are very helpful and friendly.

The beach front bungalow we have is spacious considering the extra bed added. Room is very clean and bathroom is the open shower type without bathtub. Nevertheless, the shower area is spacious so you won't wet the whole floor in the bathroom. Beds are equipped with mosquito nets. A small bottle of water is provided everyday to each guest. A buffet breakfast is included served at the restaurant right on the beach. Music is played during the happy hours in the evening (about 5-7pm). If dining after sunset, make sure to have bug repellant handy since there's lot of mosquito looking for a meal too. The service is excellent at the restaurant.

The private beach is equipped with deck chairs and you can have a beach towel replaced everyday at the reception. The sand and water is nice and clean, and the view is perfect for sunset. There is construction beginning next door (southside) but we weren't affected by the noise during our stay. There is no safe in the room but you can get one at the reception free of charge.

Very good value for the price. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this little paradise.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shih-Li
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

I must admit, after reading the glowing reviews here I wondered if I'd come to the same place when I arrived. I was quite disappointed. The open bathroom with no mosquito netting put me off the most, and the lack of door handles to help open and ram shut ill fitting doors didn't help either. No safe, no tea & coffee facilities, no phone, intermittent hot water...
And when the shower head fell off while I attempted a shower and then the hair dryer blew up in my hand while drying my hair I was almost ready to forget this camping hut was pre-paid and go somewhere else.
Management's response when we presented the blown up hair dryer, (and also asked for towels that weren't replaced from the day before), was 'oh, you want new one?'
LOL 'Faulty Towers' Vietnamese style.
But.
By day three I'd become more used to it, and the staff, (though their English was very limited) were really lovely. Though breakfast was indeed as uninspiring as reviewed, you certainly can't beat the location - right on the sand. And the rooms, though basic and thin walled, are clean - and the internet even works on the beach.
The price, also, is nearly half of some of the more plush neighbours.
So - I think the trick here is to be prepared. If you're really wanting a spoiling treat in paradise in a 3-5 star hotel - don't come here. If you're wanting a clean, basic accommodation, with wifi, decent beds and reasonable mosquito nets (provided you don't get one with a hole in it), a good price, and an AMAZING location- (I really think their beach is the best spot on Long Beach) - this is it!
Oh, and the massage is the best I've ever had in my life. :)

Room Tip: We had a 'garden room' - which looked out on a construction site in one direction and the ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jinilil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Just few days spending weekends with friends, Great view from my bungalow.Excellent spa with very professional staff. The best thing about Mai Spa is their spa! Yes it's a bit more expensive than some of the beach massages but you get what you pay for and this may be the best massage I have ever had I really wanna come back again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victor V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

This is a really nice place. The rooms are large and cozy. The bathrooms are huge. The staff is professional, friendly, and ready to please. We stayed in, and preferred, a garden view room, as the beach restaurant plays music through the evening. The music isn't overly loud or unpleasant, we just preferred quiet. There's easy access to a great beach and plenty of shade from the overhanging palms. Plentiful recliners invite your sloth and indolence.

Two other items of note: One evening our neighbors were entertaining fifteen people in their room and making an awful noise. We complained to the front desk, intervention was quick and effective.

The rooms could use more light. Maybe a couple of reading lights?

How is it possible for this otherwise excellent place to produce such horrible coffee? Even the Vietnamese coffee was bad!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tkhSaigon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phu Quoc Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Mai House Resort
Mai House Resort
#22 of 113 in Phu Quoc Island
581 reviews
1.2 mi away
Paris Beach Village Phu Quoc
0.4 mi away
Bauhinia Resort
Bauhinia Resort
#7 of 49 in Duong Dong
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Long Beach Resort Phu Quoc
0.5 mi away
Phu Quoc Kim Bungalows On The Beach
0.5 mi away
La Mer Resort Phu Quoc
La Mer Resort Phu Quoc
#4 of 110 in Duong Dong
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mai Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mai Spa & Resort

Address: Group 5, Tran Hung Dao Street, Duong Dong Town, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 219 Specialty Lodging in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range: $46 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mai Spa & Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Mai Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mai Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Mai Spa And Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing