We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well maintained historical park”

Prasat Hin Phimai (Phimai Historical Park)
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 12th-century temple is similar in structure to Angkor Wat.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Well maintained historical park”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Having visited Angkor Wat several times, I wasn't sure if I really wanted to visit more Khmer ruins. It really does not compare however I was very glad that I did make the trip Phimai to see the historical park of Khmer ruins. The park is well maintained, the museum didn't seem to have a lot to see. One thing that Thailand does so much better than Cambodia is provide toilets at places like this. If you get the place to yourself, no tourist buses, then it is very nice and relaxing. The town of Phimai is also very delightful and is about an hour by bus from Korat. Not too many foreign tourists visit this place as while I was there I was the only person in the guest house and only saw one other foreign couple. However, there were quite a few tourists buses, probably on a day trip - both foreigners and Thai's.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank L2Travel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    147
    21
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
County Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Pleasant half-day trip from Korat”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We came to Phimai on a half day trip from Korat (an hour and a half bus ride from the bus station) and we really enjoyed it. It wasn't crowded so we could wander around in peace which made it for a really pleasant experience.

The park is small enough and well maintained. Unfortunately, the museum was closed when we were there but the walk around the ruins was sufficient for us to be happy with what we saw.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank combatgoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
761 reviews
286 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 506 helpful votes
“A great piece of history on display”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Visited this place and I must say that its not crowded compared to the other historical sites all over the world. As such, one can slowly stroll around the park and take fantastic pictures (no people in the background). There are food and beverage stalls surrounding the historical sites and thus, easy for someone to refresh themselves.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank alanyeo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Well worth visiting”
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

I was staying in Pak Chong with my family and found Prasat Hin Phimai on trip advisor. I took my children there for the day and we enjoyed the experience. We haven't been to Ankor Wat yet so I don't have any comparison in terms of size. I found it really so different from visiting Ayutthaya. There weren't the usual crowds but there were only a few foreigners amongst the many locals.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nicole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Enjoy a travel back in time”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I was really glad to travel to Phimai, and see this very beautiful historical place, from the time of Old Khmer Empire. It is really worth to go there. It is not far from Korat, just about maybe 60 kms away on the way to Khon Khaen. Its a unique place in Thailand, and I really advice you to go there, because you will enjoy this ancient town, that reminds you the kind of architecture of Old Khmer Empire.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank andrepaulsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prasat Hin Phimai (Phimai Historical Park) also viewed

Nakhon Ratchasima, Nakhon Ratchasima Province
Nakhon Ratchasima, Nakhon Ratchasima Province
 
Nakhon Ratchasima, Nakhon Ratchasima Province
Nakhon Ratchasima, Nakhon Ratchasima Province
 

Been to Prasat Hin Phimai (Phimai Historical Park)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing