We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible service” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Johan's Beach Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Johan's Beach Resort
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Olongapo
1 review
“Terrible service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We just stated overnight and this resort pushed me to my limit.the service is very very slow the staff is sarcastic and very rude. When you call one of the staff they will just look at you and turn away (with an irritated face). But i decided not to mind since i didnt want to ruin my day. The room is very cheap, its old and dirty. The a/c is broken. There was no electricity for around 10-15 mins. Food is not good. Overall staff service and the resort itself is TERRIBLE.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank filam999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    37
    22
    15
    19
See reviews for
23
32
32
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

If you want basic, clean rooms, excellent food and safe, professional diving, you have come to the right place, The 'resort' is located near the end of Baloy Beach, run by Johan the Belgian, and has a relaxed, laid back atmosphere about it. If you are looking for frenzied five dives a day this is not the place for you. The accommodation is basic but everything (beer, food, dives) at Johan's is at least a third cheaper than what is around nearby.

Room Tip: Room 17 has a balcony overlooking the bay and away from the bustle of the busy dive center
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sydney C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was my second time staying at Johan's. I stayed about two weeks. It is simply, a clean low cost place to stay. The food is good, varied and also reasonably priced. The cleaning staff is fast and efficient, the waitstaff is attentive, and the cooks are able to cook a wide variety of foods. If you are into diving you can take PADI courses, or if you are already certified, go on a few wreck dives.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Lipe, Thailand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Johan's resort is not what the name implies, it's more a hostel kind of place. Saying that the food is really good, the(Belgium) beers are cold, the staff are friendly, the vibe is great, good mix of expats, locals and travellers. The diving is good, but the wrecks I'ld recommend the months feb-june, at least what I've heard, the other dives sites the visibility is good year round. For 700 peso a night I'ld def go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelbum83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

i booked into one of the cheaper rooms, it was a bit dark and the bathroom was tiny but the bed was comfy and just a few steps to the beach, i found the staff friendly and polite the room was cleaned when requested, theres a large flatscreen TV in the room but its an extra 50 pesos a day to rent the cable box, good wifi signal throughout the resort, ate most of my meals in the restaurant, good quality and good value, especially liked the European dishes like the Viener Schnitzel and beef goulash, the bar is well stocked, cheap and open 24 hours with pool tables and dartboards, cannot fault the dive centre here, the training with Johan is second to none, he is one of the best tech instructors out there, also his equipment and gas filling station is amongst the best i have seen anywhere, had a few great days diving, the divemasters are superb, safety number one, but they don't babysit you if you are an experienced diver, will certainly be returning soon.

Room Tip: the more expensive upstairs rooms are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigbri73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

dangerous one of my friend told me 3or 4 comstomers lost money in a year during costomer go out room.
johans hotel dont have securities system.So japanese reports for Police but they dont investigate.maybe hotel and police are so freindly. avoid bad hotel.

Room Tip: staff and owener tell you a lie.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ted m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohanDeSadeleir, Owner at Johan's Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
This costumer checked in with us and did not use the safe witch are in each room, he had a compagnion for one night in his room and is surprized some money is gone. Afther accusing the staf he called the police who had the same findings as us. Most of our staff are working here for 9 years whithout any problems, we have a security guard at night and we trust all of them. No previous money or items where lost due our fault. Our camera system is temporary out due to a computer problem (parts had to be ordered in USA)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
216 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Johan's is a pretty average place to stay, but it depends what you expect too. I was there to dive the wrecks of the area and I wasn't worried about much else. I had the rooms that form part of the dive shop, my door was right where they wash the equipment. Yeah, I suppose it could get a little noisy, however - it never bothered me much. The food was fine and check in and out was easy, but both times I have stayed here, they have never cleaned my room once.

The dive guides are excellent, my first trip I was able to make four dives per day however my second trip only resulted in a two dive day. As the dive sites are pretty close, that left plenty of time hanging around - fortunately I had a paper to research and write otherwise I would have been bored. Unfortunately, the day plan changed on a regular basis and I would have preferred sticking to the plan agreed the day before.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank viatalium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Olongapo hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olongapo
0.3 mi away
Mangrove Resort Hotel
Mangrove Resort Hotel
#2 of 18 in Olongapo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Subiza Beach Resort
Subiza Beach Resort
#7 of 18 in Olongapo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.8 mi away
Subic Grand Seas Resort
Subic Grand Seas Resort
#4 of 18 in Olongapo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Subic Residencias
Subic Residencias
#3 of 18 in Olongapo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cherry Midtown Hotel
Cherry Midtown Hotel
#10 of 18 in Olongapo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
31.0 mi away
Rama International Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Johan's Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Johan's Beach Resort

Property: Johan's Beach Resort
Address: Midway Baloy Long Beach | Barrio Barretto, Olongapo, Luzon 2200, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Central Luzon Region > Zambales Province > Olongapo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Olongapo
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Olongapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Description: Experience Subic Bay at Johan's Beach Resort along with friends and guests at picturesque Subic Bay. Quality air conditioned accommodation right on the beach, European and Asian cuisines, Belgian bakery and ice cream parlor, land & watersports and wreck / reef diving with internationally accredited trainers / divers. Johan's now offers 24 fully featured, quality rooms, newly built on the beach at Subic Bay.Rooms are available for all needs and budgets, from electric fan style through to air conditioned beachfront family rooms with queen size bed.We got a generator who insures your comfort during electric power interruptions.All rooms come with queen sized beds, private bathroom, hot and cold water, safe, WIFI connection and TV with DVD and flash drive connection, cable available. Internet computers are available at no cost to guests. New: We got more than 3000 movies on computer to play in the privacy of your room of a flash drive. Johan's offers European & Asian cuisines, the restaurant comfortably seats 100 with room for 200 more on the beach. Our menu contains hundreds of dishes, you're sure to find a favorite. For something different, one of our cooks can barbecue your own selection of fresh seafood or meats at your table. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Johan`s Beach Hotel Olongapo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing