We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Spa experience - Korean style”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
88 Hotspring Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pagsanjan
Reviewed March 15, 2011

This resort sums up what a weekend get-away with family or friends can be. It can also be for company retreats or entertaining foreign guests that is into relaxation/spa experience. It is a quick 1hour and half ride from Manila. So people who just want an overnighter can go here without wasting time on the road. Entrance fees are reasonable, although rooms are a bit pricey when compared to other hotels. The grounds are well kept albeit a little cramped together. It generally creates an atmosphere of relaxing in the hotsprings with each pool thermoregulated to a specific temperature, so that guests can choose which one they would like to dip into. They also have horseback riding, fishing and massage services. Locker rooms are clean and well-lit. There is only one restaurant though which serves either korean or filipino dishes. Although the food was great, I would like them to expand their menu to include more dishes so that people can have other choices. Staff service was generally okay, except for the reception desk which needs 1 or 2 extra hands especially during the "peak times" that people arrive/leave there. (Since the lobby/entrance only has a few wooden benches to sit on, people tend to get impatient). If one is planning to go here with a large group, it would be advisable to call ahead of time and ask for a reservation. A lot of foreigners go here (especially Koreans) and usually they arrive by bus loads. Overall, one can enjoy and relax here without having to travel far from the city.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank acl08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 127 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2010

ive been to 88 resort twice already. every time we visit 88 resort we are excited because of its hot spring pools. there are many choices you can choose from depends on the temperature you want to. every pool has its own benefits like healing and energizing the body. 80% of the customers of 88 resort are Korean. 88 resort has its own mini zoo and man made lake. rooms are very nice we always go for nipa hut room facing the mountain and lake 2500php is the rent for the room per night free entrance for two person. extra person charge is 500php. you can request for extra bed,sheets and towels. FOOD? pricey but delicious the restaurant serve korean food and they also serve some pinoy dishes. for me it was a great experience specially if your a first timer in the resort definitely you'll enjoy your stay. in our last visit ive noticed that they are maximizing there facilities like they are creating new pools and water slides, hope to be back there when its finish.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ehlemhenopee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

never been to a hot spring resort that puts meaning on your every dip.
those 42 degrees' pools are a sure way to make your muscles relax. literally. pressure coming from the pools normalize blood pressure. as what the website describes it.

staff is not that cheerful to us.

room is spacey and bathroom is clean.

food is expensive that's why we went to the nearest mall during lunch!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank g0rgeous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

We visited last July 9-10, 2010. The staff are amiable esp. those who are in the reception and in the pool areas.

Amenities: Their target customers are Koreans and foreigners so most of the time we really enjoyed the hot spring pools and jacuzzis to ourselves since there are only a few of them. Filipinos were just maybe 6 in count including us. The entrance is quite expensive. However, I rate this place two thumbs-up because all the pools and jacuzzis are clean. The surrounding is well-landscaped and cozy. They have spa, horseback-riding, boating, videoke, etc. but we did not avail due to additional costs. There was a live band playing Korean and English songs from 6pm to 9pm, weekends only.

Room: We rented a standard room for the night. The room is average, the water is warm, the queen size bed is hard on our back but we enjoyed their cool aircon, cable TV, fast wifi and 2 complimentary H2O. We swim a lot so the room is just to sleep and keep our things. If you don't rent a room, they offer a free locker for men and women, located on Public Restroom, which I found still new with fresh paint odor on it because maybe no one is using it. Most of the foreigners/customers rent their own room or villa.

Food: Most of the foods are Korean-inspired good for 2 persons and I think most expensive in the area. Everytime you order there are free Kimchis, Potato Salad, and Veggies included plus sour pineapple (seasonal I think) for dessert. The beef we ordered for dinner is delicious but the meatball meal for our lunch (1st day) is not good so the next day we go some place just to eat and went back to 88 to swim again.

All in all, we enjoyed the hot spring experience and their amenities but the food nope. If you love Korean dishes, maybe you will love their foods.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beabear70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2010

great value for your money. perfect for a family weekend getaway. clean rooms, pool and surroundings. Staff are all smiles, accommodating (including the guard) and easy to ask questions to. Very approachable. The villa were we stayed was clean and comfortable. Food was great! My wife love the pork bulgogi. The hot spring water was relaxing.

things we didn't like, we had to wait 45 minutes to get in our room because the room was still being cleaned. You could not get a cold shower.

Advice: Bring lots of water (they don't allow you to get food inside). H2O on the fridge is a bit pricey.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mokoarenas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2010

Me and my boyfriend went to a resort which is near to 88 resort. We did not enjoyed our stay on that resort so we just tried to look on this resort since it was also very much near from the other resort. We enter the resort and headed at the front desk to inquire about their accomodations for overnight and also for a day use only. When we checked the rates, it was fair enough for that place since their target guests are Koreans. I asked the receptionis if we can looked at the room which is good for two only. The room is P2750nn already. The room is clean, the bed is big and it has its own bathroom. I asked also what are the activities that they offer,she said every Fridays and Saturdays they have live bands which I really like!
We also got the chance to looked at the pools, they have the fen shui pool which are their famous of. They also have pond at the back.

I really love to try this resort next time. I really got disappointed because we hadn't checked this place before we went to our planned resort... :(

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martianfromthesouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2009

Location is great... a little away from the crowded Pansol hot spring area of Calamba City. This resort is actually nearer to the next town - Los Banos. The room we stayed at was very clean and even had a little pool outside the room. If you get the family room, it is on top of a hill with a good view of the property, the pond area, and Mt. Makiling.

The place is popular to Koreans and they have a good Korean themed restaurant as well. Too bad they don't serve American breakfast though, but if you like japchae in Calamba City this is the place.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rapus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pagsanjan
1.9 mi away
City Of Springs Hotel
City Of Springs Hotel
#2 of 3 in Los Banos
26 reviews
0.6 mi away
Splash Mountain Hotel
Splash Mountain Hotel
#3 of 3 in Los Banos
36 reviews
5.2 mi away
SanTomas Suites
SanTomas Suites
#2 of 3 in Santo Tomas
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sol Y Viento Mountain Hot Springs Resort
3.4 mi away
Riverview Resort & Conference Center
0 mi away
Casa del Rio Resort
Casa del Rio Resort
#2 of 5 in Pagsanjan
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 88 Hotspring Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 88 Hotspring Resort

Address: 9601 National Highway | Bagong Kalsada, Calamba City, Pagsanjan, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Laguna Province > Pagsanjan
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pagsanjan
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your 88 Hotspring Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
88 Hotspring Hotel Pagsanjan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing