We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
$31
View deal
Priceline
$27
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/11/21
Travelocity$31
CheapTickets$31
Orbitz.com$31
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveler rating
10
27
28
12
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
10
27
28
12
14
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 91 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2012

First off, the rooms are really nice, can't really complain about the room. There is no wifi in the room and the wifi in the reception and restaurant is pretty awful.
The superior rooms are way better than the regular ones. The regular ones are on the other side of the road... so you have to cross the road to get to the restaurant, pool and beach. Pool is pretty small but ok. The fossets leaked water in 2 rooms.
You have to know that Khanom mostly receives Thai tourists. It's almost deserted in the week but is fully booked on the weekends. Thai tourists are pretty loud and they do some weird things with an "american breakfast", for example they put some nasty vinaigrette sauce all over your omellette. There are 2 big building sites near Talkoo, so there is some noise.
The staff is pretty bad at English and everything takes a really long time. If you go to Khanom arrange your own transport because there is zero public transport and Talkoo charges 50 baht per person for a 3km ride to the minibus station which is utterly ridicoulous. The food is very expensive and you have to walk pretty far to find some.

Date of stay: August 2012
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
7  Thank pabloeskimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

I was in the beach bungalow near the beach. Nice and clean, to the beach about 30m, between bungalow and beach swimming pool. Wifi didnt work at bungalow, nearer reception worked. Kilometres sandy beach. Mostly thai tourists, nice and peaceful. Motorbike/car can be parked outside of bungalow.

Date of stay: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sangsomset
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We booked a week in the "beach front" bungalow. I think there are only 2 or 3 of the beach front bungalows. They are not TRULY beach front, but you are closest to the beach. The bungalow was large and clean with a large bed, sitting area, and well-appointed bathroom. The wooden finishes in the bathroom we thought were a very nice touch!

Being that Khanom is a little further off the beaten path than most tourists go, the english is not very good. Don't hold this against the staff members. All staff members were very friendly and accommodating! In Bangkok you might be able to get on without the phrasebook, but dig it out of your backpack when you hang out in Khanom. Try your best and you will get kindness in return! A benefit of being off the beaten path is the fact that the beaches are absolutely deserted. We walked around on the beach for at least 3 hours and only saw 3 other people -- and they were locals. If you are interested in heading to town or checking out the sights, you'll probably want to rent a moto. Getting around here is pretty difficult without your own transport -- Khanom town is several km away. The hotel staff were happy to shuttle us back and forth a few times, but it would have been much easier (and probably cheaper) to rent a moto.

Food in the restaurant is a little expensive, but very good. I would advise opting out of the included breakfast when you reserve. It is "American" and, while filling, left me wishing for a local breakfast. I think the sausage was actually a hot dog. I ended up getting a little sick while in the area and the restaurant staff provided a more bland meal of toast and chicken soup when I was having trouble eating.

A tip for the bungalow dwellers: Our bungalow had a gap in the door. We didn't see any bugs in our bungalow the entire week, but just to be on the safe side, I stuffed the gap in the door with a towel so we didn't have any overnight "visitors."

Overall, would definitely stay here again if in the area. Will probably rent a moto next time, though!

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annz0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

We never thought of going to Khanom and never knew about the Talkoo resort. But we wanted somewhere different and off the beaten track and not overwhelmed with tourists. this suits the bill!

Location;
Khanom is a local town and so it is NOT geared for tourists. Talkoo resort is about 3 clicks away from town but the hotel will collect you from Khanom if you phone. The resort is right on the beach...like right on it! The beach is generally clean...Talkoo raked the area in front after some rough seas every day. If you want a beach bum break then come here. If you want action then go elsewhere. We loved the location as we needed peace and quiet.

Arrival;
Painless check inn and quite friendly with smiles. First impressions are very good with neat, generally well maintained grounds, driveways and buildings.These can be dreadful in Thailand. The resort is on both sides of the main road so go beach side..

Room;
Actually a tasty bungalow that had charm and was spacious. Neat bathroom that had an unusual wooden basin and decent enough shower even if it was low on power. Air con helped the sleep and comfort.

Breakfast;
Not great and basic...just the usual American and not the best. As is usual in Thailand everything is counted out so if you need more toast/butter they will charge. Silly and unnecessary.

Amenities;
Small clean pool with an equally small surround for a few loungers. The view is ace as it looks out to sea.
The grounds are tropical (surprise!) and are very well kept.
Expensive restaurant and drinks.
Be careful! The paths have some bricks missing/loose and they can cause you a problem.

Overall;
We really enjoyed every minute of our stay and would for sure go back. The value was exceptional and hard to beat. I have travelled all of Thailand and can say that this is real Thailand and worth the trip...but remember no action, no bars, no discos, no etc!

Room tip: Get a room away from the restaurant ..early morning noise. Go beach side and not over the road. Have a drink right next door...lovely guy (Kwoung?) and much cheaper. He also has swings and hammocks which you can use. Eat in the restaurant opposite. Rent a motorbike. Big local market on Wednesday (?) in Khanom.
Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Harleyclarkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

nice hotel but in the middle of nowhere,the rooms were nice as we were in the garden view which was a cross the road from the hotel and beach,the pool is very small but ok for a dip. the hotel only offered a room for 630 baht a night which was a less more than we payed on agoda but they charged it around?,staff seemed nice enough though again only used the restaurant once as it was a little pricey for what you got,as i havd said you need transport to get around here as there are no buses and very little taxi's about. just up the road it a club with live music for the locals i guess prices here was ok for food and drinks big chang 80b and food starts the same.its called warm ball.this place is ideal of a stop over.

Room tip: you need transport here
Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doingok37
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews