We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The highlight of our SE Asia trip!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Freedomland Phu Quoc Resort
Ranked #19 of 107 Hotels in Phu Quoc Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We are both seasoned travellers and not prone to hyperbole and the only words to describe the week spent with Peter and Rita: SIMPLY OUTSTANDING!Peter is a consumate chef who produced 3* Michelin dinners every evevning, but what makes it so special is the combination of gorgeous beach and eating together under twinkly lights each night. We loved meeting like minded travellers from all corners of the globe each evening, and did i mention the cocktails?
Cannot praise this wonderful place more. My only advice is that you have to visit this magical hidden gem at least once before you die. Just dont tell too many people please!
Craig and Linda

Room Tip: You cant go wrong, no one ever wants to leave.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LindaBCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (554)
There are newer reviews for Freedomland Phu Quoc Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 554 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2013

We didn't really know what to expect from Freedomland. It had great reviews on Tripadvisor but the Lonely Planet made it sound so-so. IGNORE the Lonely Planet, this place is amazing! They called it a hippy commune but since when do you get world class food, Vodka Martinis and fab service in a hippy commune? This place was the highlight of our trip.

I stopped counting how many nights we had left there and started counting down in how many meals we had left - that's how good the food was. I'm not talking three courses, it was five courses every night - imacculately presented.

The beach was beautiful too - white sandy beach with no development on it whatsoever. Hopefully it will stay this way. Oh, and on the hippie commune point, Freedomland has deck chairs and umbrellas on the beach, as well as one of its staff stationed there all day to run back to Freedomland on his moped to bring you lunch/drinks. Not sure that would happen in a hippie commune.

All in all we had an absolutely great time, fantastic meals and some fun drunken evenings with the other guests. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gemma_phillipslondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We, a couple of two backpackers, stayed 4 nights at Freedomland. We booked a couple of days in advance and luckily there was a bungalow for us. We were picked up at the harbor and brought to Freedomland. Its a beautiful place, very sereen and makes you really calm and relaxed. Peter and Rita are very helpful and hosts and the service is excellent.
The bungalows are beautifully made, very private and have the essential things in high quality. A shower, toilet, bed and couch to relax and enjoy nature and yourself. The communial dinners are of the highest quality food and it is interesting to meet other guests. The beach on which Freedomland has some chairs and beach umbrellas is 15 minutes walk on a difficult road but worth it. Again very private and relaxing. Trips can be organized and made by boat, bike or scooter.
However, be aware that everything you eat, organize or order comes with a price. This is the best homestay by far we stayed in during our travel in Vietnam but also the most expensive. The dinners and bungalow were fantastic but you also pay for this. We advise everybody to stay at Freedomland as it is superb experience but dont be fooled that it is a cheap one.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hanna_Koen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Stayed at Freedomland for 6 days, we tried 3 different bungalows number 14 being our favourite. We hired motorbikes for 2 days which in my opinion the best way to discover Phu Quoc Island. Had a great time at the beautiful beach (10 min walking distance), great staff and FANTASTIC food! Would highly recommend Freedomland to family and friends.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Freedomland for only 2 nights as we are on a quick stop throughout south east Asia. Booked Freedomland for my boyfriends birthday. We had a fantastic time. Amazing food. I'm not a huge fish fan but the hotpot was delicious and very root soup exquisite! Fabulous beach where lunch will be brought to you and the best banana pancakes ever! Showering under the coconut shower in the jungle really was amazing. Thank you Peter & Rita. You have created something very special! Jenna & Steve

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenpen3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

My husband and l spent part of our honeymoon at Freedomland. We were intrigued as it was a bit rustic and in the jungle, however l cant rave about this place enough. The cabin werespotless and the outside bathrooms a treat. It was quite liberating showering with the jungle towering overhead. The beds were comfortable and sheets good quality. The highlight for us was the food. Gourmet food in a jungle setting. We did not have a bad meal and the idea of sitting down with all the other people staying at the hotel, encouraged conversation and as a result we made some great new friends. I cannot recommend this place enough. Peter and Rita have a wonderful set up and you cant help but have a lovely time here

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely best staying of out trip in Vietnam. Food here is just part of awesome things here. Best dinner time ever. Wonderful private beach with beautiful sea just 10 mins away. Awesome atmosphere here with cute spacious bungalows. One word - AMAZING !!!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank JakubMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phu Quoc Island hotels
5.5 mi away
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
#7 of 107 in Phu Quoc Island
595 reviews
9.2 mi away
Peppercorn Beach Resort
Peppercorn Beach Resort
#2 of 107 in Phu Quoc Island
439 reviews
5.3 mi away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#2 of 47 in Duong Dong
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cottage Village
Cottage Village
#18 of 107 in Phu Quoc Island
115 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mango Bay Resort
Mango Bay Resort
#8 of 107 in Phu Quoc Island
1,730 reviews
6.3 mi away
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
#3 of 107 in Phu Quoc Island
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freedomland Phu Quoc Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freedomland Phu Quoc Resort

Address: Ong Lang, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#14 Spa Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range: $37 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Freedomland Phu Quoc Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Freedomland offers an home style hospitality, where you can relax amongst friends you have just met, swapping stories over dinner after a day of adventure exploring the island or a day of total relaxation on the nearby beach. As each day goes by, you will appreciate we are not a hotel. LOCATION: Located 15 minutes walk to Ong Lang beach, nestled in a jungle-like area in the North West of Phu Quoc island. 20Km from the airport (about 45 min. Drive); 10km from the main town (15 min. Drive) BUNGALOWS: We designed our bungalows in harmony with the surrounding environment. They are opened enough to allow air flow, furnished with fans (no A/C), wooden furniture locally made and mosquito nets. There is no tv plasma, no hot water (method Kneipp ;), no hairdryers, no minibar and no air conditioned in our bungalows. FOOD & DRINK: Exclusively for lucky freedomland guests, family and friends every night we cook a communal dinner when everyone has the opportunity to meet, enjoy the food and the ambiance. Peter's cuisine is a skilful blend of vietnamese and European cuisine. All the guests fell in love with the Peter's cooking, and he likes sharing his love for food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Freedomland Phu Quoc Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freedomland Phu Quoc Hotel Phu Quoc Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing