We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful resort, great food and great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Aava Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aava Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Khanom
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful resort, great food and great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

We had a lovely time at the Aava hotel. If you're looking for a peaceful resort with beaches and few tourists then khanom is a great place to go. We stayed in july. The weather was over 30 degrees every day, with some showers in the afternoons but this didn't spoil our time. We had a poolside villa that was really nice, being able to drop into the pool from your deck was a lovely way to cool down. The architecture and features of the complex are very luxurious however as a resort that is largely open to the elements it is a little tired in places, but the benefits are that you step from your villa onto the beach or into the pool, so it can't really be compared to a sparklingly clean indoor hotel. It was also being repainted as we left so is obviously being maintained.

The staff were all really friendly and helpful. The Thai people are incredibly polite and respectful. The service all week was excellent. The breakfast is freshly made, with fresh fruit and breads brought to the table and then food made to order from the breakfast menu. The food at the Aalto restaurant in the evenings on site was delicious. Every meal was very well prepared and really tasty. We tried another hotel one night and it wasn't anywhere near as good. Having said that, the Aalto restaurant is a lot more expensive, and they do add on a service and tax charge on top (17%) which is a shame. They also have a very nice bakery on site that prepares stone baked pizzas to order as well as amazing homemade chocolates that you must try! Again not cheap but worth it and made a nice change to the Aalto menu as sharing a large pizza made for a cheaper meal.

Things to do: hiring a moped is really cheap and an easy way to travel. Khanom is very quiet and the roads are virtually empty at times so it is very safe. The beaches are virtually deserted, although it was so hot we didn't spend that much time on them! We had a full body thai massage on the beach, just down from the hotel near CC Bar, £6 for an hour - amazing and much cheaper than Aava spa prices! We also went on one tour run by the Aava hotel to see the pink dolphins, only found off the coast of khanom. This was good and you get to see a lot of the local islands around the area. its worth waiting for a day when several guests want to go as then cheaper per person.

Overall, if you are looking for a holiday that is busy, full of atmosphere, activities, nights out and meeting new people then don't go to khanom. However if you want a relaxing, idyllic setting, deserted beaches, great service and time to read and unwind in a part of Thailand yet to be invaded by tourists and tacky stall sellers then khanom is perfect and the Aava hotel is a lovely place to base yourself, that's unique in style and quality (but also more expensive). We stayed here as part of our honeymoon and it provided a very romantic setting and the r&r we were looking for.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave and Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    85
    39
    14
    7
See reviews for
82
107
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

My wife, my two kids and I stayed at Aava Resort for 4 nights in July. The place is beautiful located on a very secluded beach. We all stayed in a 4 bedroom flat with a very nice interior design and practical layout.

The restaurant at the hotel is very good. They have a wide variety of both Thai and Western food. All the staff we were in contact with were very nice and helpful. The only downside with this place is that is located in a very remote area with very few shops, cafés, etc. nearby.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rpdyrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kati_Khanom, Owner at Aava Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Rpdyrn,

thank you for your time to review Aava Resort & Spa and we are pleased to hear you have had nice stay with us!

As you mentioned, on walking distance from Aava there are only few recommendable restaurants and Khanom downtown is located 6km away but we organize transportation or customers can rent our motorbikes for more independent rides around Khanom.

Hope to see you again at Aava!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

After spending a total of 18 days, we can safely recommend this resort as a corner of paradise. Compared to wellgroomed places like Racha, there is a crack to be found in the paint here and there. But who cares when its clean, maitenance is discretley going on, service cannot be faulted! and the beach, calm and crystal clear! Food is tasty, if you want to dine outside, there are good alternatives within walking distance. Breakfast is great, do not miss the homemade yogurt.. and yes, the the matrasses are as common is in thailand, quite firm but they provided a soft topping, problem solved. If you travel with kids, be aware, there is not a waterscooter, paragliders or anything loud and speedy , well the gekkos are rather loud though, anywhere close! and we did not miss the machines. To summarize, do not miss it if you get opportunity to visit this spectacular part of Thailand

Room Tip: let your budget decide
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frode P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kati_Khanom, Owner at Aava Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Frode P,

thank you very much for your effort to review Aava Resort & Spa and thank you for your kind words.

We are pleased to hear that for you holiday at Aava was pretty close to paradise and you and your family enjoyed your stay.

We truly hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

You should definitely try this hotel even though many here on Trip Advicer, advices not to. It is definitely a matter of how and what you compare with. Here is my experince:


The hotel is build in Zen Style which match the sounding. It is a little and quite hotel containing a weekly program with Flow Yoga, Breathing, Thai Chi, Thai Cooking and other cultural trips. We went on a snorkeling trip where we snorkled while feeding fish in the water. We were also fishing too. Very nice.

The Breakfast is perfect and you can order what ever you like from the menu card or yor just ask for what you need, tasts wunderfull. We also tried some lunch, which was great. You must try Aava's BBQ on the Beach or there Tapas, jum jum... We paid 3500bath/700kr. for the BBQ and got the most exclusive experience. Most of the waiters speaks English and the food quality is higher than on the two other restaurants, which is just 10 mins away. In Danmark this meal/experience would cost around 3-4 times more, if you could get the same experience!!

In some of the room, they have problems with the smell, but just tell the owner of the hotel, the will give you the help you need, no problem.

We will definitely visit the hotel again - a very peaceful place with a lot of luxury and beautiful nature.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank www_FlowiLivet_dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kati_Khanom, Owner at Aava Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest of Aava Resort & Spa,

thank you for your time and nice review about Aava Resort & Spa.

All comments we read carefully, learn from them and do all necessary acts to improve our services.

We are happy to read you've enjoyed and you have had memorable "zen style" stay!
Hope to see you again at Aava Resort & Spa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We went to looking for a beatiful hotel around there for whole day until we found this hotel. The Room and Breakfast are valuable. The hotel is quiet good for family and honeymooner who love a private and local beach at Khanom. It's take time 20 minutes bay car to local market. In the room, there is not soap holder where i can put my own soap. The toilet door is difficult to close from outside. I am sure that this hotel is the good one around that area. I will going to stay again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poppy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kati_Khanom, Owner at Aava Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Poppy S,

thank you for your time to review Aava Resort & Spa. We value all comments we get.

We have recognized problems in Deluxe bungalow bathroom doors, as you write those are difficult to shut. However Aava is now under small and detailing renovation and doorhandles will be installed to all deluxe bungalows.
We have used only liquid soap in our rooms and for this reason there is no soap holder. This will be changed for coming high season 13/14.

We are pleased to hear you had a lovely stay at Aava Resort & Spa and we hope to see you again!

With kind regards,
Kati Häkkinen
Hotellier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Woke up early morning, with direct view across the pool and out over the Siam bay. Can't find much better way to start the day. Some people can't handle hard matresses, some can't handle soft. Some do not know how to fold the pillow to make better support... Never mind these small problems, I slept like a baby! Pool villa was excellent, just slide into the pool from your own terrace, quick shower and enjoy a very nice breakfast. Then enjoy the seaside pergolas and swim in the ocean with no waves or undercurrents. I travelled in low season, and staff was doing maintenance, but wasn't bothered by any noice at all. The place will look sleak when high season starts. Only thing I missed, was some more shops and maybe a few bars outside the hotel. Not much to do for children, but great retreat for adults and a nice place for couples!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan_Erik_Bergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kati_Khanom, Owner at Aava Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Boldor85,

thank you for your time to share your comments about your stay at Aava Resort & Spa, it means a lot to us.
We are pleased to hear you've enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again!

With kind regards,
Kati Häkkinen
Hotellier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

How did it received "excellence" from tripadvisor.com? They lied and didn't tell us about promotion we called to ask earlier. The front reception was slow to greet us. Staffs didn't care to serve us as Thai people. Pizza looked good enough but poor for the price charged. And if you have small children, be careful of the staff called "ying". She will try to hold your baby, no matter how many times we asked not to.
Not worth going for both foreigners and Thai people!!!!!

Room Tip: Stay away from this terrible service hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YamChoopong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kati_Khanom, Owner at Aava Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Khun YamChoopong,

Thank you for your time to tell your thoughts about Aava Resort & Spa.

Our front office and reservation follows very strict policies for promotions. On low season room rates are already low and other announced promotions are not made. For Thai residence we have walk-in promotion which CANNOT be applied or even introduced on a phone. That would be contract violation against all our travel agency partners.

I am truly sorry if you have felt that you were not served with same manners than rest of the guests. Thais are at the moment biggest clientele at Aava Resort & Spa and it is our pride to serve all nationalities with same hospitality and respectful manners. For sure this topic will be talked over with again with all staff in next staff training.

Aalto pizzeria is best pizzeria in the area using only best ingredients. Pizza prices vary between THB 300-400 and they not only look but also taste really good.

Khun Ying is one of Aava’s babysitters and four times “Employee of the Month”. She has been very much loved by our guests both parents and kids. Almost always it is Ying whose name is mentioned in customer feedback as positive way and we have several families who are returning guests for Aava just because of her. This was first ever complaint about her enthusiasm and love to be with kids but for sure I will have a talk with her.

With Kind Regards,
Kati Häkkinen
Hotellier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Khanom
2.2 mi away
Khanom Golden Beach Hotel
10.2 mi away
Sichon Cabana
Sichon Cabana
#1 of 3 in Sichon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
2.0 mi away
Racha Kiri Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Khanom Maroc Resort and Spa
5.1 mi away
Le Pes Villas
Le Pes Villas
#2 of 19 in Khanom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
3.3 mi away
Talkoo Beach Resort, Khanom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aava Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aava Resort & Spa

Property: Aava Resort & Spa
Address: 28 / 3 Moo 6, Nadan Beach, Khanom 80210, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Nakhon Si Thammarat Province > Khanom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Khanom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aava Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aava Resort and Spa is spa resort in Khanom, southeast Thailand. Scandinavian influence can be seen in our unique architecture and design. Aava-design is created by Finland's top designers. Aava Resort and Spa combines traditional Thai friendliness and family values with Scandinavian quality and elegance. The values of Aava Resort and Spa evolved from the idea of serving our guests with traditional Thai friendliness without compromising high European standards. Rating 4 star. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aava Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aava Hotel Khanom
Aava Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing