We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vino is Vino”
Review of Vino di Zanotti - CLOSED

Vino di Zanotti
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Vino is Vino”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Same menu and quality of Vino in Bangkok, in a very well designed rural setting, for your weekends in Khao Yai.
If you do not know Vino in Bangkok, this is a very good pizzeria, with several excellent antipasti, pasta, and good choice of wine (of course!). A solid Italian restaurant in a more informal and relaxed setting, complemented by discrete live Jazz music. Definitely the best place in town, where you'll find several not-so-Italian offers.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roberto S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    6
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful settling”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

From the front this restaurant looks like it's in a tent, and in my opinion, doesn't look very attractive. However, we had been to Zanotti in Bangkok so decided to give it a try.

You seem to enter from the back of the restaurant and the front, by contrast, is really stunning. It overlooks beautiful and extensive gardens with forest covered hills as a backdrop. There's a beautiful patch of purple flowers that look like a Klimt painting and also lots of sunflowers and other plants . . . lots of photo opportunities! They also have a big trampoline and lit a bonfire once it got dark.

The food was pretty good. Italian in general is not my favourite, but as Italians go, this seemed to be of a good standard. We had some nice complementary bread and bruschetta to start, and washed our meal down with a lovely bottle of wine. It wasn't cheap, but given the outstanding setting, we considered if good value for money. We were actually on our way to the Smoke House which we'd been to before and enjoyed, but the food here is much better and is more of a proper restaurant type setting, whereas the Smokehouse is so big it feels more like a pub.

I thought the service was pretty good. We were the first diners to arrive and had about five waitresses hovering around our table to begin with, which I personally find overbearing. However, as a few other tables filled up, they backed off a bit and all was OK.

The Italian manager was floating around and was very friendly and welcoming.

All in all very nice to find a place of this standard in Khao Yai.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Monsoon74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Pleasant restaurant, tasty food, decent prices (especially when you consider the size of the portions), nice wine list/food menu and friendly Manager! Service is not the best, but they try hard and are helpful. I would definitely come back next time I am around Khao Yai

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luccin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Mutton Busted”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

When we found out Zanotti had a restaurant just up the road from where we were staying we thought we'd treat ourselves. After all, Zanotti's restaurant in Bangkok is one of the best, so hang the expense! We didn't book a table on the terrace which looked lovely but inside was still very nice. Roberto the Manager was very attentive and we followed his suggestions, including a nice bottle of Nebbiola at B2,200. The only disappointment was the Baby Lamb which was tough and stringy. We should have sent it back straight away but we all had a go at it and ended up leaving half of it. I mentioned the lamb to Roberto as we left and he fell strangely silent. So it just goes to show even the best restauants can sometimes let you down.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keithbz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
80 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Overrated price kills the fun!”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Amazing and surprising to find such a restaurant close to the gate of the National Park. Beautiful surrondings and romantic atmosphere. Many staff for the service, but not very efficient. Restaurant wanting to give a sophisticated style, but food was just OK, nothing extraordinary.
Excessively high price for what you get! We paid more than 7'000 THB for a normal dinner for 2 adults and one child (2 appetizers, 3 main courses, one bottle of wine, some water). They charge 300 THB for sparkling water ! Your bill will be increased by 22% for service and VAT, even in Bangkok, most restaurants do not charge more than 10% for service charge... The 2 Limoncello punctuating the meals were not even offered (195 THB each ++)... Not very commercial!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Schaffter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vino di Zanotti also viewed

Nakhon Ratchasima, Nakhon Ratchasima Province
Nakhon Ratchasima, Nakhon Ratchasima Province
 
Nakhon Ratchasima, Nakhon Ratchasima Province
Nakhon Ratchasima, Nakhon Ratchasima Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing