We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Indian food”

Ganesh Indian Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 229 Restaurants in Phu Quoc Island
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Port Fairy, Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Indian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

I know this is a chain but its great to find consistent quality. Good service and reasonably prices. Makes a pleasant change from local cuisine.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    409
    242
    88
    40
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The highlight of a rainy day.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Possibly the best Indian food I've ever had. On a day ruined by a tropical storm, we were able to enjoy a lovely meal of comfort food and a few beers to lift our spirits.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andriestes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
452 reviews
342 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
“Great Indian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Once in a while we need a break from Vietnamese food, and with an Indian partner, an Indian restaurant makes a welcome change. We enjoyed our first dinner so much, we went a second time during our week's stay on Phu Quoc. You have the choice of sitting outside to enjoy an evening breeze - it's close to the road, but there is not that much traffic in the evening- or in air conditioned comfort inside. The atmosphere is laid back tropical with rattan furniture etc.
The menu is extensive, with lots of choice both for meat and fish eaters, and for vegetarian. We had. We had some meat and some vegetable dishes on our first dishes, all very good ( the adjust the spice level to your requirements, and also bring you fresh green chillies if required), as were the rotis and the pullao rice. On our second visit we had exclusively vegetarian food, and I enjoyed this even more, especially a great baigan masala, and an exquisite humble tarka dhal!
Service is sweet, with reasonable English, sometimes maybe a little too eager and servile, overseen by an Indian manager. The toilets are very clean, among the best I have seen in restaurants in Vietnam. Prices are, by local standards, a little on the high side, but definitely worth it!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ullabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the nicest curry's i've ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Loved this place! We visited twice it was that good.

Prices are really great, food was fantastic - one of the nicest currys i've had and i've had my fair share of currys around the world. Ordered a chicken jalfrezi the first night and chicken madras the second night along with the usual nan bread, rice etc.

The service was a little too good. Waitresses were clearly happy for our business unlike some other restaurants on the island.

Had some great food at good prices with excellent service here and would recommend!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MattyyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinjarra, Australia
Level Contributor
220 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“I love a good lamb curry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Lamb curry was very good; plain nan bread excellent and a decent mango lassi along with very quick and pleasant service made for a great dining experience

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bob-Carol-Pinjarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ganesh Indian Restaurant also viewed

Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island
Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island
 
Phu Quoc Island, Kien Giang Province
 
Phu Quoc Island, Kien Giang Province
Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island
 

Been to Ganesh Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing