We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exotic and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc
Ranked #5 of 103 Hotels in Phu Quoc Island
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“exotic and relaxing”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Our family spent 4 days in Chen Sea Resort and our overall judgment is that it exceeded our expectations. The natural location is fascinating, the resort is elegantly simple, exotic, beautiful. Staff is extremely welcoming. Beach villas offer a close contact with the beach and sea, very convenient.
We stayed just before the high season start (which is from Nov to March) and it was extremely quiet, adding a lot of fascination to the place.

Room Tip: The last beach villa at the end of the row, (n.112), offers extra privacy. Garden villas have sea vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank letiziaShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier P P, General Manager at Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear letiziaShangai,
I love Senior Contributors!!!

Thank you so much for your very positive comments.

It was nice to see you with the family and true, you all seemed to be both at peace and enjoying.
Indeed it was a quiet month for us, but as you say it adds some fascination to our Resort.

And on the other hand I can’t stop myself to encourage you to come and see your Little Paradise when we dress it up with its end of the Monsson costume.
We still have to wait a little bit before doing it, and on a very personal note, I miss it.

Thank you and to the pleasure welcoming you again.

Kind regards,
Olivier, your GM at the Chen Sea Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    716
    194
    48
    20
    15
See reviews for
202
582
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, south wales
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I can't express how much this place amazed me. We stopped off here for 3 days on our 6 day trip to Phu Quoc, after the hecticness of HCMC we really needed to relax and this place did just that!

On checking in, we were very early, given a wonderful welcome drink, definately need this recipe please?!! check in was great and we were shown to our room within 10 minutes.

I can only saw that viewing the beach front villa for the first time, i was overcome with emotion at how beautiful it was. It was quite minimalist, which I love.a walk in walkrobe, beautiful views of the beach which we could step onto from our terrace and we had a bath on our veranda. Stepping out a little further there are wicker chairs to sit on and look out at the sea and sunset.
The bed was so comfy and there was a flat screen tv and a dvd player (also a massive library of dvds to borrow from reception for free)

The bathroom was amazing, the shower was kind of enclosed but our doors and a huge full length mirror. The toiletries are poured into flasked which smell divine. If we could have purchased the soap,we would have bought a suitcase full!!

The infinity pool is so warm and amazing to cool down in, as soon as you start to walk up to the pool attendent, he runs up with a thick fluffy orange beach towel and puts it on the padded sun beds for you. there is no music and its so peaceful to watch the sun sets.

The bar underneath the restaurant offers 40% off everythin from 5pm-6pm. highly recommend the cosmos and mojittos. wished we had discovered these sooner!!

The breakfast was the most fantistically displayed one I have ever seen and the waffles are great. The restaurant staff are so attentive and serve you very quickly and continually topping your glass up with free water.

The food at the restuarant was alot more than the markets in phu quoc, but this is a top quality hotel therefore you would expect this. we found the club sandwiches at lunch to be really nice, chips are lovely.
some of the meals we had in the evening lacked a bit of something but cant put my finger on it. Nethertheless it was all very nice.

Room service was very quick and excellent service.

On the whole, if you stay here I cant see why you would ever have to find fault in anything. I have stayed in many hotels around the world and nothing compares to what chen sea has to offer,

Paradise. I wish we had stayed longer.

we also had a relaxing body massage which was about £30. it was amazing.

Room Tip: beach front villa 104- excellent 5-6pm happy hour
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cardiff_chick22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier P P, General Manager at Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Cardiff_chick22,

Thank you so much, what a wonderful comment, and you are a Senior Contributor…!

Like I say to my Guests: “I love my Office”, your Little Paradise…

I wish I could have helped you to put your finger on the little something that you felt lacking in our Food.
It must be identified. There is a potential explanation, though I am not sure that this is valid in your particular case.

If you have travelled in the region ahead of coming to us, there is a great deal of probability that you did consume MSG without knowing it or even thinking about it. As MSG has been banned from our property, there is a slight possibility that your palate missed it.
Would that be it?

So you say: “I wish we had stay longer”… Which translated in French means: “We shall come back!”

And we shall be there for you.
With our renewed thanks and sincere regards,
Olivier, your GM at the Chen Sea Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This was by far the most relaxing part of our 3 week journey through Asia. We stopped here for 2 days on our way home - should have made it a week. We stayed in the Sea view villa with our own private pool. Very private and spacious 2 bedroom villa. The ocean was very calm and refreshing. The restaurant and bar were excellent with top quality food of Mediterranean influence. The staff were wonderful and very friendly.

Room Tip: All the rooms appeared to be great but definitely the pool villas were the most spacious and private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiz9789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier P P, General Manager at Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Kiz9789,

Would you be kind enough to tell me why you didn’t stay a week???
I love when my Guests have this feeling that really they should have stayed longer.
Not that we do it intentionally to frustrate our Guests, but true, this is the Chen Sea syndrom.

When I say to my Guests that some other Guests come here for a month, here we go, now it is clear.

Chen Sea is addictive. I believe that it is the beauty and the peace and in the world we leave in, these values are rare.

I am glad that you enjoyed your Pool Villa and wish to welcome you soon.

Kind regards,
Olivier, your GM at the Chen Sea Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz, Germany
1 review
Reviewed October 19, 2012

In a few words – a wonderful and very relaxing stay at Chen Sea – thanks to a very warm-hearted management, headed by Mr. Petit, who personally takes care of his guests assisted by a very professional staff. He is not one of these smart and arrogant GM types who usually stay imprisoned in their offices all day – and who sometimes believe that they are a nuisance if they appear in front of a guest (what they sometimes really are). Mr. Petit actually takes care of you, and he is a man full of humor though I am quite sure that he knows what he wants. His official representative comes from Belgium and he is as well a source for plenty of information that he is able and willing to transfer with a great self-irony – today, in fact and this is a pity – rather rare qualities. Further to mention are Mrs Lou – hope the name is correct and Mrs. Marina - both working in the front office and never bothered by our hopelessly insane questions. And finally Mr. Lam who gave us a lot of very interesting details concerning Vietnam and especially Phu Quoc. We stayed in a large two-floor Sea View bungalow with outdoor pool that offered plenty of room for a family of three adults. We did a few inspections in various smaller bungalows and each presents enough space for the usual couple that you would expect in these types of resorts. The kitchen represented by chef Thao offers both an ample breakfast menu as well as a delicious dinner. Prices – to our surprise – are exceptionally reasonable – quite unusual if you consider that most resorts try to milk their customers with respect to restaurant dining. Furthermore, if you consider that Phu Quoc is a little bit out of reach – they offer an excellent wine list – and here again prices are rather moderate. The resort - as some reviewers pointed out – is a little bit far away from the so-called “capital” Luong Dong – but this is in our experience nothing but a great advantage . Moreover, whoever comes to Phu Quoc and to Chen Sea wants to have tranquility and nature – and both categories are amply offered here. I strongly invite you to hike the beach both to the north – you will find meadows with cattle grazing, lush plantations of palm trees and untouched beaches and to the south towards Luong Dong – to reach the capital by foot takes about 90 minutes walk – and do not get appalled by the fishermen’s habit to litter about – in conclusion a great trip to end our wonderful stay in Vietnam. We’ll go certainly back before the island gets spoiled by greed!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UliHa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier P P, General Manager at Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear Dr. UliHa,

How to thank you….

I remember with your first emails that you sent me, earlier this year, how meticulously you prepared your vacations, the questions you asked.

You see Doctor, everything was in phase what we told you then.

Then this is the first comment on this Forum with all the names of the persons in charge of caring for the Guests.
And yes you did spell Lou’s name correctly.

Your comments have been distributed of course and everybody was so happy to have pleased you to this extent.

As I say very often, we are only here to please our Guests, we only exist because of our Guests.
Fulfilling their expectations is our aim.

We shall keep our simplicity, keep up improving our quality and consistency, so we shall be sure to please you even more when you will return with your family.

Please accept our most sincere thanks and warmest regards,
Olivier, your GM at the Chen Sea Resort & Spa, Cenatara Boutique Collection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2012

A brilliant resort - facilities were the perfect balance to blend in with the idyllic nature of this island whilst still providing all the mod cons. Service from the staff was genuine, accomodating & always of great assistance. The environment was beautiful & even though we caught a lot of the heavy rain from the monsoon we didn't get cabin fever staying on site (we booked a Jacuzzi Villa). The island itself is fairly quiet so not a huge amount to explore so don't expect to be partying till dawn! The rooms were lovely, very spacious & inviting. The beds were a bit soft for our liking however then again you cant please everyone!

Room Tip: Only 36 villas & all seem to have a beautiful vantage point. We splurged & got the jacuzzi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgie607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier P P, General Manager at Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Georgie607,

What a wonderful comment, and we thank you dearly.

Yes indeed the end of the monsoon has been particularly harsh, and I am so glad to see that some guests did manage to enjoy our peace and facilities without entering into a massive depressive state.

We are introducing the pillow menu, but we can’t introduce the mattress menu. So as I said before choice was on medium mattresses and sometimes it does not fit all.

With our most sincere thanks and kind regards,
Olivier, your GM at the Chen Sea Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed three nights at the Chen Sea resort and had a very confortable stay despite some heavy rain. Amenities are really worth the price. Service is at the level of a premium resort even if some staff struggle with the English language. We enjoyed the boutique decoration of the room, the very nice private veranda with bathtube. The bathroom with shower opening on the outside is another delight.
We would definitely recommend this resort and having quickly visited the other hotels, we would rate it as the best or one of the best in Phu Quoc.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarsParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier P P, General Manager at Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear MarsParis,

Peaceful retreat indeed… Thank you so much for your very nice positive comments.
We prefer to believe that we are one of the best hotels in Phu Quoc, and yes we are aiming at the top.
But as you all know, so many things to be polished first.

I am glad that you appreciated our clean beach. Recently a guest walked to town by the shore, only one hour, and when he was back he said to me that he understood the work it takes to ensure that our beach is pristine. It is a lot of work, but the result is so superb.

When I go away for a mission or a break and then I come back, I look at the property from the terrace of the Restaurant, and the same words come to my mind: “I love my office and this beach is a jewel”.

With our most sincere thanks and regards.
Olivier, your GM at the Chen Sea Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

After a long journey from the uk we arrived at chen sea and spa for a 4 night stay in a seaview villa. We were picked up at the airport and taken to swiftly to the resort. Upon arrival we were warmly greeted and served cold drinks and fresh fruit whilst they checked us in. From when we arrived till the moment we left the staff were incredible. You are basically waited on hand on foot and every thought and effort is made to make you feel totally relaxed e.g chocolates delivered to the room every night, room changed twice a day, a letter 24 hours before departure detailing your bill and when your bags will be collected and you will be taken to the airport. As for the resort it is absolutely beautiful and decorated so it feels very in touch with the island. Our seaview villa was gorgeous with a beatiful outdoor bath perfect for watchin the sun go down. And the Spa and restaurant were fantastic too - maybe a little more expensive than the rest of vietnam but you certainly get what you pay for. The only slight downside is its a good 20 mins into town so you are a bit away from everything but for us it was perfect as we wanted total tranquility. This place is a must for honeymooners or couples who want some romance.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mancmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier P P, General Manager at Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear mancmark,

Thank you so much for your very nice comments.
And yes indeed, we are a must for Honeymooners and romance in general.

We are a bit remote but this is why we are your “hidden paradise”.
By the way, only few do it, but to walk to town takes one hour by the beach and you arrive at Night Market.

We are very glad that you enjoyed our Hospitality and we thank you again for sharing your experience with us.

Kind regards,
Olivier, your GM at the Chen Sea Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phu Quoc Island hotels
10.7 mi away
Peppercorn Beach Resort
Peppercorn Beach Resort
#2 of 103 in Phu Quoc Island
434 reviews
3.8 mi away
Cassia Cottage
Cassia Cottage
#3 of 47 in Duong Dong
1,112 reviews
3.9 mi away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#2 of 47 in Duong Dong
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
#9 of 103 in Phu Quoc Island
585 reviews
4.8 mi away
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
#3 of 103 in Phu Quoc Island
1,150 reviews
4.1 mi away
La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc

Property: Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc
Address: Bai Xep, Ong Lang | Cua Duong, Phu Quoc Island, Phu Quoc Island 920000, Vietnam (Formerly Chenla Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#4 Spa Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#4 Luxury Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled discreetly in a secluded bay surrounded by a tropical rain forest, Chen Sea Resort & Spa invites you to lay down. This exclusive hideaway offers spectacular view on the Gulf of Thailand. Chen Sea Resort & Spa lies perfectly along a private and pristine beach offering privacy and serenity, everything is about peace and heaven. The Architecture of the Resort is inspired by the local environment with the use of natural material that is traditional to Vietnam. Chen Sea Resort & Spa offers 36 unique and spacious Villas. The open plan layout design invites our guests for both indoor and outdoor experience. Traditional oriental simplicity and refinement are the inspiration for the design and furnishings of all the villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Fastbooking, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chen Sea Resort And Spa
Chen Sea Hotel Phu Quoc Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing