We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Pub Hotel, Subic”
Review of The Pub Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Pub Hotel
Ranked #6 of 28 Olongapo B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The Pub Hotel, Subic”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

The Pub Hotel, at the northern end of Barrio Baretto, in the Subic Bay region of the Philippines, is a newly-refurbished boutique hotel, on the main road (the National Highway). B Barretto is a beach resort town, with about 25 go-go bars and not a great deal else, but the water is not far away. At the northern tip of the town is Baloy Beach, much better than Barretto itself. The Pub is clean, bright, open; the rooms are medium sized, the beds are big and comfortable. The WiFi doesn't seem to work well in all rooms (I've stayed there a few times) but outside the room reception is quite good. The advertised PHP1500 room per night rate was slashed to PHP1000, which is about right. There are probably slightly better deals to be found but I believe it's fairly good value. Nearby at the aforementioned Baloy Beach there are several hotels that are more expensive, some right on the water. Over-all, The Pub is pretty good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JackBoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    20
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
3
7
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pattaya, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Just stayed at the Pub Hotel near Olongopo during April 2012. The PHP 1500 price is not nearly justified.

Rooms are adequate but no maintenance has been done here. Bathroom fixtures are a mess and some not working. Water pressure very low. Paint chipping and water stained in many places. Springs on the mattress are poking you everywhere.

TV is useless with almost no reception. No refrigerator or safe in the room. No restaurant on site.

But the WORST part is the horrible, rude staff. The answer to everything is "No" or "I don't know". They yell upstairs to one another so they don't have to walk up, even if it is 0800 and people are trying to sleep.

Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oxleycc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Olongapo hotels

Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

clean, quite, flat screen cable TV. No refrigerator or safe in room. Stairs can be a little haul when checking in & out. The air conditioning worked fine and the room was overall ample for the price of 1500 pp, which is a good price for this area and room size. Short walk to restaurants, laundry and beach.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank azmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumaguete Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Stood at the Pub Hotel with a Group of friends over new years eve.
My friend booked online for 1200 Peso, on arrival we saw the price went up and is now 1500 Peso.

Bed and Bathroom was fine, aircon was good and silent. TV was useless, barely anything to identify in the screen. Could not connect to internet at all.

No own restaurant or cafe no Ref.

They have several menu in the room from outside restaurants. When I went to the frontdesk to ask where those are as I don't like delivery, but go out, I only got the answer: Sorry sir I don't know. (2 of them were actually close by and should be known to local staff).

On check-out we all got woken up pretty rude and basically kicked out at 11.

However, the Hotel is in walking distance to restaurants and night-spots, so it is OK for traveling with friends for a few nights of party and some hours of sleep. OK for 1200, for the new price you might find better places.

Room Tip: OK for 1200, for the new price you might find better places.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Olongapo hotels
2.0 mi away
Cherry Midtown Hotel
Cherry Midtown Hotel
#9 of 18 in Olongapo
37 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mangrove Resort Hotel
Mangrove Resort Hotel
#1 of 18 in Olongapo
169 reviews
2.2 mi away
Subic Residencias
Subic Residencias
#3 of 18 in Olongapo
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Subiza Beach Resort
Subiza Beach Resort
#14 of 18 in Olongapo
179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Subic Grand Seas Resort
Subic Grand Seas Resort
#6 of 18 in Olongapo
167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blue Rock Beach Resort
Blue Rock Beach Resort
#8 of 18 in Olongapo
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pub Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pub Hotel

Property: The Pub Hotel
Address: 76 National Highway, Barrio Barretto, Olongapo, Luzon 2200, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Central Luzon Region > Zambales Province > Olongapo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Olongapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Pub Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious air conditioning room , refrigerator , personal minibar , complementary coffèe , tea , cable tv.Close to the beach and to the Barrio Barretto night life.Free cover parking for car and motorbike , 24 h front desk service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Pub Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing