We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (743)
Filter reviews
743 results
Traveler rating
542
139
38
19
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
542
139
38
19
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews solar power family dinner wine bottles beachfront cottage vietnamese lessons open roof bathroom free drinking water vietnamese language eco friendly eco tourism reading books beautiful beach remote location yoga classes sound of the waves cooking class vietnamese family
Filter
Updating list...
348 - 353 of 743 reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2015 via mobile

A quiet place away from the hustle and noise of Phu Quoc. Friendly staff, great food, and private beach. Being an eco lodge, there is no AC, but each room has fans and the ocean breeze is enough. Rooms are rustic, but clean and comfortable. Would return.

Date of stay: October 2015
1  Thank Tina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2015

After doing quite a bit of travelling around Vietnam (Ho Chi Minh, Hanoi, and Sapa) my husband and I were ready for peace and quite - and we got it at Bamboo Cottages. As many of the other reviews mention, the road to get there is quite bumpy, but you don't go for the road, you go for the secluded location, and the beautiful view.

Upon arrival, we were greeted with a welcome drink helped to our lovely little beach front cottage. WOW! That's all I can say. It was a lovely room with a indoor/outdoor bathroom, that you get used to quicker than you think you would :).

All the staff were extremely helpful. Anything you could possible want, they were there for you. My husband made use of the free kayak a few times, I just made use of the sun loungers and read.

The restaurant has a small menu, but don't let that put you off. The food is absolutely DELICIOUS! Having eaten all our meals there for 3 1/2 days, we were not spoiled for choice.

All in all, it was a wonderful relaxing way to end an otherwise hectic trip.

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ms_green-lott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles V, Manager at Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2015

Chao mrsmachell,

Thanks so much for leaving us this review.

Our road is not so bad when we have no rain (though still bumpy and dirt/rock). ☺ But yes, it can be quite the adventure if we have several days of rain. If it was concrete, we would not be as seemingly isolated as we are.

Thank you for your compliments about our service, rooms and food.

We hope you’ll consider us if you make your way over to this side of the world again.

Warm island regards,
Charles and the Bamboo Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2015 via mobile

The cottage is the heart of the whole place to hang out, chill, read, meet interesting people, simply enjoy. The small bungalows are beautifully situated along the beach and garden so one can jump right into the water.
Nice atmosphere, tasteful design, delicious food, decent and interesting people around, most friendly staff, appealing offers such as cooking classes or kayak trips to the small island right in front of the coast (so even rainy days are enjoyable ;).
Living here for five wonderful days right on the ocean fulfilled a dream I always had!

Date of stay: October 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank AnnaR7046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles V, Manager at Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2015

Chao Anna R,

What a nice review to receive on this day. Thanks for starting a Tripadvisor account to make it ☺

We’re happy you were able to enjoy your time with us and we could assist in fulfilling a dream of yours. Feel free to come back and visit us in the future.

Warm regards,
Charles and the Bamboo Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2015 via mobile

Wonderful getaway and super friendly and professional staff. Fully recommend this place! Looked at some nearby resorts up close when staying here and they were either too commercial or straight up trashy places. Very happy to have stayed here! Thanks to the bamboo staff!

Date of stay: October 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Ivar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2015 via mobile

After visiting other parts of pho quoc island we we're recommend to visit bamboo cottages up in the north of the island. Over all of the areas this was the nicest part. The hotel staff are very helpful and organised and theism room and restaurant has a family feel for just relaxing. With games and a pool table and puppies it is a great place to hang out. The setting on the beach is spectacular. Hawaii without the price tag. Pho quoc island itself could be the absolute best place on earth, however the environmental devastation occurring is hard to see in real life. If you visit this island bamboo cottages make your stay just lovely.

Date of stay: September 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Maria N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews