We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming resort in an unspoiled part of Thailand”
Review of Khanom Hill Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Khanom Hill Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Khanom
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 20, 2011

When you have decided to go to this area of Thailand it is probably because you are looking for at quite more original part of this country. And this is - meaning that many facilities at the big tourist area will not be found her. But looking for at more unspoiled Thailand with charming people, low prices and wonderful beaches this is – I believe – one of the few places left.
There are only three resorts in the Khanom-area for non-thai tourists. They are very different, but this is by no doubt the most charming. It is not luxury but rooms/houses are well kept and most of them situated in a very nice and personal nursed garden next to the sea and a long white beach with very few people.
The resort consists of two parts – the “old one” with very individual houses near the sea/b each and next to the restaurant. On the other side of the local road is the new part with a few houses and a new swimming pool and spa. From here there is no view to the sea, and you have to cross the road to go to the restaurant or the beach.
To my opinion the “old part” is the most charming, but the new part might be more convenient for people with children. Look at the different opportunities – and choose – you get what you pay for!
This is a small resort owned by a German couple together with their thai partner. They all love this place and they love to share it with you. They are all very helpful and if you need any assistance just ask them.
There is a very nice open restaurant in the resort where you also have breakfast. Breakfast is OK but not more, but the menu and the staff makes this restaurant the hot spot of Khanom with many guests from other resorts.
It is a little bit difficult coming there with 1 ½ hour’s drive from the nearest domestic airport. Rent a car or ask them to pick you op. Once there – if you have no car – rent at bike if you want to go to town or look at the area. There are hardly any buses or taxis to call! You can also ask the owners to drive you and guide you – if they are not busy they will no doubt help you.
This is a small pearl that I can highly recommend and if you feel lonesome while staying in Khanom you should know that Koh Samui is only a short ferry ride away. But I am sure you will hurry back unless numerous bars are your first option in Thailand!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KurtEsbjerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 300 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2011

Stayed for two weeks at Khanom Hill resort, we felt very welcome here and all of the hotel staff was very friendly and serviceminded. Hotel is located close to the beach, so you can sit in the restaurant overlooking the beautiful sea.
The food in the restaurant is fantastic, fresh and from the area of Khanom.
If you are fed up with night life and want some peace and quiet, choose Khanom Hill resort.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sle0711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We've spent 2 wonderful weeks in Khanom Hill Resort and have been really happy about the few tourists and the very friendly staff. The only people visiting the beach were inhabitants like fishermen and the guests of the Resort. Therefore you get the great opportunity to enjoy your holiday.
The Resort has a beautiful tropical garden and very nice bungalows, which provide everything you need (free water, free coffee, possibility to borrow dvds for free,...). The food was excellent every time we ate in the restaurant- no matter if it was breakfast or dinner!
The atmosphere is really family-like and we are sure that this won't be the last time we've spent our holiday there!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FamilieFippl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2011

If you want relaxtion on the beach without the bars, nightclubs and swarms of tourists, then this is the place for you. We stayed for 8 nights, and could've stayed for 8 months. Tum, the resort manager is warm and helpful, as are her attentive staff. The service was spot on. Warm, but not intrusive, We had bungalow 5 which looked directly out onto the Gulf of Thailand and had it's own beach. We paid 3200 baht per night including breakfast. This was by far the most relaxing trip we've ever had. Despite the earlier post in June, there was no construction when we were there, and it was very peaceful. Many days we had the beach to ourselves. Get to Khanom now before everyone else finds it.

Room Tip: Definately try bungalow 5 for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank FatBubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

We had booked 5 nights at Khanom Hill Resort. The resort was generally a big disappointment. We were the only guests at the resort and the resort was by no means inviting. The environment is very worn and a little sad.
When we read many of the other positive reviews it is very difficult to recognize the place. We noted that many of the postive reviews are from Germans, like the owners of the resort..!
The beach is very beautiful, but it was at the time of our stay unfortunately spoiled of buildings on adjoining sites and the beaches were used for massive construction waste. We decided to leave the resort for 2 nights and the very friendly lady at the restaurant accepted this without problems or extra payment. Very friendly and nice staff at the restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nugginug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khanomhillresort, Inhaber at Khanom Hill Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2011

I am very happy, you liked me ( I am Thum, the owner of the resort , it is not owned by Germans ) and my staff, we are always doing the best we can for our guests, which come from many different countries as you can see by the comments in Tripadvisor. Unfortunately you came last year in june, in a period with few guests and I think , that you agree that an empty resort is never nice and when the sun is not shining , everything changes and looks not as nice as in bright sunshine. The constructuion work on the beach took only one month, but unfortunately the period you came. The government built a new wall against high floods in the rainy season and they did it just during your stay with us. We were not informed by the government before and could not do anything about it. Now it is all fine and maybe you would like to come back to us one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2011

The resort is located outside the main town of Khanom on a quiet beach. We stayed in one of the pool side villas located across the road from the main area of the resort - still had a great view of the ocean from the room we were in. There is a swimming pool and children's pool (shallow) and a jacuzzi located outside the villas. A number of families were staying at the resort, so they cater for children as well.
The rooms were spacious with high ceilings, A/C, TV, DVD player, fridge, safety box, a large bed, a day bed and included beach towels - VERY comfortable. The only drawback on the rooms is that the feature lights placed outside and on the walls shine through the windows (no curtains on the higher windows) late through the night - not good if you wanted to get to bed early or like a dark room to sleep.
A large breakfast buffet was included in the cost of the room (2800 Baht per night), the restaurant provided excellent food however a number of the serving sizes were small.
Even though we stayed for 5 nights, no discount was offered for the longer stay - this could have been due to the Christmas period.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doogie850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2010

Best holiday ever.
So incredible staff, beautiful bungalows, quiet and peace.
We spend there 2 weeks and we have allready booked another holiday. Nice little village with amazing Wednesday and Sunday markets.
We haven't ever been in a hotel which have this kind of warmness and home like feeling.
This place is defenetly for relaxing :D

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sanna74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Khanom
1.1 mi away
Aava Resort & Spa
Aava Resort & Spa
#2 of 10 in Khanom
292 reviews
3.3 mi away
Khanom Golden Beach Hotel
0 mi away
Supar Royal Beach Hotel
Supar Royal Beach Hotel
#9 of 10 in Khanom
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Ban Thanyanan
Ban Thanyanan
#3 of 10 in Khanom
26 reviews
9.1 mi away
Sichon Cabana
Sichon Cabana
#1 of 3 in Sichon
37 reviews
0.7 mi away
Khanom Maroc Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khanom Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khanom Hill Resort

Address: 60/1 Moo 8 | Khanom, Khanom 80210, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Nakhon Si Thammarat Province > Khanom
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Khanom
Price Range: $94 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Khanom Hill Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Boutique Resort right on one of the most beautiful beaches of Khanom in a large tropical botanical garden. Spacious, luxurious rooms all with private terraces. Sunbeds than available at the two beaches in front of the hotel and in the pool area. Exquisite cosy restaurant with thai, western and fusion cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Khanom Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khanom Hill Hotel Khanom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing