We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“probably a nice resort, but wrong time”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Mai Spa & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mai Spa & Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“probably a nice resort, but wrong time”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

We have planned to end our trip to Vietnam on Phu Quoc in a nice resort. We saw the pictures and Mai Spa looked lovely. So we booked 5 nights. Unfortunately we were so disappointed that we left after 3 nights.
The room was, well, basic. Not even a cheap picture was hanging on the wall. The only luxury was a fridge on the floor and a noisy fan. There was an air-con, but it didn't work. Due to the weather the sea-view was blanketed by a huge plastic curtain and the whole area was swampy. The breakfast was poor: you get a noodle soup, a fruit juice and when you are lucky even a small baguette or an egg.
The staff was VERY friendly and helpful and we got a free volcanic stone massage, which we have enjoyed a lot. We paid in advance but he manager understood our disappointment and we got a refund for the two nights.
We are quite sure though that Mai Spa is a nice resort to spend some days during the dry season. If you pay half the price during the rainy season, you can expect have the fun. The resort gave us the impression that it was not really open. The guests are just here to fill some rooms. That is a pity.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 61hitchhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    102
    40
    25
    16
See reviews for
30
139
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2011

...MAI SPA is located in the right position is Long Beach, on the two side on the beach You got Deauville a nice french restaurant and on the other side a nice local restaurant grill...outside on the main road you are right in the center of restaurant and entertainment places...
The place is too expensive (140us a day for a family room, no chiller, no frills, just a bad without wardrobe and door on the toilet, air con after request, everyday request).. for what they offer but that looks common in Phu Quoc island, not much choices so expect to pay for decency...
We got the room upstair the reception, quite dark but relaxing, no door on the toilet and a free flow of mosquito coming from everywhere, you can fix that only staying in the bed under the mosquito net...lighting air con looks like you should ask permission at the reception cause maybe they want to save energy....
Breakfast is ok but boring...pancakes, plain eggs, banana, mango, all super caloric stuff in a steady huts without ventilation full of flyers...
In five days stays they never change the bed sheet even...this is what most noise me...140usd a night...
I choose the place cause my first choices of cassia cottage and mai house was fully during my stay, I also try to book after but still full...after two days at mai spa I want to leave, nothing bad just feel to change cause not too welcoming for us....maybe cause we was a family, looks place more for gay or couple...don't know...

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MAXVOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2011

I stayed here with my friends and we all loved it - it was a perfect location right on the beach and the room looked directly onto the water. The room was huge and beautiful. The staff were very friendly and assisted us in anyway they could.

The only downside to this place is that at night some of the small boats go past and it sounds very loud in the room as it is so open.

I also got some treatments at the spa and thought that the quality was amazing. The highlights from the spa include the Indian Head massage and the anti aging facial!!! Although the yoghurt they use does smell like perhaps it is the ones you have at breakfast with the flavourings.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissSaigonSports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2011

About us: couple, both about 30, medical doctor and lawyer in training.

The good things: the bungalows at the beach (the new ones) are nice, spacious, with good view and only some metres to a nice stretch of Long beach. This part of the beach is less crowded due to the Mai Spas limited room capacity. Breakfast was nice, staff was nice (with some exception!).

Bad things:
Place is overpriced, but then the whole of Phu Quoc is (during Christmas holidays).

We made a reservation by phone first and when we arrived seeing that the places was nice we booked for 6 nights - …. or so we thought. We switched to a sea view bungalow after the first night in the garden view room. After two more nights we recalled another couple arriving complaining at the reception about not getting what they booked. (They wanted one more night in a sea view bungalow).

The next day we returned from a snorkelling trip at 3.30 pm only to see our belongings packed into plastic bags and our backpacks standing next to the reception. We did NOT check out. The receptionist told us there was an unfortunate mix up, our booking was not seen as it was in handwriting from the staff, so that our room was given to other guests. They had secured another room in another hotel for us, as there were no other rooms at Mai Spa.

Well one cannot imagine how angry we were. Private belongings rummaged by strangers. - literally thrown out after 4 of 6 booked nights.

We went to check our “new” place at T90 guesthouse which was a room in anonymous hotel building with a disgusting smell from the toilet. It was at 45 Dollar overpriced as well, and it was definitely not comparable to the sea view bungalow that we booked. Naturally at 5 pm in the holiday season other hostels were either fully booked at that time or had only one night for 120 US Dollars, (we had two more nights to stay) which we refused to pay for a room.

We decided not to stay at the T90 room which was arranged by the Mai Spa staff (mainly because the smell was unbearable.) Well the staff was not overly helpful to find other rooms. When we were still refusing to leave at 10 pm (where to??) they offered us to sleep at the Spa (in order to get us away from the reception zone. The other guests were beginning to look at us with all our stuff right in middle and we were so tired that we rested at the wooden benches there.) As they worked in shifts the guy responsible for moving our things out was not there at the time we got back from our snorkelling trip. We accepted to sleep at the spa to confront the receptionist the day after (you see the anger was still burning).
The next day the guy in charge refused to take any responsibility. Management had decided to treat us that way. And management was (still) not contactable because at that time away in Saigon. We insisted that it was not our problem to look for an adequate room, still we spent 2,5 h to look at almost any place at Long Beach (For example Nhat Lan, Viet Thanh, Thanh Kieu, Hiep Thanh, Cassia, Mai House, Sea Star, Paris beach, Beach Club, Kim Hoa, Kim Nam Hoa, Blue Lagoon, Saigon Phu Quoc …) Either they were fully booked or the rooms were a mess. Receptonist was not helpful, offered us several hostels just to realize they were full after he had the wits to call them. We declined an offer for a hotel 45 min away. That was our last day at Phu Quoc and we wanted to have some beach time. Moreover we suspected he chose the hotel because it was so far away he hoped we would not return to complain. At noon we went to beach. The receptionist said he tried everything (he phoned 4 hostels in 1 hour, we phoned 7 and looked at over a dozen places) and we have to decide now. In our opinion it was the Mai Spas duty to look for a decent alternative accommodation. When we came back from the beach we were not even greeted. We went out again and booked a room at T90 not a smelly one but on the other side with a view of what looks like a giant oil chimney and with a quite a noisy factory sound. Well we only slept there and fortunately at the time the oil factory started to work in the morning (6 am) we were already up to get to the airport.


1). The most outrageous thing was to see your personal belongings thrown together, (shoes and clean clothes together, glasses in the bag with beach things so it got some nice scratches…etc.). We did not expect to move out, everything was unpacked (as for example private things like underwear, cosmetics, and valuables). We have been to a few places all around the world. There was NO place we travelled regardless of being a backpackers place or some better accommodation which would move our things out without consulting us. There were other places which overbooked as well, but all of them had the decency to offer us another room with at least equal quality in advance – not to literally throw us out.

Even if there had been a mix up, the staff should have waited until we came back. The staff admitted that the guests now living in our bungalow changed rooms so there was no need to rush.

2). Staff was not helpful to arrange a comparable accommodation. When we refused to move to smelly or dirty places they told us there was nothing more they could do.

3.) They not only moved us out after the 4 night thus cancelling the 5th night but erased the reservation for the 6th night as well.

4.) There was no explanation, no excuse from the management. Receptionists refused to take the blame. But then who is?

5.) We had the feeling (maybe it is wrong) that as we looked like young backpackers dressed mainly in beach outfit we were singled out to be the least difficult to deal with. Other guests (especially guests who are complaining they had a written booking confirm) had to be placated). They certainly did not expect us to refuse leaving. We can only assume they would not have treated us this way if they knew that we were medical doctor and lawyer in training.

6.) We got financial recompensation (after we asked for it) but this is not about money. If you travelled all around the world it is time that matters most.

This our first review ever, we travelled many places all other the world, we were NEVER treated like this.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chia8844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Phu Quoc Island hotels

washington dc
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2011

My husband and I were quite disappointed by the Mai Spa. The staff are friendly and courteous, but the rooms are very basic and the resort had a lot of maintenance issues. The resort has a good location and good potential but somehow it looked like the owners got tired halfway through and left it unkempt and unfinished. Also, the property kept several stray dogs which looked like they've never been washed or taken care of and that often barked at nights. All in all, it was too pricey for what if offered. The spa charges 20 dollars per hour while the on-going rate for massages on the beach is 2.5 dollars and even the nice spa next to La Veranda hotel charges 14 dollars per hour. Not surprisingly, the masseuses kept doing each other's nails to keep themselves occupied.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lighttravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2011

We stayed at Mai Spa Resort in January 2011. We booked via Agoda - at the time we thought it was a little expensive, but not having anything to compare it to, from the photos it looked good value. When we arrived, we were shown to our sea view room (as booked), however this was in the main (older) block and the room was downstairs. What no booking websites show are the new block of rooms - which we discovered are cheaper, at $75 per night. We can't comment on these rooms, as we didn't see them, however they were brand new stone villas.

There are a few things to note when booking at Mai Spa -
Firstly, if you get one of the older rooms in the downstairs block - bring ear plugs, as the lovely wooden floorboards (that are in all the promo pictures, but not in the downstairs rooms!) are the worst soundproofed floors we have ever heard. In fact there is no soundproofing - the floorboards ARE the ceiling and you can hear... EVERYTHING!

Secondly - these downstairs rooms are directly next to the beach...which is great, but then because of the lack of soundproofing you get to hear the pack of beach dogs that seem to be fed by the Mai Spa staff - barking very loudly right next to your room. All night long!

Thirdly - compared to the Mango Bay Resort, where we also stayed, the rooms are overpriced for what they are. The facilities, the rooms, the linen and towels, the main entrance into the resort - are all not as good as the Mango Bay - and the prices aren't that different.

And finally the room security is non existent - no safe and the only way to lock the door is with a padlock that doesn't seem to secure the door in any way, meaning you end up lugging valuables around all day. For a $90 a night hotel, you would be forgiven for expecting more. 

On a positive note, the location on Long Beach is great (at the quieter end), the breakfasts are very good and plentiful, and the staff were incredibly friendly and willing to help. 

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saigon
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2010

Mai Spa is a very nice place. Staff was friendly and everything would be fine if they didn't ask so high prices. If you pay 90 USD for a room (for 3 adults) you just expect to get more for the money, something like hotel standards. Mai Spa could be described as the better backpackers place. Others.. the place is cool, no luxury, but clean and nicely set at the beach and it would absolutely be a good choice for 50 USD.
I wonder how these places do get enough guests when asking such prices. But it happened to me as well.. I looked at the page and thought that it would be worth the money.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saigonaese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phu Quoc Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Kim Hoa Resort
Kim Hoa Resort
#18 of 44 in Duong Dong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Orange Resort
Orange Resort
#22 of 113 in Duong Dong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hiep Thanh Hotel
Hiep Thanh Hotel
#58 of 188 in Phu Quoc Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Phu Quoc Kim Bungalows On The Beach
0.1 mi away
Amelia Hotel
Amelia Hotel
#24 of 95 in Duong Dong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tropicana Resort Phu Quoc
Tropicana Resort Phu Quoc
#10 of 44 in Duong Dong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mai Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mai Spa & Resort

Property: Mai Spa & Resort
Address: Group 5, Tran Hung Dao Street, Duong Dong Town, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 188 Specialty Lodging in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mai Spa & Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mai Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mai Spa And Resort
Mai Hotel Phu Quoc Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing