We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great people, atmosphere, best dinner in our trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Freedomland Phu Quoc Resort
Ranked #17 of 98 Hotels in Phu Quoc Island
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
“Great people, atmosphere, best dinner in our trip”
Reviewed May 14, 2010

Visited with my wife and a five-year-daughter this time and we are willing to visit again.
Great people, the atmosphere, the best dinner in our trip to Vietnam, the relaxing bungalows, Rita cafe table. Peter and Rita, you have a greate taste for everything.
May not appear properlly on your PC because of our local language...しんにち派で海外経験豊かなベトナム人とポルトガル人がやってます。けっこうあたらしいです。 かなりベトナムっぽい建築で解放感あるバンガロー。人情あふれるオーナーです。調度品や食事のセンスがすばらしい。
海岸まで牛やはなしがいの鶏を楽しみながらあるいて十分。本当のベトナムを楽しめました。5歳の子連れで宿泊。ご飯がとてもおいしくセンス抜群です。食べ放題というか、とてもたべきれない。一人で泊まっていた人もいました。オーナーがとても好い人なのでひとりでいっても楽しめます

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam298184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    47
    18
    8
    9
See reviews for
71
303
61
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2010

My partner and I found Freedomland using tripadvisor and as yet this little piece of hippy paradise is not in Lonely planet or the rough Guide. It still retains it's charm and quality and I for one hope it stay's as one of Phu Quoc's best kept secrets.

Peter is the life and soul of this establishment, this is a homestay with a communal feeling about it and Peter does go out of his way to make you feel at home. I think though that he grapples with the business v's home aspects of this as there were times when we felt that he struggled with what kind of a service he was providing. The place has only been open two years and so many things are still being decided.

with the only slight negative over, I will swiftly move onto the positives...Many customers have already mentioned the food, but this really was the highlight for me. I enjoyed eating Peter's hearty meals, which he so obviously takes much pride in presenting. He prepares so much and with communal dining, really makes you feel that you are in his back garden, dining with friends. I loved this aspect of our stay.

The rooms are basic but clean and well equipt for what you need (mossi net, en suite bathroom, though not all rooms have this) Our bathroom backed onto the lush jungle and I for one enjoyed cold showers after hot hot days in the sun.

Peter was a wonderful host, he took six of us out on a fishing trip and ensured that we had a thoroughly enjoyable experience...This was a highlight for me and my partner and we thank Peter for his hospitality and fun nature. The staff too are wonderful, kind and always accomodating, something we missed in Vietnam.

Lastly after some grappling, peter allowed my partner to watch the football on the internet. This meant moving the computer outside so that he could watch it at 2.30am. Though Peter didn't like the idea, he provided the service and so my partner was able to watch the match with the resident Mossi's, crickets and other wild animals...Nice! We would like to thank Peter for this, who I'm sure saw the funny side of it the next morning.

We would recommend this place only to those people we feel would appreciate it and further more, to those we feel would compliiment it's charm and uniqueness.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gonce007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2010

Seriously, after two weeks traveling through Vietnam, including Hoi An, the food at Freedomland was by far best we ate (not to mention great value)! Night after night during our four night stay we were blown away by the culinary delights of Peter and his staff.

Peter is one of kind in the tourism industry, his vision for Freedomland is genuinely centered around making his guests happy rather than making their wallets empty (as is the case with so many other places).

When we arrived, my girlfriend and I were a little unsure about the countryside location (10 min walk to the beach). However, after an afternoon's swimming down at the beach and evening of relaxed communal dining with Peter and the other guests we were hooked on Freedomland..

Freedomland is not the best place for sitting around the resort all day long, but it is a one of kind experience. We found it was a great place to come home to after exploring Phu Quoc Island, whether it be by moto or one of Peter's unique boat trips (a must do..). Each night at dinner we would trade stories with the other guests, old and new, while enjoying the highly professional service from Peter and his staff.

The only slight negative from my stay was that we came during the hot/ dry season (this is the reason for my low sleep quality- bed was fine, mosquito net was v. good), I guess this is more my fault than Freedomland's). I can't recommend this place highly enough to all other travelers, especially for budget travelers with rumbling bellies- all you can eat pancakes for breakfast and more food than you can fit in at night. I'm sure you'll feel the same way once you've stayed, thanks again Peter.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quarter-lifeMale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 25, 2010

Our favourite place to stay in Vietnam. It is designed for an incredibly relaxing stay - the cute bungalows are surrounded by greenery, hamocks and plenty of couches. The place is very sociable too, all the guests eat together giving you a chance to meet fellow travellers. But it was the food that blew us a way - by a mile the best we ate in Vietnam.... six amazing courses were laid on each evening, and then pancakes and fruit salad welcomes you every morning. Simply delicious.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenAmandine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2010

If spotless well crafted bungalows, beautifully landscaped grounds and the best food you're likely to eat in Vietnam sounds good then add Freedomland to your itinerary!

My girlfriend and I spent 10 days there and if it wasn't for our visa running out we would have spent 10 more! Peter, his brother and their lovely staff are the perfect hosts and have got such a good thing going on there. It's not anywhere near the main tourist drag of Long beach, it's a peaceful place with a laid back vibe where you feel truly looked after yet not one single bit pressurised.

There are two beaches 10 and 20 mins walking distance...One's more of a little bay, the other a long windswept beach with hardly a soul in sight. Both are awesome but if you want to visit the other Phu Quoc beaches just jump on a bike and explore. The island is barely developed (yet) and there are so many idyllic spots, you just have to venture out and find them.

The next thing that can't be missed on this review has to be the food! Peter designs incredible daily menus which are nothing short of breathtaking. Fresh seafood bbq's (tuna,giant prawns, squid, sea bass......) all marinated perfectly and served with the juicy Vietnamese salads, noodles, Rice etc was one of the favorites. But Honestly, everything that was served over our 10 days was different, interesting and of the highest quality. He seriously takes great pride in the food served and if you're a foody like me then you've gone to heaven! And the breakfast..... god I miss that breakfast!

If your traveling a long time like ourselves and come across a place like this you just don't want to leave. It suits both holiday makers and travelers who enjoy a communal atmosphere and are looking for something different to busy soulless waterfront resorts.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElProfile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2010

Freedomland is simply spectacular. Situated an entertaining 10 minute walk from a beautiful beach, freedomland is a breath of fresh air. The owner, Peter, has realised his dream of creating a communal style resort where everyone communicates and hangs out together. The guests did heaps of things as a group but there was still time to relax on your own.

Peter's food is spectacular. At 100 000-150 000 dong for all you can eat dinner, the price is above what you would normally pay in Vietnam but that's a $5-$8 feast of epic proportions. Everyone eats together and the vibe is great. Peter will organise anything you need -bikes, scuba, blah blah. He is so honest it is refreshing.

What can I say... go there and check it out.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2010

We spent a week in a MAGICAL spot on Phu Quoc Island. It wasn't the beachfront location that made it magical as we had to walk 15 minutes down a quiet dirt road past pepper plantations and cashew trees to reach the beach. It wasn't the secluded privacy or luxury furnishing as our simple and beautiful bamboo bungalow didn't provide any sound proofing or fancy furniture. It wasn't the guided tours or workshops as our home stay didn't offer those. Nevertheless it was one of the highlights of our trip to Vietnam. Full of warm memories and people to remember.

The MAGIC lay in Peter, his friendly staff, the incredible banquets we were served every night around a table filled with light, laughter, music and guests that reflected back Peters warmth, sincerity, and love for what he dreamed and built from those dreams.

Days spent reading, eating, sipping freshly squeezed fruit juices, exploring the island on motorbike, snorkeling, swimming on a stretch of almost deserted Ong Lang Beach in bathtub warm tropical seas that shimmered with phosphorescent plankton at night. Like to cook? Peter and the staff welcomed me to join them, teaching the simple and more complex dishes offered. All the food is exquisitely fresh and healthy... Therein lies the magic.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tycoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phu Quoc Island hotels
9.2 mi away
Peppercorn Beach Resort
Peppercorn Beach Resort
#2 of 98 in Phu Quoc Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
5.5 mi away
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
#8 of 98 in Phu Quoc Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
5.3 mi away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#1 of 47 in Duong Dong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Cassia Cottage
Cassia Cottage
#3 of 47 in Duong Dong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
6.3 mi away
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
#1 of 98 in Phu Quoc Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mango Bay Resort
Mango Bay Resort
#6 of 98 in Phu Quoc Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freedomland Phu Quoc Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freedomland Phu Quoc Resort

Property: Freedomland Phu Quoc Resort
Address: Ong Lang, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#12 Spa Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Freedomland Phu Quoc Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Freedomland offers an home style hospitality, where you can relax amongst friends you have just met, swapping stories over dinner after a day of adventure exploring the island or a day of total relaxation on the nearby beach. As each day goes by, you will appreciate we are not a hotel. LOCATION: Located 15 minutes walk to Ong Lang beach, nestled in a jungle-like area in the North West of Phu Quoc island. 20Km from the airport (about 45 min. Drive); 10km from the main town (15 min. Drive) BUNGALOWS: We designed our bungalows in harmony with the surrounding environment. They are opened enough to allow air flow, furnished with fans (no A/C), wooden furniture locally made and mosquito nets. There is no tv plasma, no hot water (method Kneipp ;), no hairdryers, no minibar and no air conditioned in our bungalows. FOOD & DRINK: Exclusively for lucky freedomland guests, family and friends every night we cook a communal dinner when everyone has the opportunity to meet, enjoy the food and the ambiance. Peter's cuisine is a skilful blend of vietnamese and European cuisine. All the guests fell in love with the Peter's cooking, and he likes sharing his love for food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Freedomland Phu Quoc Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freedomland Phu Quoc Hotel Phu Quoc Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing