We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was an "okay" experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mangrove Resort Hotel
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Olongapo
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We booked the standard room (since its the only room available) thru agoda at the last minute. Upon arriving, we were checked in quite fast which is good, however we noticed that there were limited parking spaces. Only about 8-10 cars can be parked in front of the hotel, and the rest would have to look for a parking space which means having to park your vehilcle a few distances away from the hotel. We brought a toddler with us, so you can imagine the hassle since the road is not paved and very rocky. They also have this ridiculous rule of reserving the parking slot in front of the hotel, so its not first come first served which is quite unfair for those who want to park in front of the hotel. When we got there, there was an empty parking slot, however the guard told us we cannot park our vehicle there since it was reserved for someone else who just went out for lunch. Room is very spacious, hotel staff very friendly and courteous, no complaints there, and also we found the pool area very nice, however when we went there for a swim early the next day of our stay, they said they already ran out of towels. How can you run out of towels when it's still early in the day and you should expect that guests would be swimming? Lastly, when we booked our room thru agoda, room description said that wifi is included. However there was no wifi in our room at all, we would have to go to the pool area/lobby, and when I complained and told to receptionist she said that she would 'reboot' the router, however nothing happened. All in all, we did enjoy our stay. Not sure if we're going to go back to that hotel, though.

Room Tip: Choose a room near the beach front and poolside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chazzy16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 171 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2014

This is the nicest hotel in the area, we loved it. From the moment we checked in the experience was excellent. The front desk staff were very helpful, friendly and quick. I can remember her name but i think it started with an R, excellent help. We were showed to our room on the 3rd floor which was next to the beautiful infinity pool. The room was very clean, big and plush (bedding so comfortable), shower is also amazing. 50inch flat screen tv. All this made it hard to leave the room but it was amazing to relax in the pool of an afternoon over looking the ocean. The hotel was very clean all round, the staff are very attentive and helpful. I can't wait until we get to relax at this hotel again with the very friendly staff and owner to make it memorable. Thanks guys.

Room Tip: A room with an ocean view is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LandoTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Booked by Agora website, this hotel there were some reviews that give a bad impression but .....
There was somebody complaining that there is no elevator but hello ? Only 3 levels so no elevator was needed :-)
Rooms are brand new, food was excellent and staff also. If we had a question they helped us, i wanted normal breakfast they made it ....... I have not one complaint !
A small one could be the beach is indeed very small 1 m high tide, 4m low tide but the pool makes that good ! They are still some small works in progress but it did not bother us at all.
We would definitly go back there !!!!
There are a lot of good resto's in the vicinity and spa facility's. Indeed bar's also but f you don't go in you don't have a problem :-) this is Subic and you know there are bar's !

Room Tip: We had a beach view room wich was perfect and quit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Filip A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Booked directly with them, spoke to specific person (Ruby),drove 3.5h from Manila and when I arrived at the hotel the same person (Ruby) informed me that she made a mistake and gave my room to other people. Besides the mistake, the handling of the resulting situation was not neither professional or helpful.
I believe the hotel's policy is to accept ovebookings, since while trying to find another hotel, more people arrived and gad the same issue.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank travellerglobal2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

The hotel is surrounded by bars, upon entering the hotel, there were foreigner men flirting with local girls, which made me scared and worried, since the policy in this hotel are only 2 persons per room, and my 4 kids are staying in the other 2 rooms, what comes to my mind was, what kind of people are staying in this place? Since we didn't get the room nearby to each other, I have to upgraded the rooms to beach front and pay the additional amount.
True enough, on our first night, we heard the drunkard foreign man fought with a lady (most likely local girl), it was past midnight and they were very noisy, the next day my husband complained to the front desk.
Another thing, the location of the hotel is quite far from the city center.
The good thing about this hotel is their room and great people they have at the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank milyvels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Without any doubt best in town at Olongapo Barrio Baretto!
Very obliging, good atmosphere, nice pool area and bar, great accommodation!
We enjoyed our stay, the food is delicious, restaurant and bar prices are affordable.

Room Tip: Rooms at pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marion_Mikel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

this hotel is not a family friendly... if u happen to have a 4 yr old son and u want to stay in this hotel..... try to find another more family friendly place to stay because they won't allow you to stay with them if your kid is above 3 yrs old.... no matter how pretty and nice your hotel... i was sooo dissapointed by your rules and policies.... for lovers only... not for family place to stay.....

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
29  Thank tengot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olongapo
2.6 mi away
Court Meridian Hotel
Court Meridian Hotel
#2 of 28 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
251 reviews
0.4 mi away
Subic Grand Seas Resort
Subic Grand Seas Resort
#6 of 18 in Olongapo
169 reviews
0.0 mi away
Subiza Beach Resort
Subiza Beach Resort
#13 of 18 in Olongapo
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Wild Orchid Beach Resort Subic Bay
Wild Orchid Beach Resort Subic B...
#17 of 28 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
340 reviews
2.3 mi away
Subic Residencias
Subic Residencias
#3 of 18 in Olongapo
71 reviews
5.9 mi away
Camayan Beach Resort and Hotel
Camayan Beach Resort and Hotel
#4 of 28 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mangrove Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangrove Resort Hotel

Address: Baloy Long Beach Road | Barrio Barretto, Olongapo, Luzon 2200, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Central Luzon Region > Zambales Province > Olongapo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Olongapo
Price Range: $56 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mangrove Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Subic Mangrove Resort Hotel, a modern and admired luxury resort hotel located just a few hours away from Manila. This Subic's finest hotel has 42 rooms, designed to meet the desires of business and leisure travelers. Each room has a private bathrooms with hot and cold shower, room service intercom, air-conditioner and flat screen TV with cable. Guest can benefit from WIFI connection in all areas, 24 hours security and front desk, and a Poolside Bar with breathtaking views of Subic Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Mangrove Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing