We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc
Ranked #6 of 108 Hotels in Phu Quoc Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2010

We booked 3 nights in pool villa and it was ver y disapointing compared to the cost (500 dollars per night).The first villa (404) was close to the hôtel electricity generator and the room was very noisy. We complained and we moved to another pool villa (406). They said that it was a ver y quiet one but the villa was also stuck to the pool motor machine and at 6 am in the morning they started the machine and it was a nightmare in our room...
The hôtel did n t apology... It s a pity because the location is great and it could be a very good hôtel. We strongly do not recomend to book the pool villa.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cbelenet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,016)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

594 - 600 of 1,016 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2010

It's for us the best place we're stayed in Phu-Quoc. The situation is very peaceful with a private beach and only 15 minutes from the airport. The room very clean, staffs very helpful and the is just right in front.
The breakfast is very fine and the service attentioning.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EDo95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2010

I lived in Vietnam for 7 years. I have been to every beach area in the country. My wife and I stayed at Chenla for a last minute getaway since Phu Quoc is so easily accessible from Saigon. We were immediately impressed by the seamlessness of the airport transfer to the resort. We were pleasantly surprised upon our arrival to Chenla to be greeted by a manager who immediately showed us to our room. The resort even upgraded our room from a beachfront bungalow to a jacuzzi suite. The suite was gorgeous, well-appointed and spacious. The entire weekend was incredibly relaxing. The staff - from the spa, to pool to restaurant - were outgoing, friendly and spoke English relatively well. We had so much fun relaxing at the pool (beautiful infinity) and beach (nice and secluded), we did not try out the activities. We had such a wonderful time that I am taking my wife here in January for her 30th birthday where we plan to try out the water activities. We loved it here and will make this our weekend getaway from Saigon.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IotaLamda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2010

Some staff dishonest, no one cares. Some one waited for the last day of a three day stay to remove expensive gold earings from bed side dresser.
Some staff ok. A few too many professional "urgers". No manager seems to be present, complaints are water on a ducks back, owners/managers are always in Italy coming "tomorrow". Bookings can be dicey as others have found out as well.
Location is excellent, on the beach. Ocean water murky. Swimming pool salt/fresh combo. Bit small. Dived and snorkled a number of spots, water quality bad, pollution bad, barren landscapes, few fish and spooky from over spearfishing. worse place I dived in Viet nam.Price for divers/snorklers double compared to dive shops in town, cost of taxi to town 140,000VND($7). Trip to Pearl farms by taxi 220,000VND.
Sea view bungalows spacious, large beds mozzies are a problem inside and out.
Breakfast OK. Have experienced better at several other resorts and hotels. Restuarante
service and food OK. Most expensive I have come across to date(2yrs) in Viet Nam.
Sporting facilites,spas, massage are fully booked sometimes, yet no one seems to be using them.
Internet only available in bar or office area. TV, limited cable coverage.
Outside lighting is poor and steps merge, extreme care has to be taken even in full daylight. SOME THING NOT RIGHT ABOUT THIS PLACE.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ECHOES68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDMchenla, Manager at Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2010

Thank you to the author for your review of Chenla Resort & Spa.

I sincerely apologize that we have failed to impress you with our service.

From our daily reports and your review, I am unsure whether your valuable item has been lost from your room or from the public area. Either way, please rest assured that this case has never happened in our resort since we openned two years ago and that we are following up on your review.

I am sorry that you didn't feel you received value for the rate you paid with us. We certainly do try to remain competitive as well as pricing our product to reflect the value and service given with it.

As the Room Division Manager of the hotel, I have shared this review with my Guest Services Manager and both of us will be involved in refresher training of our Front Office staff. I have also met with the Food and Beverage Manager as well as the Spa Manager so that they too can look into your review and use it to train their staff.

We at Chenla invest a lot of time and money into staff training so that we can exceed our customers’ expectations. We aim to provide a personalized level of service reflective of warm Vietnamese hospitality. We will of course keep trying to achieve this and again thank you for your review. If I can please ask you to kindly indulge us on this occasion.

Regards,

Hieu Tong
Room Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2010

Added a night here before leaving for Saigon. Beautiful place to relax, staff speak reasonably good english and most helpful , always in attention to your needs and extra lovely touches to detail. Glorious pool and sheltered surrounds overlooking the ocean. Villas well appointed and modern , spacious, sizeable balcony with jacuzzi bath . Beds huge and you can connect with adjacent villa for families requiring more room. Various water activities available. Scooters are great for accessing island. Suggest heading up north on west side as beaches good ( no sea lice, water cleaner) and a good local restaurant right on water's edge. No disappointments here. Food of good standard and good variety . Breakfast 5 star.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caspernova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDMchenla, Manager at Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2010

Thank you to the author for your kind review and recommendation of Chenla Resort & Spa.

I am particularly pleased to hear that you found our staff to be attentive and helpful.
Our smaller sized resort of 36 bangalow and villas allows us to give those little extra personal touches which I am pleased to read you found at the resort.

Phu Quoc is certainly a "little paradise" that many tourist want to visit while they are in Vietnam and true to say, The North of the island is a must place to go on your own discovery!

I hope that for your next visit downunder you will choose Chenla Resort & Spa and thank you once again for taking the time to review the resort.

Regards,

Hieu Tong
Room Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2010

This was our second stay at Chenla. Both times we stayed on the beach in an upscale bungalow. The rooms were stylish and comfortable and had a private porch facing the beach that had a huge sunken tub - great place to retreat with a glass of wine after a day on the beach. The infinity pool is amazing too.

The first time we were with 4 other families and we had a total of 8 small children. The staff was exceptional in accommodating them. Each afternoon we requested that they eat together outside and the staff laid out a simple, but elegant picnic for them under a tree on the beach. It was amazing. The second time we went, we had 6 young children and the main food manager (can't remember his name) remembered all the children's names! He was very kind to them and accommodated them at every turn. He was just lovely. In this way, the resort is very kid-friendly.

Both times we had the hotel pick us up - once from the port and once from the airport.

I will definitely go back!!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PPTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2010

They overbooked so we were asked to leave after one night, though had checked in and signed for 4 nights. Which sucks when you have flown to an island. Ended up at la Verandah the only internationally managed resort on the island- play it safe go back backer or top end, too much of a risk staying at a poorly run joint like this

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kingbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDMchenla, Manager at Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2010

Thank you to the author for your review of Chenla Resort & Spa.

We welcome all feedback on the hotel both positive or negative and I am sorry to read that we have not exceeded your expectations on this occasion.

I certainly agree with you that location alone is not enough to make a great hotel and I assure you we focus a lot of time and money into our training programs to ensure we deliver service to resort standards. I have shared your review with the relevant department heads so that your review can be investigated and improvements made to ensure we don't have guests receiving similar experiences.

I sincerely apologise that we have not delivered and I kindly ask the author to indulge us on this occasion.

Regards,

Hieu Tong
Room Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phu Quoc Island hotels
10.7 mi away
Peppercorn Beach Resort
Peppercorn Beach Resort
#2 of 108 in Phu Quoc Island
452 reviews
3.8 mi away
Cassia Cottage
Cassia Cottage
#3 of 48 in Duong Dong
1,126 reviews
3.9 mi away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#2 of 48 in Duong Dong
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
#3 of 108 in Phu Quoc Island
1,183 reviews
4.1 mi away
La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection
4.8 mi away
Famiana Resort & Spa
Famiana Resort & Spa
#12 of 108 in Phu Quoc Island
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc

Address: Bai Xep, Ong Lang | Cua Duong, Phu Quoc Island, Phu Quoc Island 920000, Vietnam (Formerly Chenla Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#4 Luxury Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#5 Spa Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range: $154 - $525 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled discreetly in a secluded bay surrounded by a tropical rain forest, Chen Sea Resort & Spa invites you to lay down. This exclusive hideaway offers spectacular view on the Gulf of Thailand. Chen Sea Resort & Spa lies perfectly along a private and pristine beach offering privacy and serenity, everything is about peace and heaven. The Architecture of the Resort is inspired by the local environment with the use of natural material that is traditional to Vietnam. Chen Sea Resort & Spa offers 36 unique and spacious Villas. The open plan layout design invites our guests for both indoor and outdoor experience. Traditional oriental simplicity and refinement are the inspiration for the design and furnishings of all the villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Fastbooking, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chen Sea Resort And Spa
Chen Sea Hotel Phu Quoc Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing