We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (743)
Filter reviews
743 results
Traveler rating
542
139
38
19
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
542
139
38
19
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews solar power family dinner wine bottles beachfront cottage vietnamese lessons open roof bathroom free drinking water vietnamese language eco friendly eco tourism reading books beautiful beach remote location yoga classes sound of the waves cooking class vietnamese family
Filter
Updating list...
355 - 360 of 743 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2015 via mobile

Amazing location and cosy rooms! Very friendly staff and good food! No wi-fi in the rooms but that's just a + in my opinion.

Very good place to visit if u want to avoid the typical "tourist feeling".

They have some good vegetarian dishes on the menue in their restaurant + they use 100% solar power!

Date of stay: September 2015
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank Joel I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2015

We stayed at Bamboo Cottages for 5 days at the end of August/start of September 2015. The staff were friendly and accommodating, the atmosphere was very relaxed and the surroundings were idyllic. The facilities weren't 5* but they were clean and perfectly comfortable - 5* luxury would have felt out of place in such a natural environment anyway. We are usually explorers and like to venture out but didn't feel the need to do so and took our stay at Bamboo as an opportunity to unwind. The cottages are on the beach so that you can hear the lovely sound of waves crashing from your room. The food at the restaurant was brilliant and very reasonably priced. There were lots of lovely touches - such as free drinking water, communal dinners to get meet others staying at the cottages and the occasional free (delicious) cocktail. I can't recommend the place enough and hope it can continue to flourish in and amongst the bigger developments popping up on the Island. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Room tip: Go for the beach view cottages if possible
Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank NicolaF659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles V, Manager at Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2015

Chao NicolaF659,

It’s very helpful to us that you took the time to write this review because as your final words state “bigger developments” are coming to this island very quickly and we: Bamboo Cottages -19 room - solar powered - family style … will be consumed with international companies and mega-resorts as our competitors.

Thank you very much for your comments.

Warm island regards,
Charles and the Bamboo Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2015

Loved this place a little off the beaten track but worth it for a few days. The staff are super friendly and nice, food is great, loved our little bungalow on the beach, and loved going kayaking to the little island to go snorkelling, ah and 2 of the families dogs had had puppy's so got to get some cuddles in and with the mother dog Chico. Such a beautiful spot. Love there Eco vibe to, all run on solar power. Highly recommend, the beach is isolated, I'd get here quick before resorts start popping up, oh and the cooking course is great they offer, I didn't do but my friend did I enjoyed her cooking me lunch, super lovely chef and so knowledge. Now it is off the beaten track, but so perfect for getting away from it all. Peaceful.

Room tip: The bungelows close to beach so you can hear the waves crashing so soothing
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Q3196VPkellym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2015

Bamboo cottage was a perfect experience. It is a place to relax and enjoy with your people. We loved their "business model" because of many details. One of the most important was that they are a eco friendly accommodation so you can enjoy nature without the least environmental impact. Phu Quoc is a nice and still wild island so I find great accommodations that preserve the essence os the island. Bamboo cottage is the perfect alternative in stead of the typical huge resort.

Service was excellent, resourceful, friendly and helpful. When you contact with Tina, she explains you perfectly what you will find in order to avoid disappointments: is located far away, maybe there is a lack of electricity and water, no air conditioning, etc. I highlight this because I read in others reviews people complaint about this kind of things. I think it is not fear because they alert about everything. To sum up, this place is totally enjoyed by people who can enjoy simplicity.

We stayed in a front beach cottage and it was great. The beach was literally two meters from the sea so imagine the views. You listen the sea inside the room and it is very peaceful. Although you have just a fan, you do not get sweat because the room have apertures above the door (August temperatures).

They provide all the amenities you can need there. In the room: fan, mosquito net, towels for bath and beach, lantern, slippers, umbrella, unlimited water to drink... There are hammocks, you can take their bikes or visit a close small island doing kayaking. We went in the wet season and just one day rained. Despite this, you enjoy the atmosphere and do not get bored. In the hall there are a pool, board games, cross booking, cards, film at night. In addition, they propose activities to hire: massages, dinner with Vietnamese family, cooking class, hire a motorbike, etc.

You could not rent a motorbike because the weather and because the road to arrive to the cottage was in works so it was a dangerous idea. I hope they finish soon the works because it was a pity was not able to rent it.

The beach in front of the cottage is clean but if you go for a walk, where there is not an accommodation, you find rubbish as shoes, bottles, plastics...

Breakfast is included and it is complete, varied and very good. Have dinner there is a perfect experience. Restaurant is very good too. There are other accommodations to go for dinner but we liked the food, the service and the views so we did not try anything. It seems that all the food is based on the same (rice, noodles, vegetables...) but maybe it is because of the Vietnamese cooking. Presentation is designed and quantity is enough.

For sure, I would like to come back!!!

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soloclara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles V, Manager at Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2015

Chao Soloclara,

What a nice review to receive ☺

Thank you for mentioning the fact that we email all of our guests prior to arrival to inform them all of the “little things” that may not be suitable for them.

I’m sorry you were under the impression that you could not rent a motorbike when staying with us because of the weather and the road. Yes, we would not recommend it during the time you were here…lot’s of rain and the road was under construction…but it was still an option.

It’s good to know you were happy being with us here though and enjoyed our services and atmosphere we try to cultivate.

Hope to see you in the near future.

Warm regards,
Charles and the Bamboo Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2015 via mobile

We stayed for 9 nights at Bamboo and believe it's the best value for money you will receive on Phu Quoc! The food is brilliant, the staff are brilliant and the location.. well.. put it this way.. You will not find better! Hire a resort scooter and check out what this brilliant island has to offer, when your done, make your way back to Bamboo, grab a fresh fruit cocktail and enjoy the sunset dropping over the island into the gulf of Thailand! Or, grab a book, soak up the sun and swim in the calm waters right at your doorstep. It's getting "getting back to nature" done tastefully and unforgettably at its finest. You'll love it!

Date of stay: September 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews