We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total relaxation at Aava's spa”
Review of Aava Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aava Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Khanom
Reviewed December 26, 2010

This resort is a hidden game and offers a fantastic spa facility and service. We stayed at a nearby hotel and was drawn to this resort for its beautiful design. Ying, hotel's receptionist, warmly greeted us and showed us the resort with smiles. Thanks to Loukae, our masseuse, for a fantastic oil and Thai massages.

We will definitely return to this resort in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLBangkok-Manager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 287 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2010

staff extremelly unfriendly. Laundry service is the worst I've ever seen at a So called 5sta resort. Food was much better outside the resort.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank highfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yussies, General Manager at Aava Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2010

My name is Juhani Sotka, I am General Manager here at Aava Resort & Spa. I would like to comment on this guests review.
This guest stayed with us 6 months ago in February. We were starting our soft-opening phase and were indeed quite a new team in a very new resort that was not even fully open. We were just starting the operations and training.
The senior management however, are – and were - extremely experienced having developed and run hotels around the world.
I – on behalf of our entire team – can guarantee that we have gone a long way from that starting point in February. We are really serving our guests with true Thai hospitality, all of us!
Since the beginning of this year we have continuously developed our menu by local and international chefs. We serve at Aalto Restaurant dishes that are a combination of Asian and European influences. We dare to experience new flavours not only from Euro-Asian fusion cooking, but also from classic European and Asian dishes.
We pride ourselves on our effort to cater for every guest’s personal needs and requirements.
We apologize the bad experience you experienced 6 months ago, also hoping that every errors in service would be expressed right there when they occur.
Wishing the very best future experiences
Juhani Sotka
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

I had one week of holiday with my family in Aava resort and I could say that this week was remarkable. The staffs were polite and the room where we were staying (pool side villa) was just right for my family. The room had one queen size bed and extra bed for a child, also the architectural designing of the room was astonishing. You had your own terrace with seating and lighting which leaded to the swimming pool that was faced towards the ocean. The food in the cozy restaurant was delicious. We had simply excellent time in first-class resort, but only the weather was too good :)

PS. We were served like kings and queens.

Riitta and the family

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riitta_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2010

Although not quite completed, Aava Resort & Spa has the makings of a world class resort, and once it is fully launched it will surely take this burgeoning area of Thailand by storm. The staff are excellent, the food at Aalto is amazing, and guests will find their own piece of heaven, far removed from the overdeveloped Koh Samui. The ideal destination to discover what Thailand was 30 years ago...

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jliiplam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2010

We stumbled upon this hotel quite by accident, admittedly it still isn't quite completed, but this was relected in the reduced rates. We stayed in a deluxe room, everything was fine. The following week we had the opportunity to return to Khanom so deliberately sought to stay at The Aava again - this time in a Poolside villa - excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARP_ARJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2010

The Finnish owners of a new spa and resort Aava in Khanom, have boasted in the Finnish media about their own dream and a vision of a perfect five star resort since the slow opening of the hotel last Christmas. Unfortunately their dream of a five star resort is not that of a guest’s dream and the opening really has been slow.
After receiving a ridiculously low priced offer for an 8 night stay, we would’ve been happy to spend a lot of time in the spacious new bungalows, in the gorgeous pool area, in the two restaurants or at the spa. Well, we didn’t as we ended up in the middle of a construction site! Rooms, spa, reception, landscaping and the shopping alley were all under construction. Had we known this, our holiday plans could’ve been slightly different. Here are just a few guest promises that were not met or were otherwise not functioning:
Rooms had no tv (!), no wifi, no robes and slippers, no clothes hack or anything else to dry off your swimwear and towels. Our room had wires hanging from the ceiling, plumbing problem causing horrible smell in the bathroom and not enough room in the closets.
Pool area which was of a very chic Scandinavian design, was not functioning as there were no side tables to place your beverage or beach bag down, the rectangular sun lounges were flat, so no possibility to place yourself in an upright position to do what most holiday makers love to do – read.
The spa was temporarely placed above the restaurant – hence all the noise and music disturbing your relaxing moment. But I have to admit that their lovely spa therapist was one of the most professional I’ve come across.
The restaurant Aalto served really good food, quite pricey compared to local restaurants, but very good and adventurous with a great mix of Thai, western and Scandinavian specialities. The breakfast though was a little bit disappointing as it was table service and with limited choices.
The service (as almost always in Thailand and elsewhere in Asia) was very polite and attentive, unfortunately the staff’s attire or skills just were not at the level you would expect in a five star resort. Also it seems they have trouble in internal communication as our prebooked spa treatments weren’t in the staff’s knowledge. We also felt really sorry for a lovely honeymooning couple who didn’t receive any of the regular honeymoon treats you would expect to receive, not even flowers in the room! Saying this, we did receive very good service from their General Manager, who was really customer service focused and seemed truly apologetic for all things gone wrong for us, she did also comp us with great spa treatments.
Overall, we found it unbelievable that for a resort that’s been open for several months already, it was nowhere near finished and the work seemd slow in progress. But when it does finish, it will propably be quite gorgeous with the kind of design that doesn’t yet exist in Khanom. And with the beautiful, long and quiet beach - Khanom should be a great and authentic location for those looking for the still unspoiled Thailand. But attention to detail and great services that usually make a great five star resort and guest's to return over and over again, just weren't there in Aava. They need to find those extra touches, otherwise it’ll be just another okay resort in southern Thailand.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sonja71Helsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GunnarSekrathok, Sales & Marketing at Aava Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2010

Aava Resort & Spa is under a soft opening period, while we are still working on the final touch up.

During the soft opening Aava Resort & Spa is offering special discount rates for accommodation and service.

Aava Resort & Spa is expected to be 100% complete during the month of June 2010.

I would like to apologize to all our guests for the inconvenience caused.

If you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best regards

Aava Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
Thank Anke Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Khanom
2.2 mi away
Khanom Golden Beach Hotel
10.2 mi away
Sichon Cabana
Sichon Cabana
#1 of 3 in Sichon
36 reviews
0 mi away
Ban Thanyanan
Ban Thanyanan
#4 of 10 in Khanom
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Supar Royal Beach Hotel
Supar Royal Beach Hotel
#9 of 10 in Khanom
23 reviews
2 mi away
Racha Kiri Resort & Spa
3.2 mi away
Alongkot Beach Resort
Alongkot Beach Resort
#8 of 10 in Khanom
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aava Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aava Resort & Spa

Address: 28 / 3 Moo 6, Nadan Beach, Khanom 80210, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Nakhon Si Thammarat Province > Khanom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Khanom
Price Range: $114 - $406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aava Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aava Resort and Spa is spa resort in Khanom, southeast Thailand. Scandinavian influence can be seen in our unique architecture and design. Aava-design is created by Finland's top designers. Aava Resort and Spa combines traditional Thai friendliness and family values with Scandinavian quality and elegance. The values of Aava Resort and Spa evolved from the idea of serving our guests with traditional Thai friendliness without compromising high European standards. Rating 4 star. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aava Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aava Resort And Spa
Aava Hotel Khanom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing