We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Freedomland Phu Quoc Resort
Nearby Hotels
Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc(Phu Quoc Island)
$170
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cassia Cottage(Duong Dong)
$97
$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Saigon Phu Quoc Resort(Phu Quoc Island)
$90
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mango Bay Resort(Phu Quoc Island)
$66
$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$52
$41
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Famiana Resort & Spa(Cua Lap)
$74
$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$150
$147
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (574)
Filter reviews
574 results
Traveler rating
479
51
22
10
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
479
51
22
10
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommunal dinnerlong tableother guestsinteresting peoplejungle bungalowbanana bungalowboat triphot waterbig tableloved the outdoor showernearby beachmango bayevery eveningmin walklounge areafour nightsfree bikes
Filter
Updating list...
233 - 238 of 574 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2013

A fantastic place hidden in the depths of Phu Quoc jungle but close enough to walk Mango Bay. The owners, Peter and RIta are busy but helpful, and excellent cooks. WE had the most divine food in all our trip in Vietnam. And prices are very resonable compared to what you pay elsewhere in the island. THey also rent out motorbikes which is a great way of exploring the island. ITs a place to chill during the day and socialize at night... we would return, no doubt!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank namaste_moni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Freedomland is special. Very, very special actually. I can't add anything that others haven't already said, I'm sure, so I'll keep this short.

If you don't like amazing and friendly people, this place isn't for you.
If you don't like exquisite food, this place isn't for you.
If you don't like outdoor bathrooms or refuse to have cold water showers, this place isn't for you.
If you are a complainer or a negative person, this place isn't for you.
If you would rather stay anonymous in a giant 5* hotel (or equivalent), this place isn't for you.
If you are likely to complain about the walk to the beach (10-20 mins depending on your speed), this place isn't for you.

Freedom isn't for everyone, and that's the best part about it. You'll meet new friends every night during the communal dinners. They last for hours and it's awesome. You get to try Rita's cocktails, which get you drunk and taste great to boot! There's such an incredible energy and it most certainly attracts likeminded people.

We'll be back. Even if it moves.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cynthia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The reviews are all right! Freedomland was the absolute highlight of our trip to vietnam. After being a little uncertain because of no hot water, spiders etc.... I ended up loving this place so much. We met wonderful people and the vibe around dinner time is amazing. The food is absolutely the very best food you will eat in Vietnam... guaranteed and no exaggeration!! Peter and Rita are wonderful hosts and nothing is too much trouble. Don't go to Phu Quoc if you stay anywhere else. It's a long way to go and the island isn't that beautiful. I was quite shocked to see a lot of rubbish and quite ram shackled development. However that doesn't matter if you stay at this wonderful place with clean beach. It's an experience in itself and truly relaxing.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank netsky64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I'm almost reluctant to draw too much attention to freedomland because its so good I feel like it should remain one of those special and best kept secrets so it doesn't change but the hosts, Rita and Peter, are so lovely and the place so special that it would be unfair not to. We spent five nights at freedomland and in hindsight wish we'd made it ten nights but we already plan to go back at the first opportunity.
A word of warning however, if you are uncomfortable in a highly social environment, maybe think about going somewhere else. If you have any fears about being immersed in nature, scared of geckos, can't cope with the odd mosquito, must have air con, and can't deal with a cold shower in a (beautiful) outside bathroom where the frogs might hide in the toilet roll then don't go.
It's a very social place and unlike any hotel where I have stayed, this was one where we got to know so many of the other travellers and during our time made some lovely new friends we will remain in contact with. This all happens largely because the guests all gather for a few pre dinner drinks at the bar and then eat together each night at one long table drinking, eating and sharing travel tales under fairy lights and candles in the jungle. It is just spectacular and the best of the best is the food. Each night we sit to consume a five course meal that is just unbelievably good. It's the sort of meal my wife and I might decide to do for special occasions once or twice a year but at freedomland we did it for five nights in a row and every night was different. Every night was superb. This is peter's gift to his guests and of what a gift. Not a single guest could possibly disagree with this assessment.
The accommodation is rustic, earthy, simple, charming. I spent much of the time enjoying the cool sand around the breakfast, lounge area pushing between my toes while i tapped out emails and surfed the Internet. The bathroom is outside and amazing but the shower is cold although in the warm temperatures that prevailed it was not at all uncomfortable and was actually refreshing. You wake each morning to an amazing array of bird sounds just outside your bedroom before making a lazy start in preparation for a day at the beach. Now the beach was literally like a giant swimming pool. There was barely a ripple for the five days we were there. The water was crystal clear and warm like a bath and there we stayed for much of the day reading under the umbrellas and ordering the occasional beer and shrimp salad for lunch in between faking from the beach chair into the water. Now I could wax lyrical about this place forever but that should be more than enough advice on this very special place.
Once last thing, if you like world music, Rita has the very best collection which we really enjoyed every night at dinner. So go and enjoy freedomland but please don't tell too many people how good it is. Ok?

Room Tip: It's 20 minutes out of town but the town isn't much so just stay at freedomland. Also the day snorkelling on the boat wasn't great snorkelling but it still ended up being a great day.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stutravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

A friend of mine enabled me to discover this great place as he had stayed there as a reward for a long cycling trip in Vietnam.... Sadly I cannot use the same excuse but I truly enjoyed the refreshing and novel atmosphere.
Yes, it was a little bit more expensive than the cheap hotels I had stayed in and yes, the food budget did increase in similar patterns. But there is absolutely no doubt that it was worth it. From the cute little huts/bingalows to the staff/owners awhom re just great and friendly, the "ambiance" is relaxing jungle and the communal dinner a very sociable experience. Greatest feature: the quality of the food. Just perfect, fresh and original. Even months later I still remember how great it was.
The only flaw is the distance from the beach, but that can be remedied with a nice walk or hiring two wheel transportation!
In summary, not quite budget but not far off and definitely worth it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauDe3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews