We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc
Ranked #6 of 99 Hotels in Phu Quoc Island
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed at Chen Sea for five nights in late March and it was amazing. The staff were lovely, very attentive and always friendly with that beautiful smile.
Our room was just beautiful, bathroom was amazing, bed was very comfortable and air con was very efficient. Each night we would come back to our room & find our bed turned down with a scroll and chocolate. The scroll would contain a heartfelt folklore story and each night we would look forward to reading another. What a wonderful touch!
The pool was amazing but we preferred to swim in the sea. The water was lovely, there was some litter during certain times of the the day but nothing dirty, certainly nothing to worry about, we felt safe enough and continued to swim without question.
We were lucky enough to go on a fishing trip with the locals, this was organised by Mr. Lam. He also organised an English speaking guide, Thuan from Chen Sea. What a remarkable young man, we were very impressed by his knowledge and love of fishing, as well as his kind manner.
We would like to thank Mr Lam for his kindness and friendship.
Thank you Oliver for the service you provide is excellent.
Just one more thing, must not forget the barman who was always there after a busy or lazy day, serving us as we sat on those comfy pink bean chairs and watched the sunset! Perfect!
Thank you all

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier P P, General Manager at Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Lisa L,

We thank you for your beautiful review and we are so glad that you fully experienced the Chen Sea and loved it.
There is not a better feeling for us than the one we feel when our Guests are truly pleased, having met their expectations.
But the road to Excellence is a long one for us here in our environment. Your review is the kind of encouragement that is boosting our potential.
Renewing our most sincere thanks, please accept our kindest regards,

Olivier, your GM at the Chen Sea Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    707
    194
    48
    20
    15
See reviews for
197
578
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

the resort was fantastic, we stayed on a villa by the beach and we thoroughly enjoyed the holiday.

the gym is very basic and could do with more weight training equipment but the spa was great and the thai massage we had was very good!

service and location were great as well.

a big think that has to be worked on is the beach, lots of the sunbeds were actually broken and the rubbish just kept coming onto the beach from the sea, which is unacceptable for a 4 star resort.
there really has to be a team patrolling the beach every hr collecting the rubbish that comes from the sea.

i would recoomend the resort and the island as long as the rubbish probnlem gets sorted.

Room Tip: i would recoomend a beach villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 54AnnaM54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier P P, General Manager at Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
“Dear 54AnnaM54,

Thank you for your nice review of our Resort. We are extremely happy that you thoroughly enjoyed your experiencing of the Chen Sea.

Now the big chapter on the rubbish coming from the Sea. The issue is very simple, this Sea is considered by all fishermen from all countries surrounding the Gulf of Thailand as their garbage bin. No need to comment, or wonder on how is this possible, it is like that, and until there are some serious complains at the level of different Governments involved, situation wont improved. On a regular day the sea is very cleaned and clear. Our waters in front of the Chen Sea are controled by the Ministry of Environment twice a year, the analysis are very good, and people enjoy snorkeling as marine life is coming back.

As soon as the wind is strong from South or West, the currants bring all the rubbish to our shore, in fact the whole west coast is affected. So we spend our time, especially in the morning collecting the rubbish. We can go up to 200 kilos just in the morning on 200 meters of Beach. Our beachboys do the job and they do it all day long. Sometime they are a bit busy with the Guests, sometime it happens as well, one is missing. But we are known to clean our Beach. Just that sometime the situation is really critical, obvious and not very nice for our Guests, it is true.

We really apologize for this and we feel truly sorry for our Guests. Unfortunately, the only thing we can do, is to keep our small Beach as clean as possible on a permanent basis. Rest assured that we shall never stop.

Kind regards,
Olivier, your GM at the Chen Sea Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection.”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Would like to thank Oliver and Eric and the staff at Chen Sea Resort , had a great 4 days there , i would say the food we had there would be in my top 10 in the world , just loved the room we had , a lot of thought with the layout .

Room Tip: its best to have a room looking at the ocean , no better sleep than that .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 258PETERR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier P P, General Manager at Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
“Dear 258PETERR,

It has been a pleasure ensuring that your experiencing of the Chen Sea would be a great moment for you,
and we are so glad that you enjoyed it.

It is a great compliment to review our Restaurant the way you did. The same way a Swedish contributor talked about the Chen Sea as one of the top 3 Resorts where he had been in the world, we feel a bit humble with your comment. Rest assured that Chef Thao will get your review and comments. And I shall use this to ensure that our next “A La Carte” is even better than the present one, we have so many ideas.

Thank you so much, please accept our kindest regards.
Olivier, your GM at the Chen Sea Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection.”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asker, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

A serene and soothing place. Rooms are fairly priced for excellent quality but food, though equally excellent, is a bit pricy. The staff is very friendly and allways at hand, as is the management. Rooms are spacy, we had a pool villa, and of high standards! Love the details. Every night someone comes around to light candles and lemon scent, as well as leaving chocolates and a good night story! Great surroundings and beach.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank torenja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier P P, General Manager at Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
“Dear torenja,

Thank you so much for your very nice comments about us.
We are so glad that you enjoyed every aspect of our Resort.
You are the first Guest who is experiencing the Chen Sea and mentions that it is a serene and soothing place.

I so agree with you. This is a nice way to explain why our Guests return. They feel so great in our environment.
We renew our most sincere thanks for your review.

Kind regards,
Olivier, your GM at the Chen Sea Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection,”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights at the end of our Vietnam trip and had an excellent relaxing time. The room is the most beautiful we've ever seen! You can choose to relax at the pool or on the beach. Food in the restaurants is good, staff sometimes still can improve their English but this is everywhere in Vietnam. We also had a body massage which was great during sunset with a cold see breeze and no other noise except for the sea... Excellent place for some relaxing after an exhausting trip....

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anniek1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier P P, General Manager at Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
“ Dear Anniek1986,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our Chen Sea.
We are so happy that you enjoyed your experiencing of our Little Paradise.
For the English speaking, we are going to welcome again our English teacher.
She is coming back in June for three months and we really hope that she will help our Employees to feel more confident in English.

With our renewed thanks and kindest regards,
Olivier, your GM at the Chen Sea Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection.”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed here for the last 3 nights of our trip, in a beachfront bungalow. The room was huge, with a massive bed and the softest linen every. Although I initially wasn't sure that the A/C would be sufficient (the island feels about 6 degrees hotter / more humid than the mainland), the facilities team came to check that it was working immediately, jiggled around with it and checked up on whether it was OK the next morning (it was absolutely fine). I was very impressed with this attention to detail, it's something that is sadly lacking in many places but it became clear that this is why this hotel gets such rave reviews - the staff genuinely care that you are being well and truly looked after.
We ate all our meals there, I was keen to do absolutely nothing during our stay as we had a very busy itinerary and the next 2 weeks at work are absolutely jammed with meetings etc. This was the perfect place to just relax and take it easy. The food was the best we had eaten all our holiday, with a huge choice of both Viet and Mediterranean inspired dishes. The wine list was incredible and the service was spot on.
We were lucky enough to be able to extend our checkout time due to a change in flight time, I was praying that the flight was cancelled, but unfortunately not. We had a lovely time staying here and I really hope that we can go back some day. A million thanks to the staff for everything.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ratbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier P P, General Manager at Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
“Dear Ratbag,

When a Senior Contributor posts a very nice review, we feel so good. We thank you so much for your nice comments.
I am glad that you didn’t face a problem with the A/C; we have to change many of them and we are boosting the power.
In fact the issue is more important when we are heading toward the Monsoon. Humidity is such that, as you so rightly say, the feeling of the temperature is way higher than the real temperature.

I would like as well to thank you on your comment about our Employees. I am so proud that our Guests start to mention this so often.
Then we circulate the Review, and they feel so good as well about it.
Then you wished your flight to be cancelled, and why so?…. Classic, you stayed too short. The three nights stay at the end of a discovery Tour is great, but Chen Sea is a Domain that requires more time to fully experience and be rested, relaxed, and ready to go back to the buzzing world. And this is why our Guests start to come to us, straight from USA, Australia or Europe, for a week, then tey return home feeling better.
The day you wish to do so, contact me and I shall take care of you.

Warm thanks with kind regards,
Olivier, your GM at the Chen Sea Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection.”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We (2 adults, kids age 3 and 6) stayed in a villa with a private pool. Having small kids, we had numerous meals at the hotel, and stayed there a lot. The dinner offering is average, but the breakfast very good indeed. Although there was no kids menu, our requests were accepted at once, and the kids were charged 50% of full price. Regarding complaints made by the most disgruntled guests at this resort, they can mostly be disregarded. Management made a point out of chatting with guests, and did it well. We requested technical help from staff on a couple of occasions, and got it promptly. Our kids loved the restaurant staff and reception staff, who were very friendly indeed. English mastery varies, but is hardly a big problem. Hot water was never an issue for us apart from when turning on more than one source at once.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jørund B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier P P, Manager at Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Jorund B,

Thank you so much for your very nice review. We are very pleased with your comments on many different accounts.
First and foremost you are a Family and though we are a bit adult oriented, it clearly shows that the two different clientele can live together in harmony at the Chen Sea without any nuisance, given that the children are very well educated and care for, like yours.
We highly appreciate your comments as you came here for a long stay. This is a new orientation for us as Phu Quoc has always been understood as a station and not a Beach destination by itself.
Then the age of your children is really important. In fact your review should be understood as a clear message to all that yes it is safe to come to Phu Quoc, in a Resort like the Chen Sea, and that even young children are not at risk. So many Guests don’t dare to come with children who are soon to be teens!!!
Little hick up on the hot water will be tackled as we shall increase the capacity of the water heaters for more comfort in the Villas.

With our warmest thanks and regards,
Olivier, your GM at the Chen Sea Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phu Quoc Island hotels
10.7 mi away
Peppercorn Beach Resort
Peppercorn Beach Resort
#2 of 99 in Phu Quoc Island
427 reviews
3.8 mi away
Cassia Cottage
Cassia Cottage
#3 of 47 in Duong Dong
1,104 reviews
3.9 mi away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#2 of 47 in Duong Dong
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Vinpearl Phu Quoc Resort
Vinpearl Phu Quoc Resort
#12 of 99 in Phu Quoc Island
544 reviews
6.8 mi away
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
#9 of 99 in Phu Quoc Island
580 reviews
4.8 mi away
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
#3 of 99 in Phu Quoc Island
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc

Property: Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc
Address: Bai Xep, Ong Lang | Cua Duong, Phu Quoc Island, Phu Quoc Island 920000, Vietnam (Formerly Chenla Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#5 Spa Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled discreetly in a secluded bay surrounded by a tropical rain forest, Chen Sea Resort & Spa invites you to lay down. This exclusive hideaway offers spectacular view on the Gulf of Thailand. Chen Sea Resort & Spa lies perfectly along a private and pristine beach offering privacy and serenity, everything is about peace and heaven. The Architecture of the Resort is inspired by the local environment with the use of natural material that is traditional to Vietnam. Chen Sea Resort & Spa offers 36 unique and spacious Villas. The open plan layout design invites our guests for both indoor and outdoor experience. Traditional oriental simplicity and refinement are the inspiration for the design and furnishings of all the villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chen Sea Resort And Spa
Chen Sea Hotel Phu Quoc Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing