We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mai Spa & Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kim Hoa Resort(Duong Dong)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cassia Cottage(Duong Dong)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boulevard Hotel(Duong Dong)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
A74 Hotel(Duong Dong)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (272)
Filter reviews
272 results
Traveler rating
74
112
43
25
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
112
43
25
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslong beachbeach frontwill stay there againgarden viewbeachfront restaurantair conseafood bbqamazing locationbeach bungalowtea coffeeclose to townnight marketspeak englishspent nights herefresh towelsyour feetbeach bar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 272 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2014

This is a really nice place. The rooms are large and cozy. The bathrooms are huge. The staff is professional, friendly, and ready to please. We stayed in, and preferred, a garden view room, as the beach restaurant plays music through the evening. The music isn't overly loud or unpleasant, we just preferred quiet. There's easy access to a great beach and plenty of shade from the overhanging palms. Plentiful recliners invite your sloth and indolence.

Two other items of note: One evening our neighbors were entertaining fifteen people in their room and making an awful noise. We complained to the front desk, intervention was quick and effective.

The rooms could use more light. Maybe a couple of reading lights?

How is it possible for this otherwise excellent place to produce such horrible coffee? Even the Vietnamese coffee was bad!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tkhSaigon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

First the good. This is a nice mainly peaceful place with 90% great staff. Tam, the Thai massage girl, gives the best massage I've had for a long time for about 400,000 - bargain when you've got a bad back. The food is also ok. The bad. Hot water patchy. Duf duf duf music from the bar between about 5 and 9pm. And worst of all the restaurant service, in particular one girl, of whom I will try and upload a picture, who was not only rude but tried to cheat us on the bill after we left leaving only our room number (no signature since they wouldn't being the bill). It took about 40 minutes and some video footage to prove that we Didn't have the bottle of wine (amongst other items). Luckily the bar manager paid it out of his own pocket until it can be resolved their end(we leave early tomorrow morning)

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Simplest2remember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

The best thing about Mai Spa is their spa! Yes it's a bit more expensive than some of the beach massages but you get what you pay for and this may be the best massage I have ever had. The room is beautiful - all dark wood - and the masseurs are very skilled. Vietnamese massage is fantastic and definitely worth trying!

The bungalow rooms are good and very clean. However the walls are thin. The hotel was good at asking our neighbours to turn down their tv one night on request.

The slight let down is the loud music played on the beach every evening - but if you're looking for a good budget place, this is definitely a good option.

If you want to get around the island, a cheaper and safer mode of transport is on the back of a moped. Mai Spa recommends two guys who are brilliant and we felt extremely safe on the back of their bikes. It was only a little more than hiring our own. Note that Traffic rules are a bit haphazard in Phu Quoc so unless you know how to ride a moped, don't be tempted to try.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Leonora B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

This resort we spent 3 days was really the best choice I guess we could have made; quiet and neat place. Near the beach and in a lush garden. Authentic style rooms.
Brekfast was also good, nothing special but 8/10.
very friendly staff.

Room Tip: We took a room which was not located at the beach side. They are a bit cheaper and in the lush garden.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank koenraad17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This resort is right on the beach. Even the garden view bungalows are still just a 30 second stroll to the beach. Rooms cleaned every day and had good mosquito nets. Bathrooms clean and plenty of hot water. Breakfast was great and the restaurant was a good place to eat at night with the reasonably priced seafood BBQ worth a try. We went back for more the next night. Staff all friendly ad helpful. Generally, a nice place to take a break from the rush of the rest of Vietnam.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Paula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews