We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful beach and loved our room!”
Review of Mai Spa & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mai Spa & Resort
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful beach and loved our room!”
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Mai spa was a lovely place to relax and chill out at the end of our Vietnam trip. We were upgraded to a beach bungalow and it was just what we wanted. Rooms are basic no tv but that's just what we wanted. Beach was great. Rooms were clean. Service was pretty good, the only downside to me was the breakfast was pretty bad but really for what we paid we were extremely happy.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    102
    41
    25
    16
See reviews for
32
139
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
dorset
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

Excellent staff, great location and best bbq fish on the beach.
After reading some mixed reviews on trip advisor we booked a garden view room. Upon checking in we were delighted to find out they had put us in a sea view room. Room was basic and very clean with a very comfy bed and balcony with a great view. Breakfast was good. Great location for either wondering in to town via beach or road. Restaurant on beach was very good and staff were really friendly and helpful. Beach was fantastic. If you want a shiny new generic hotel this place may not be for you however if you want to be in a relaxed setting with lots of character, that’s well run by genuinely nice people I would definitely recommended it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

First the Pros. Great location ,great beach , very quiet, delightful kind and helpful staff
The Cons. rooms are very dark and have no furniture. No desk , chairs, tables anything. Nowhere to sit and read or write .Only light is a bare neon tube. Bed very uncomfortable. No hot water. Bathrooms smell of some bad chemical (tar?) At $65/nite you can get way better deals.
We had a beachfront room. First room they put us in smelt like a dungeon. Dank and musty. The bedding all felt damp. Asked to change , no problem. Then in the evening they started jackhammering in the room below us!!
Other guests we met left after 2 nites even tho they had paid for 4 nites at $80/nite. They found a nice beachfront bungalow for $40 very close. Wish we had done the same but were leaving the next day.

Room Tip: dont stay here if you can avoid it. Walk around and look at the neighbouring hotels. You will find m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Phu Quoc Island hotels

Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Having read some of the earlier reviews and having made a last-minute phone booking we arrived with a fair amount of trepidation. However, that was soon put to rest. The taxi to pick us up was at the jetty as promised and after a 20 minute drive (complimentary) we arrived at Mai Spa. Upon checking in we were shown to a enormous room with a balcony overlooking the ocean. Having booked the garden room, we were a bit worried about getting gouged for this room, but were thoroughly surprised when informed that it was for the same price.

Breakfast is served daily their outdoor patio overlooking the garden and the ocean and is very filling, Coffee, juice, eggs/pancakes and then a fruit plate - try eating more! The beach is kept very clean and the loungers on the beach meant we spent some time on the beach tanning and reading. The only drawback is the mosquitos - but those are a nuisance everywhere on the island so can't really hold Mai Spa at fault. Great place, friendly staff and fabulous beach - can't ask for more.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashchi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We spend 4 days with our 2 year old in Mai Spa. The resort has a really nice garden, and is right on the quite side of Long beach (we got one of the beach front bungalows) the rooms are clean and spacious, AC and hot water. Breakfast is ok. The staff are very very friendly everybody gives you a huge smile every time they see you, and they quite helpful to all your queries. Really really nice people!

There is only one staff member, as mentioned before in some reviews that is rather unfriendly and actually quite rude to us in 2 occasions it's a shame cause it's a complete contrast to the rest of the staff (I wont give a 5 stars cause of this, we actually felt uncomfortable crossing the reception after a while so we didn't have to put up with his attitude).

Overall i recommend this place.

Room Tip: Get the beachfront room they totally worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inputflip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

The Mai Spa resort is not worth the money: The resort offers only low budget traveller standard but charges the price for a middle class standard. There are resorts in nearby that offer a much better standard for half of the price.

The resort has a good location. The site and garden are not well maintained. There is no hot water in the shower. The breakfast is below standard, even for pricy hotels in Vietnam. The staff is friendly but does not manage to solve problems.

We booked a superior room with beach view. The room was very basic (walls only bare bricks) and did not have any furnitures besides a small rack (i.e. no table, no chairs, nor wardrobe, ...). There was only one single light source was a bare neon tube, with limited brightness: It was not possible to read in bed. The bathroom is within the room, only separated by a bamboo curtain. The room was wet and there was a strong smell of mustiness. Therefore overall impression of the room was one of a bomb shelter! We felt also a little bit decieved, since the photo that was shown on agoda did not show a room of the respective category but of the highest catagory.

Even if we had booked (and payed) for 4 nights, we decided to change the resort and got a room for half of the price in a neighboured resort, that was much better.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stefan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 563 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

We go for a massage in the second year in Mai Spa. Excellent massage, scrubs and body wraps. They have cured my allergy to massage oil, rubbed into the skin of Aloe vera. Thank you! See you next year.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank doberoscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phu Quoc Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Orange Resort
Orange Resort
#23 of 120 in Duong Dong
104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amelia Hotel
Amelia Hotel
#21 of 103 in Duong Dong
4 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thanh Kieu Beach Resort
Thanh Kieu Beach Resort
#9 of 47 in Duong Dong
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Richis Beach Resort
Richis Beach Resort
#6 of 47 in Duong Dong
176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Star Resort Phu Quoc
Sea Star Resort Phu Quoc
#8 of 47 in Duong Dong
658 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hiep Thanh Hotel
Hiep Thanh Hotel
#53 of 203 in Phu Quoc Island
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mai Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mai Spa & Resort

Property: Mai Spa & Resort
Address: Group 5, Tran Hung Dao Street, Duong Dong Town, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 203 Specialty Lodging in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mai Spa & Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mai Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mai Spa And Resort
Mai Hotel Phu Quoc Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing