We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, friendly, clean + great food.”
Review of Mangogarden

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Phu Quoc Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mangogarden
Ranked #54 of 184 Phu Quoc Island B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 26, 2013

First of all, we do not agree with the review titled "charged too much" in any way. Now, I will try to write a fair and balanced review from a swedish family who stayed at this place for one week with two young children:
This is a calm, clean and friendly place about 15 minutes jungle walk (or 5 minutes with motorbike on a bumpy road) from Bai Sao. It is the complete opposite of a big hotel chain on the beach. Two dogs instead of kid's disco. Books and a tranquile garden instead of internet. For a good life rather than a great profit. The food is home-made Vietnamese and since this place only has power from 5pm to midnight, they serve everything fresh from the market the same day. Good and healthy breakfast and dinner. Very helpful staff in every way.
Can be improved: The road to the beach, more electricity and finally: The kids would have loved if the tiny kitten next door moved in.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Krs1Stockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 23 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2013

Ngoc is the best host we met in Vietnam! Very helpful, always cheerful, great cook and one of the few people we met who doesn't try to sell you something to receive a commission. Rooms are simple but clean, the location is about 5 Minutes to Sao Beach (scooter) or 20 Minutes walk. We also met great people staying there - seems to attract a good crowd!
From 18-24h the generator is on so one can charge devices.

Room Tip: Bungalow toward the entrance are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Mangogarden is a very relaxing Bed and Breakfast. There is a nice terrace, where you can enjoy the evenings and the fresh and cool air. The rooms are big and nicely furnished. The food (asian and western) is excellent, you can choose every day, what you would like to have for dinner. Within 15 minutes walking on a nice path in the bush, you reach to most beautiful beach of the island. But the best thing about this place are the owners. The Canadian-Vietnamese couple are very friendly and help you to organise what ever you would like to do. We spend some very nice evenings on the terrace with them talking about the life in Vietnam. Really graet opportunity the get some inside news about your holiday country.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

We just got back home from our 3 weeks holiday in Vietnam. One of our fondest memories during our stay there was our visit to the gorgeous island of Phu Quoc. It was definitely a peaceful place to be and away from the hustle and bustle of the city! Having travelled on budget, we chanced upon Mango Garden Inn and it was definitely the right choice for us!!!
With no prior research on the place we took a ride to Mango Garden Inn. The first sight of its entrance, the well kept garden and hanging hammock immediately gave a relaxing impression. Halfway walking to the entrance door we were pleasantly greeted by the ever friendly and warm Ms Loc also known as Ngoc. The place was definitely clean - the rooms, living room, dining place, garden and kitchen were all well kept and maintained. At the point of our stay, Ngoc just completed building two new bungalows. As it was during the Tet Festive season, most of the shops were closed and as such she was not able to purchase furniture for these two units. However, we are sure that with her creativity, the place will be spick and span by now! The accommodation is more than just basic as we got our own bathroom, the room is equipped with hot shower and air conditioning. The beach is about 15 minutes walk from the home. However, the walk will do you good after feasting on all the lovely food cooked by Ngoc!!!
You could request for your laundry to be clean by them or you can choose to wash your own clothes. The house runs on generator, so electricity was only available between 6pm to about 11pm. However, since we were most of the time out at the beach or touring, it suited us well. (Certain places in Phu Quoc is still developing and electricity may not be available)
We truly had a great memorable time here. We stayed there for about 6 nights and had dinner at the Mango Garden Inn every night. Ngoc is truly a talented Chef and we leave it to her to suggest what's for dinner and complimentary breakfast. And boy even though the breakfast is complimentary, this lady cooks with love and don't just serve you a half hearted meal. She makes sure that you are contented and we usually last even after lunch time!! We look forward to dinner - real authentic Vietnamese dishes. Ask for the Vietnamese pancake, grilled beef and grilled squid!!! She also cooks western food but we wanted to relish and savor on Vietnamese food during our stay in Vietnam.
Then came Ian - Ngoc's Canadian husband. He was equally friendly, warm and funny. Gave us a lot of tips on how and where to go to during our stay there. Both couple are meant for each other, they were ever willing to help with tour/flight arrangements. We felt really at home and above all we are glad that it is more than just another stay but the friendship we have with them. Truly lovely couple and lovely place to stay :) Thank you Ngoc and Ian for your fantabulous hospitality!!!

Simon and Tisha

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TishSimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2011

I will start by adding that I really wanted to give this hotel at least 4 starts as the owner is very nice, but unfortunately feel unable to. Let's start with some basics. My girlfriend and I stayed here for 5 nights and although the owner is very friendly, it feels like living in somebody's house. There is only hot water/power between 6PM and midnight, but as you will probably spend most your time on the beach this shouldn't pose too many problems. This guesthouse is a 15 minute walk, along a path cut into undergrowth, away from Sao beach, in which you will be usually accompanied by the guesthouse’s two dogs Lucky and Jimmi, who are both very well behaved and adorable. Which is great, as the beach is very nice and quite, although a wee bit dirty. The first problem with the guesthouse lies in the fact that this is far too isolated, although we ate our lunches on Sao beach, we had all but one of our 5 dinners at the guesthouse. This is not necessary a bad thing as Ms Lok's food is very nice, and she is very accommodating in cooking what you want. We for instance had crab one evening which wasn't on the menu and which we enjoyed very much. The one night we ate at Long Beach, we took a $15 taxi ride to get back to the guesthouse. Another problem is that once you finish dinner there is nothing to do. There is no sitting area in the garden and the patio area which has two tables which lacks character as very little attempt has been made to make this comfortable. These tables are set under a very bright fluorescent light and thus lack charm. Ms Lok, if you are reading this I would recommend placing a couple of extra tables in the graden itself and put candles on these tables and on the tables on the patio, also some mosquito coils wouldn't go miss as my girlfriend and I were both eaten alive every evening, meaning sitting outside was a painful endeavor. We know the other guests suffered the same.

The guesthouse itself is very nice and very clean, and the aforementioned owner Ms Lok was very nice and friendly. The two dogs also add to the charm and make it feel like home away from home. We were originally offered a room close to kitchen and accepted this, but found it to be far too noisy as every morning at 6-7AM we were awoken by the clatter of pans in the haste to prepare breakfast. We fortunately changed after two nights as another guest left, which improved our stay a great deal. We however had a nasty shock when we checked out as our bill included an extra 10% tax charge which nobody had warned us about in advance. If you do decide to stay here, I would recommend you check this before you arrive, as I am not too sure whether this tax was especially for us as when we arrived there was a mix up with taxis, not our fault I may add, and the owner was demonstrably very unhappy about having to pay for two cars as she misinterpreted our travel arrangements.

In short a nice place to stay but definitely feels like someone else’s home, a bit isolated, can be noisy, but with a few small tweaks could be very comfortable; just make sure that you check to ensure the room rates quoted includes tax before you book.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Red_Mao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2011

Ngoc is the lady who runs this guesthouse and she is so lovely - Ive never felt so welcomed and her service was impecible - she couldnt do enough to help us, she was like a mum! Her cooking was absolutely amazing, we ate there every night we stayed there and the prices were cheap indeed. You can hire a motorbike from her which we did for about £7/day. She offers free pick up and drop offs to the beach which is about 15mins stroll away. Mangogarden is tucked away and it makes it so peaceful and quiet which we absolutely loved. Ngoc has two beautiful and very well behaved dogs, Lucky and Jimmy!! 100% recommended for beautiful, peaceful stay.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chanty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2011

I stayed here for a week, at US$35 per night, which included breakfast, daily free ride to and from beach on a motorcycle, and free pickup at the airport.

This is large house type hotel, located in the south east side of the island. It is a 15 min. walk to beach, through the jungle. The room was large and the beds were comfortable. The washroom was large and had a bath tub. The whole house is very clean and airy. The grounds are well kept , with many mango trees throughout the property. The front porch is a great place to sip scotch and take in the fresh evening air. The area is very quite, low traffic. It great place to just rest and relax.

Breakfast was delicious. The basic breakfast was fried eggs any style, bread, coffee, fruit. One day, breakfast included was steak and eggs, and it was superb! I ate lunch usually at the beach. If you want dinner at the hotel, you need tell the Manager in the morning. Virtually all ingredients for dinner are purchased fresh each day. All of the dinners were delicious and of good quantity. Dinner prices were in the 100k to 240k dong range, which were reasonable. I did eat at the beach and the food at Mango Garden tasted better and the portion size was larger. The last night's dinner was free, and very delicious, more than I could eat.

The electricity was available from about 4pm, for whenever I got back from the beach, until midnight. The hot water heater for the shower worked by electricty. There is satellite TV. Water was available 24 hours a day.

The service was fast, courteous, and the best I have received in Vietnam. The Manager Ngoc, was always pleasant and extremely helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cigar7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phu Quoc Island hotels
5.6 mi away
Muong Thanh Luxury Phu Quoc Hotel
1.8 mi away
Phu Son Village Resort
Phu Son Village Resort
#40 of 48 in Duong Dong
2 reviews
24.4 mi away
Peppercorn Beach Resort
Peppercorn Beach Resort
#2 of 108 in Phu Quoc Island
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Y Thu Guesthouse
Y Thu Guesthouse
#1 of 4 in An Thoi
1 reviews
3.7 mi away
Lien Thong Hotel
Lien Thong Hotel
#2 of 4 in An Thoi
2 reviews
1.7 mi away
Montana Phu Quoc Resort
Montana Phu Quoc Resort
#91 of 217 in Phu Quoc Island
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mangogarden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangogarden

Address: Sao beach, An Thoi town, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Phu Quoc Island
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing