We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful hotel in paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc
Ranked #5 of 96 Hotels in Phu Quoc Island
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
109 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A beautiful hotel in paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

The Chen Sea Resort is certainly one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in! We had a Jacuzzi Villa, the room was big, the bathroom nearly as big as the room with two showers (one indoor and one outdoor) and a very nice veranda. But the best part about the room was the Jacuzzi which was cleaned and refilled with fresh water every day! The beach is terrific, very beautiful and quite. We had a breakfast buffet included in our room price and it was of high quality and good choice. The staff was ever so friendly and helpful - you feel like a VIP at this resort. Internet is free in the rooms and there are enough beach towels near the pool to take whenever you need them. The only thing which was a bit negative are the prices for the meals. They are quite high for Vietnam although the food we once had in the evening was excellent. A taxi to the night market is quite cheap (about 17US$ both ways), it takes you about 15 minutes to go there and the food at the night market is a lot cheaper than at the hotel. The hotel is very quite and lonesome, a beautiful place to relax. We really hope to come back to this lovely hotel soon.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunny260467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    664
    191
    48
    20
    15
See reviews for
187
556
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

My husband and I decided to lash out on our 20 day honeymoon in Vietnam and stay somewhere really nice and relaxing as the final leg of our trip before we returned to Australia . Our budget was fairly tight so we roughed it for the first 17 days with the view of arriving at Chen Sea Resort and do nothing but relax and enjoy the 'paradise' this resort claimed to be. How wrong could we have been!

Driving through the gates everything looked just like the travel brochure...... But then, we saw the empty pool!!!! It got worse when we got out of the cab and heard the roaring jackhammers, real serene!!!! Apologies came from the resort that they were not able to contact us to let us know of the pool issue because we had not booked directly through the resort but had used a travel service, Agoda and they did not have our contact details. Funny how they were on the copy of their booking sheet.

To appease the situation, the resort told us we would have a private pool which I knew some rooms did have and assumed this was an upgrade but no, everyone at the resort was to use this private pool which was 8m x 4m. We were given our beach side bungalow at the end of the complex which was allegedly quiet, this was true to some degree as the ocean wave drowned out most of the noise. However, the roaring westerly was picking every piece of rubbish from Vietnam, blowing it across the gulf of Thailand and landing on our resort beach. The resort did a reasonable job of picking up the rubbish but as we were at the end bungalow, we faced the beach which is not part of the resort and this they did not clean.

I can not tell you the devastation we were feeling at this point......completely gutted!

We tried to make the best of the situation by drinking through it at the bar but over priced cocktails ($7 compared to the $3 we had been paying everywhere else in Vietnam) and the sounds of jack hammers sent me straight to goggle to find somewhere else to stay.

What I haven't told you amongst all the bad, bad, bad, is how lovely our bungalow is, just beautiful, we have an outdoor bath on the verandah and the goggle search did not find anything comparable, so we decided to stay but we hired a couple of scooters and spent most of our time away from the resort exploring the island until 5pm which the jack hammers stopped.

On our last night I overindulge in the $3 cocktails in town and woke with a raging hangover and just could not face the sound of the jackhammer right next to the restaurant, so I sent the husband to bring me something back to our room. And this was the breaking point, to escape the noise of the jackhammer, we had to pay an additional $10 US each to have breakfast in our room (this was negotiated down from $15).

I can understand why this place is so highly reviewed but for me, it was a terrible experience....

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SillySailingGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

secluded and quiet environment just the way I wanted. suggest to take the pool villa as its on higher ground which overlook the sea with privacy from the beautiful master bedroom. apart from this the rest of the villa interior is just average.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jengems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Almost teary eyed writing about this resort.
We stayed here for a week as part of our honeymoon. There are not enough words to describe how fantastic this place is. We loved it!

Upon checkin we were upgraded to a Pool Villa, which was just amazing, our own pool and private garden, beautiful sea and sunset views.
The pool and bar areas were lovely and attendants were so nice and helpful,

Breakfast was amazing, huge range of delicious food, we ate every evening in the restaurant, prior to our meals we were having cocktails out on the sea front enjoying the sunset.
ideal for honeymooners, or anyone who just wants a fab escape, to relax and unwind.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loueylouey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

My wife and I spent the last three nights of our Vietnam honeymoon here and I don't really have words to describe how amazing the place was! The resort is immaculate! The room was something you would expect to see in a movie, the pool with its horizon meeting the ocean was stunning and the bar and restaurant were both fantastic! We were rained in for a couple of days while we were there but staying in our room with our private decking, 2 spas outside our room and the big bath in the bathroom was very easy to do. The breakfasts were the best we had in our 3 weeks in Vietnam and the dinners we had were fantastic! Except the escargo, which was a little different to what we expected. We were asked to pick one staff member to comment on when we left but we couldn't because they were all just amazing. Everyone went above and beyond what we expected they should do. The value was also sensational. We drank and ate whatever we wanted whenever we wanted and we both had massages and spa treatments and when my wife asked me how big I thought the bill would be I over estimated it by 30%!

We will both definitely be back either before or after we have kids because there were a few families there during our stay and the kids were terrific and seemed to be having a ball!

10 out of 10 easily! Thanks for such a perfect end to our honeymoon!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrazyDave44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

I travel extensively and have stayed at some of the best high-end, secluded beach resorts throughout Thailand, Vietnam, Indonesia and Malaysia... I can confidently say that Chen Sea easily fits into that league of the few very, very special resorts where unforgetable stay experiences are guranteed. What's even more about Chen Sea, is the interesting incorporation of fine Italian desig in the exotic local ambiente. The swimming pool is special! The Mediterranean cuisine fantastic, the staff extremely friendly and attentive. The bungalows? A real treat! I spent two nights with my girlfriend at a beach-front bungalow, and we never wanted to leave. Open the long glass door, and watch out to the ocean, only couple of feet away. Relax in the bathtub which is located on the veranda level, and enjoy the sound of the waves while sipping Champagne. All in all: A perfect place for couples, honeymooners or any high-demanding travelers that want to be pampered and take a break from their busy lifes - in what I call one of the most beautiful resorts I have ever stayed at.

Room Tip: Unique incorporation of fine Italian design into an exotic local ambiente. Little, fine details are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MyLevelofTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

We were in 4 star resort at 16-19 August 2011 with the promoting pay 2 nights and the third is free. For three nights in one bungalow beach front view we paid 390 US$ with brk.
Amazing the size of the room, staff very helpful, average the breakfast and very good the restaurant with prices in line with a 4-star resort. Excellent pool

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cesare F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phu Quoc Island hotels
10.7 mi away
Peppercorn Beach Resort
Peppercorn Beach Resort
#2 of 96 in Phu Quoc Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
3.8 mi away
Cassia Cottage
Cassia Cottage
#3 of 44 in Duong Dong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
3.9 mi away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#1 of 44 in Duong Dong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
#8 of 96 in Phu Quoc Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
4.9 mi away
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
#1 of 96 in Phu Quoc Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
4.1 mi away
La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc

Property: Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc
Address: Bai Xep, Ong Lang | Cua Duong, Phu Quoc Island, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam (Formerly Chenla Resort & Spa)
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#3 Luxury Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#4 Spa Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc, a 4* hotel, with its only 36 Villas offers to its guests a secluded and private location surrounded by the jungle and overlooking the Gulf of Thailand. The clients will enjoy the private beach and the water activities such Beach Volley, Kayaking, Snorkeling, Sailing, Windsurfing. The resort offers as well a tennis court, cooking class, bikes and Tours/Excursions. If you just want to lay down, you will find many sunlounge at the beach, in the garden and at the infinity pool's deck. For a total relaxation, you can pamper yourself at the Chen Sea SPA. The restaurant serves a mediterranean cusine and Vietnamese specialities.The chef and his team can also tailor a special menu according to individual requests. The Chen Sea Resort & Spa is also perfect for honeymooners and to organize your wedding at the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Fastbooking so you can book your Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chen Sea Resort And Spa
Chen Sea Hotel Phu Quoc Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing