We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Viet Thanh Resort
Nearby Hotels
$598
$394
MGallery
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc(Phu Quoc Island)
$357
$321
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cassia Cottage(Duong Dong)
$98
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$87
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$173
$134
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cottage Village(Phu Quoc Island)
$49
$42
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$52
$41
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (232)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveler rating
81
88
33
18
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
81
88
33
18
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslong beachgarden sea viewfresh towels every daycrowded beachgreat beachfront locationstaff was friendly and helpfula wonderful vacationdeck chairsbasic roomcheap pricebeachfront bungalowbed dormnice place to relaxclean beachminutes from the airportwarm waterbars restaurants
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 232 reviews
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Booked a air-con Beachfront bungalow in advance. Everything went well. Everything is worthy for that price. Friendly staff. Reasonable service. The place is quiet and suitable for family too. Kids can play with sands in shade.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vietthanhphuquoc, Owner at Viet Thanh Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Hello Friendly Guest,
Thank you so much for your review. We will always improve our service.
Welcome you comeback here again on next holiday. we hope to have a chance to serve you next time.
Have a nice day!
Any question or information, please contact us by email: vietthanhphuquoc@yahoo.com
Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We couldn't fault the place as a back packers but it's advertised as a resort so just be conscience as it's a simple place in an awesome on the beach location. Bungalows are liveable and the staff are fabulous so no complaints at all.....
Ps. There's no pool as advertised on some websites

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicole K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vietthanhphuquoc, Owner at Viet Thanh Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Thank you so much for staying at Viet Thanh resort. Hope to see you again, we will always improve our services to make you have the most satisfied. Thanks!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stayed in a bungalow at Viet Thanh. It wasn't perfect but we had a great time and would defiantly go back. I Think Phu Quoc in general is all about couples and honeymoons and is definatly not a party Island like you'll find in Thailand, so don't expect it from this resort. I was traveling with a friend and we aren't big party animals, but the 4 days we spent on Phu Quoc were enough.

The bungalow we stayed in was VERY basic, but nothing notable to complain about. The only thing, when we arrived we thought we had already booked a bungalow, but they said we had been upgraded, and we ended up in the bungalow we thought we'd booked. It worked out well, but we would have been disappointed with anything less. There is a Huge big building in the middle of the complex, we didn't see any westerns staying in there, and we couldn't figure out if it was for Vietnamese guests or the workers accommodation. Never the less, you wouldn't want to stay in there, so defiantly book a bungalow.

There are only a few bungalows literally on the beach, and while amazing, I don't think they would be worth the price advertised on most of the booking sites. Our room was slightly off the the side in the garden, only a very short stroll from the beach and the restaurant. Our first night there seemed to be some sort of Karaoke happening behind our room, which I slept through, but kept my friend up very late. Unfortunately it was coming from a neighboring resort so there was nothing we could do about that. It didn't happen again anyway.
The restaurant was good and there a plenty others just a short stroll up or down the beach (I recommend Spice House at Cassia Cottage- AMAZING).

The staff were a real high light- very nice and very helpful. It seems to be managed by a husband and wife team and both were lovely. We hired motor bikes (which turned out to be a VERY bad idea- the roads aren't good and I don't recommend for anyone except experienced riders) and the husband was concerned for us from the get-go. Be gave us a very thorough lesson and was convinced we weren't capable- stupidly, we convinced him we were and subsequently crashed at the top of the street. My friend was only slightly injured but there was a decent amount of damage to the bike and a taxi. While we were freaking out the owner appeared out of no where and took control, sorting out with the taxi driver and good price of his (substantial) damage and calming us down. He was so friendly and helpful and basically amazing. It was stupid of us get the bikes in the first place, but he didn't even charge us the price for the hire, since we were on them for around 5 mins. Its a funny story now but it could have been a lot more stressful and we were very glad of him.

The only other problem we had with the resort was several power outages, but its not so dramatic when you should be out relaxing on the beach anyway.

A bit of a long winded review, but over all a basic resort but good on a budget!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank AmyRachel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vietthanhphuquoc, Owner at Viet Thanh Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you very much for your time to write a review for Viet Thanh Resort at Phu Quoc Islands.
Your experiences and feedback about our services are very important to us and other guests.
We will continue improving our services to serve you better. So we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Please don't hesitate to contact us by email: vietthanhphuquoc@yahoo.com to get the best rates and best services directly from us, including free Airport Pickup and free Breakfast. Terms & conditions applied.

Best Regards,
Mr. Tom - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We booked a room for 4 nights, for roughly $20 USD/night. Their website says this room has no hot water and is extremely basic hence the cheap price, but on our arrival they upgraded us to a basic bungalow with hot water. I think we ended up with an incredible deal!
In the grande scheme of things this is a reasonably basic, but very nice resort. It's right on the beach (the best patch of Long Beach if you ask me, where you can have shade or sun, and if you go left down the beach from Viet Thanh, there are less resorts and a quieter beach) and there are so many restaurants close by that it doesn't matter that Viet Thanh doesn't have it's own (the restaurant in front of Viet Thanh isn't part of the resort, and is average at best in terms of service and food quality, although I can recommend their whole BBQ'd fish).
The bungalow itself was very basic but fine, with a fridge, a fan, mosquito net, a bathroom with hot water, and a hammock. The bed itself probably won't thrill you though, and you are by no means 'away from other people' here. It's true that staff don't clean your room unless you request it, but I personally like that. They were very helpful with everything.
Viet Thanh is also home to the workers so they'll often hang out in the hammocks of empty bungalows etc; this place is super relaxed and we really liked it.

Room Tip: If you get a bungalow around the central building, without air con, it can get very stuffy at night (there is a stand fan however).
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Tamtamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vietthanhphuquoc, Owner at Viet Thanh Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you very much for your time to write a review for Viet Thanh Resort at Phu Quoc Islands.
Your experiences and feedback about our services are very important to us and other guests.
We will continue improving our services to serve you better. So we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Please don't hesitate to contact us by email: vietthanhphuquoc@yahoo.com to get the best rates and best services directly from us, including free Airport Pickup and free Breakfast. Terms & conditions applied.

Best Regards,
Mr. Tom - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We were actually going to settle for the resort next to this one and then we managed to get a better price here for a bungalow right on the beach. The rooms were clean and with working fans, location is good as well. We were also served well at the restaurant that kind-of sits in the middle of this resort's beach - good food especially the seafood bbq. My room was next door to Aroma Spa which is also a great spot to visit for a good massage on the beach.

Room Tip: Rooms with fans are enough in February, you don't need air con.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nes798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vietthanhphuquoc, Owner at Viet Thanh Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you very much for your time to write a review for Viet Thanh Resort at Phu Quoc Islands.
Your experiences and feedback about our services are very important to us and other guests.
We will continue improving our services to serve you better. So we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Please don't hesitate to contact us by email: vietthanhphuquoc@yahoo.com to get the best rates and best services directly from us, including free Airport Pickup and free Breakfast. Terms & conditions applied.

Best Regards,
Mr. Tom - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews