We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveler rating
0
8
10
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
0
8
10
2
3
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 23 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Tuktuk driver at train station suggested this hotel. They offered rooms at 600 and 1000 bath respectively. The difference was sllightly better equipped bathrooom for the more expensive price. We chose 600 bath rooms. Clean and comfortable. Staff friendly and helpful even if some spoke poor or no English. Location good and no problem finding restaurants nearby.

Date of stay: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Magman100
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2011

We found ourselves in Korat last night, on the way home to Udon Thani from the beach. Didn't want to push the drive back, so we opted to stay in Korat.
The Chaophraya is a pretty basic hotel in quite a good location - just a half block from the little central park that has the Queen Suranadi (sp?) monument. There is a decent shopping mall next door, a Thai restaurant with a huge menu, a small beer garden, and a Japanese restaurant that served decent food. Secure parking is a plus for this part of town.
The room was - well, basic. Worn, indoor-outdoor carpeting, an older air conditioning unit that was quite loud, two double beds with two of the hardest mattresses I have ever slept on. The bathroom was OK - there was hot water, and it was clean. At 500 baht per night, the place was more than adequate.
Staff was very friendly. I would stay again, and would recommend the property to friends who are familiar with barebones inner-city Thai hotels and not looking for much panache or amenities....

Date of stay: May 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAMESINTHAILAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2011

The Chaophaya was in a good location for us, just a couple of blocks from the monument to the queen who saved the city, and handy for songthaews. We were in Nakhon Ratchasima in order to visit Phimai and its Khmer site. After visiting a hotel with scary carpet in the elevator, hallways, and rooms, we were pleased to see tile floors in the rooms here. Hallway and elevator carpet had big stains, and was very frayed in the elevator. However, everything worked, and the food in the downstairs restaurant served our purposes. We found no excellent restaurants nearby, though there was at least one good bakery not too far away. The mattresses however were the hardest I have ever encountered. There was no give whatsoever. Elsewhere in Thailand mattresses were firm but I found them comfortable. The mattress did cause sleep that was not restful. I checked out another hotel some blocks away - same story. Maybe it's a Khorat thing. If we returned to this city we'd consider the same hotel, surely, but we'd investigate some others also.

Date of stay: December 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BinColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2008

I found this hotel on the web and saw its location was close to the old city of Nakhon Rachasima (Korat). I arrived by motorcycle and was able to park right out front in a secure area. My room was clean, queen size bed, private bath, fridge and TV though the English stations were limited to BBC and Bloomberg and Channel News Asia. I could walk to the Old Gates of the city and a new plaza constructed on a moat that was filled in. KFC and Pizza company just down the street. There was a restaurant at the hotel and a 99 Baht buffet across the parking lot. It was a good base as I toured sites on display in the lobby. The price was approximately 15 dollars US a night. I was able to see Phi Mai, Nang Ram, Muang Sema and a few other Khmer temples. I intended to stay 2 nights and hung out for an additonal 2 more. Jim CA2

Date of stay: October 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JimCA2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2018
Google Translation

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews