We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice resort, but expensive and very remote”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc
Ranked #6 of 98 Hotels in Phu Quoc Island
Certificate of Excellence
Rheinfelden, Aargau, Switzerland
Level Contributor
180 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A nice resort, but expensive and very remote”
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

The way from the airport to the resort isn't a pleasure and when we finally arrived we were impressed to find such a pearl in the middle of a ecological dessert. A really nice facility situated at the beach.
The positive points:
In the first place the really service minded, friendly and helpful stuff
Spacious rooms with air condition, modern bathroom and veranda with wirlpool (sea view rooms)
Swimming pool with view on the ocean
Spa with excellent service
Restaurant with a flexible chief who even can prepare for special wishes

The negative points:
Very remote place which forces you to take a taxi each time you want to see or eat something different
No local attractions in the resort, no activities, very limited sporting options. No beach walks extending the 100 m of the resort as the neighbouring grounds are covered with waste!
Too much adapted to western European customers. The french GM likes to talk with french but not with anyone else. Why traveling so far to get french food, wine and atmosphere?
Too expensive for what is offered. Prices are at European level for all service activities at the resort - and the choices are very limited!

I was really struggling this time with my score - between excellent to unacceptable. The resort and the stuff is nice but is not delivering enough value for the price.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank GerhardCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier P P, General Manager at Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear GerhardCH,

Thank you for your Review of our Resort on this Forum.
I apologize for the delay in answering but I was just waiting to see if as said to Donald you would withdraw your Review.
You were not sure about what to say, your wife didn’t like your Review, so I was just waiting for it.

Now after a month, I have to answer a bit to your lukewarn Review which in fact does not reflect your overall satisfaction of your experiencing of the Chen Sea.
- The remote location, already talked about it so many times. If you go to an under developped tropical island it is to enjoy its beauty and when one Resort offers exclusivity at a mere 8Kms from Town, there is nothing to add.
- We apologize on how the public beaches are dirty but we are not responsible. Your should start a blog and gather a momentum with OI, NGO and/or any world agency involved in protecting the environment.
- Too much adapted to European clientele; I don’t know what it means. If you talk about the fact that 95% of our clientele is Westerner in High Season vs 5% for the Domestic market, you are right. Maybe you should come during the Monsoon where we welcome 80% Domestic market and 20% only Westerner market. Not only us, all resorts in Phu Quoc have the same shift in the market. We do not have French food, not a single item on 80 “A La Carte”… French wines, yes with Australian, Italian, Chilean, Argentian, South African, New Zealand as well. It starts to sound more like something against the French, that only represent 10% of our Business.
- Pricing… this has been addressed by so many Reviewers that there is no need to add anything.

What is very sad is that the positive points that you mention should have made your review way more positive.
Something happened that spoilt your stay. Would that be me? I really don’t know and Donald was as baffled as I was.
With my sincere apologies,
Kind regards,
Olivier, your GM at the Chen Sea Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    701
    192
    48
    20
    15
See reviews for
195
574
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

I stayed with my partner for 2 weeks in Jan 2013 and had such a wonderful time. Oliver the manager and his deputy manager were regularly on site and ensured the guests had a wonderful stay. We stayed in a jacuzzi villa and couldn't get enough of the place! The breakfasts made us wake up with a smile, relaxing days by the pool and sea. We indulged in outdoor massages - our whole beings were so rejuvenated by the time we left! The staff were really friendly and helpful, the resort is exceptional - really worth visiting and staying for an oasis of calm.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ranjana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier P P, General Manager at Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Ranjana G,

What a wonderful review, we thank you so much.
We feel so good when our Guests love their experiencing of the Chen Sea.
And you did stay a long time as per our average length of stay.
Interesting to note that in the past two years this length of stay doubled.
And some like you, take their time to rest and relax. Come on readers of this Forum, who does not need that in the World we live in???

I have to make a little adjustment though… I even apologize for this but it is important.
One day a tourist guide brought in a bunch of 15 tourists to visit the Chen Sea. Part of their tour after the prison, smile… Maybe the tourists felt a bit depressed.
So I apologize but we are not a museum and visitors who come to do some selfies in our environment, or worse take a picture of our Guests, it is a big no.
Come to the Front Desk, and our Guest Relation Officers or Manager will be delighted to show you the property and our rooms if available.
Welcome to our Restaurant or Spa, but I am here to protect my Guests in their “Oasis of calm” and the Chen Sea is not a zoo!
So better than we are worth “visiting”, I would favor worth “experiencing”, smile….

With our sincere thanks and kindest regards,
Olivier, your GM at the Chen Sea Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

first let me say that our trip to Phu Quoc started in the worst possible way. our departure from tokyo was delayed 12 hours due to strongest snow storm recorded in Japan in the past 20 years, making possible for us to miss our first night at the resort, very upsetting due to the fact that we pre paid for the whole stay and our deal was not refundable. the resort is situated on a beautiful piece of land facing the ocean, with a beautiful long beach and clean calm waters. there is only one restaurant on the property serving Vietnamese and Western cousines. at the same restaurant is where the breakfast is served every morning. the breakfast is amazing and it changes a lot everyday, the amount and quality of food you can eat everyday is overwhelming. we had dinner at the restaurant a couple times and even those times the food was excellent. the resort accommodations start from the beach with the beach bungalows, moving uphill to the jacuzzi villas (we stayed in one of those)and finally to the pool villas. our room was huge, very well decorated with everything you might need, same in the bathroom, huge,
with two showers and 1 tub and very well-stocked. there is also a big terrace where the jacuzzi is located. besides one gecko keeping us company the whole stay, the room was insects and small animals free. as mentioned by another reviewer every late afternoon staff would come to your room to light scented candles and spray to keep mosquitoes away, even bring you some free chocolate. during our stay most of the guests where from Europe,
mostly middle aged patrons. there is nothing outside of the resort so if you're looking for stores, shopping or just some action this is not the place for you. if you want to rent a scooter to tour the island you can do that right outside the main gate. Everyone working at the resort is nice and will try his best to make sure you have everything you need. The staff level of English is good enough, we never had problems making ourselves understood. We took our time to go visit six other resorts we were considering booking in Phu Quoc just to see with our own eyes and compare. Chen Sea was definitely the best choice. One thing that I did like at another resort was the ability to rent jet skis and live entertainment at the beach in the evening. Because we were forced to change our departure details thanks to the very unprofessional and unreliable Vietnamese Airlines (VIETJETAIR) , the management offered us a late check out free of charge until 3 p.m.
The next day, at checkout, the big surprise............, the resort's decided to refund us for the first night stay we were not able to attend. We were shocked but also very very happy. Believe me, they didn't have to do that but they did. Now that is what I call a customer service. This is the only place to stay in PHU QUOC. One tip for travelers coming to this island and like to tan....... Bring your own tanning oil , there is none to be found on this island. We wanted to say goodbye to the general manager Olivier and thank him in person for everything at departure but he was not around. Thanks Olivier from G. and Y.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GMARPHOTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier P P, General Manager at Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear gian m, dear Both, smile…

You are very kind with us and we do appreciate your very nice words about us.

Indeed it has been havoc for you to reach us, and indeed again, your return was not a smooth affair.
After so many abuses by Airlines, I thought that one player of the Tourism Industry could play fair with you.
Once we did that to a young couple a bit depressed and not only they didn’t thank but on the top of it they hacked us to death on this Forum.
So this is our pleasure to do so and we thank you for acknowledging it.

Dear Readers, some tips given by “gian m” are very true, when he talks about the island.

It has been our pleasure to welcome you and we wish to do it another time.
Sincere thanks and kind regards,
Olivier, your GM at the Chen Sea Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Chen Sea Resort is a unique stay for many reasons, but for us it was their attention to detail and the attentivity of the staff that gives it the winning formula. The bathrooms are stocked with plentiful supplies of towels and spa beauty products, the bedrooms are impeccably serviced including turning down of the beds in the early evening and the provision of anti-mosquito, fragrant candles.

The staff cannot do enough to help; from moving your sun loungers to needing a bottle of cold water, they will be there with a smile on their faces. We have never known service like it.

We stayed at Phu Quoc for 4 nights in the middle of a hectic tour of Vietnam, and it was just what we were looking for. A resort-based stay, in a beautiful, tranquil and remote resort. We stayed in a most beautiful and well presented beach bungalow. It was spacious and beautifully decorated with a large bed, bathroom and outside decking area with jacuzzi. The breakfasts were also exquisite.

Previous poorly rated reviews are outraging; do not come to this resort if you want a lively resort, near to or in a lively centre. The prices are reasonable and the staff speak enough English between them. The manager was often seen on site and we had a beautiful hot jacuzzi on our terrace, which did take a while to fill due to it's luxurious size but is well worth it!

It is just a matter of time before Chen Sea Resort becomes the number one place to stay on Phu Quoc.

Room Tip: The beach bungalow is worth the extra fee!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier P P, General Manager at Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Catherine G,

I don’t know how to thank you, as you are so kind with us.
It is not that, obviously, you enjoyed your experiencing of the Chen Sea, but you have appreciated certain details.
These details also include the improvement of our Employees in term of attitude and overall desire to please.
One day a very tough Guest reproached us not to anticipate the Guests expectations, but you know what….
Your comments are showing that we are on the right track.

Thanks as well to put a smile on my face when you talk about other poorly rated reviews… Well it goes with the Industry and the new power given to all with social medias.
Believe it or not, we are even blackmailed with that… Just incredible. What the largest tourism portal in the World is made for, should remain that way.
A place to gather and share info more than emptying your bag and settle accounts.

We really thank you for the way you shared this experience with all. We are not perfect, we are improving on a daily basis.
Kindest regards,
Olivier, your GM at the Chen Sea Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

After dashing around Australia and Vietnam for several weeks I ended up here. What a jewel. Peaceful, clean, totally attentive staff and a very safe beach without the crowds! I would recommend this to anybody for a complete chill out. Families are also welcome and it would be a very safe place for young children to enjoy the beach. The breakfasts are absolutely terrific with a marvellous range of food to suit all tastes. Thank you to all of the staff who made our stay such a memorable one. I would like to say that I will be back! Jo O'Donoghue and Julia Foster.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank J0anna808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier P P, General Manager at Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear J0anna808,

Thank you so much, you are really nice with us.
You enjoyed the Chen Sea and this is what is paramount for us.

You are making as well an interesting comment about how suitable the Chen Sea is for young children.
When Guests think about safety, security, and hygiene for their children, very often, when in the Resort without their own children, they realize how this place is suitable for them.
They have a blast, it is true. In fact there is no danger, no pollution and no outside nuisance, and this is rare in a Beach environment.
So yes you are right on your comment and Guests say to me that the next time they will come with their children.

And you know already that I am your key to return to the Chen Sea.
We shall welcome you and please you.
Kindest regards,
Olivier, your GM at the Chen Sea Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Chen Sea was a place where we shared a beautiful and relaxing holiday. We went as a family and we enjoyed the atmosphere of the resort and the environment around us. The service was excellent, the cuisine offered a variety of exquisite Vietnamese and Western food. We rented the jacuzzi villa which was really unique that reflected the Vietnamese style and culture. A place to recommend to everyone.
We hope this review was helpful.

Room Tip: Jacuzzi Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier P P, General Manager at Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Eva P,

Thank you for you very nice review, we appreciate and we are glad that you had a great family time.
And yes indeed our Jacuzzi Villas are truly Vietnamese as from Hoi An.
On a personal note, I hope as well as you said that your Review will be helpful to our readers on this Forum.

Sincere thanks and kindest regards,
Olivier, your GM at the Chen Sea Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed at Chen Sea Resort for a week. We had been visiting Phu Quoc island before but that was 15 years ago so we did not know to expect. The island has change a lot but our stay at Chen sea resort is nothing we regret. We had a sea side bungalow with a fantastic view over the
ocean. The staff and service is excellent and so is the food with a huge variety of Vietnamese and western dishes. You can take a stroll or a taxi to nearby resorts if you want to have a change but there is absolutely no need unless you would like to explore something else.
You can borrow kayaks,Windsurfing boards and an Hobycat if you like to do some vatersports or rent a boat for a day to do snorkeling or just get away.
I think this side of the Island is great and we will definitely be back very soon.

Room Tip: It is very much up to your needs. If you want to be close to the beach a beach bungalow might be you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShanghaiKENT2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier P P, General Manager at Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear ShangaiKENT2014,

Another elogious Review from a first time Reviewer.
We are glad and we thank you for joining the Forum and share your satisfied experiencing of the Chen Sea.
We are happy to have met all your expectations to the point that you wish to return.
Needless to say how ready we are to welcome you for another trip to Phu Quoc.
Next time you come you will share with me your discovery of the Island 15 years ago.
Then I’ll share with you a strong feeling that I recently had about Phu Quoc people and only those who knew the Island before could give me their opinion.

Once again, thank you so much.
Please accept our kindest regards,
Olivier, your GM at the Chen Sea Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phu Quoc Island hotels
10.7 mi away
Peppercorn Beach Resort
Peppercorn Beach Resort
#1 of 98 in Phu Quoc Island
416 reviews
3.8 mi away
Cassia Cottage
Cassia Cottage
#3 of 47 in Duong Dong
1,097 reviews
3.9 mi away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#2 of 47 in Duong Dong
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
#9 of 98 in Phu Quoc Island
569 reviews
9.8 mi away
Vinpearl Phu Quoc Resort
Vinpearl Phu Quoc Resort
#14 of 98 in Phu Quoc Island
539 reviews
4.8 mi away
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
#2 of 98 in Phu Quoc Island
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc

Property: Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc
Address: Bai Xep, Ong Lang | Cua Duong, Phu Quoc Island, Phu Quoc Island 920000, Vietnam (Formerly Chenla Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#4 Luxury Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#5 Spa Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled discreetly in a secluded bay surrounded by a tropical rain forest, Chen Sea Resort & Spa invites you to lay down. This exclusive hideaway offers spectacular view on the Gulf of Thailand. Chen Sea Resort & Spa lies perfectly along a private and pristine beach offering privacy and serenity, everything is about peace and heaven. The Architecture of the Resort is inspired by the local environment with the use of natural material that is traditional to Vietnam. Chen Sea Resort & Spa offers 36 unique and spacious Villas. The open plan layout design invites our guests for both indoor and outdoor experience. Traditional oriental simplicity and refinement are the inspiration for the design and furnishings of all the villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chen Sea Resort And Spa
Chen Sea Hotel Phu Quoc Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing