We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tattered towels”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
By the Sea Resort Hotel
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Olongapo
Reviewed December 30, 2013

The service is lousy. The bedding looks dirty because the linen has been used several times over, they have become thin and brownish. The towels are worse; tattered and worn out; too full of holes. We paid for 3 persons and we were only given a small round bar of soap; not even shampoo sachets

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
4  Thank I_want_neat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 83 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night before moving on to the lovely Baloy Long Beach just down the road. The hotel is fine but nothing special. We paid p1,200 for a double room with breakfast. The room was ok, very clean, with aircon, cable tv and nice big bathroom. Breakfast was very good.
The location of the hotel was not good for us, it's right on the sea with beautiful views but it is central to all the girlie bars. When you walk out of the hotel on to the main street, there are girlie bars everywhere, it was awful.
We had to pay for the room upfront, luckily we only paid for one night!
The hotel is a 15 minute walk to Baloy Long Beach, this is a lovely beach with plenty of restaurants and beach resorts away from the main road and all the girlie bars. We moved to a resort on the beach and had a wonderful stay!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hollies2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Well, where do I start? I don't want to be negative but I can't be positive either. Reasons for this mixed review:
Positives - well maintained gardens and surrounds, rooms clean, security is fine, staff are generally friendly and helpful, hot water and the biggest plus, location. Centrally located in Barretto and close to everything this little area has to offer including transport. Being on the highway doesn't mean noisy, in fact very quiet. Beach front is also a plus.
Negatives - buildings showing age although suitably maintained, old and inefficient air conditioning, mattresses that have seen better days, unreliable and ineffective WiFi and avoid the lifeless, unfriendly and quite discussing restaurant - not good in any regards. The price of the rooms is quite high in relation to the room type - I had a deluxe room, name only.
It is the one of the only places to ask for total payment of stay up front - a mistake I made as paid for 3 days on registration. Wish I had only done 1 night and reassessed.
The resort is apparently popular for seminars and conferences.
Would I stay at By the Sea Resort again, only if everywhere else was full.

Room Tip: Have a good look around before selecting your hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlanJH1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stay to attend a wedding reception. The place is along the main road and a nice view of the Subic bay. Restaurant is good as well as the food, what dismayed me was the room and dirty linens in the room. Extra electrical outlet was not working..

Room Tip: If you want to hang-out for food and relaxation, By the sea maybe good but not for overnight stay or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruwenv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Nothing fancy except for two things: (1) you could take your breakfast overlooking the sea and mountains. The view and the fresh wind blowing on your face is a killer; And (2), you could swim in the sea. Aside from these two, everything is plain and ordinary: room, beddings, bathroom and tv size. the room is quite old actually. The picnic area is cluttered with tree branches and scraps and the tables are greasy. good thing we were able to use the pool exclusively during our stay. Another plus factor is the food establishment across the street, they're offering eat-all-you-can buffet for only Php 125.00 per fax.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baitoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Joined a few friends for a weekend getaway and went with this resort after some favorable reviews. There's really nothing much to write home about other than the following:
Pros - clean swimming pool, decent food, decent spa/massage
Cons - uninviting beachfront, poor accommodations/housekeeping. Our room had a funky moldy smell, fridge was not working, poor selection of cable TV channels, water pressure from both shower and sink was weak, the shower curtain was dirty, and here's the kicker - I found used condom wrappers under the bed. I expected a resort not a motel.
Bottomline: I'd skip this place and look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GG G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This resort is our sunshine after the rain :)
We were disappointed to find out that the hotel we were staying at does not have a pool and that the beach area inside the camp was no longer available to swimmers. The reason why we travelled to Subic was to swim and so, we found By The Sea Resort. The staff was good and even allowed us to use their pool considering that we will be checking in the next day :) Rooms may not be as luxurious as the other hotels but it was still spacious enough for the whole family and it was comfortable and it was clean. The staff are readily available to help in all our needs. All in all, we had a great time, specially the kids.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
Thank akosiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olongapo
1.6 mi away
Subic Grand Seas Resort
Subic Grand Seas Resort
#7 of 19 in Olongapo
170 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mangrove Resort Hotel
Mangrove Resort Hotel
#3 of 19 in Olongapo
176 reviews
0.4 mi away
Subic Residencias
Subic Residencias
#4 of 19 in Olongapo
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Court Meridian Hotel
Court Meridian Hotel
#2 of 28 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
274 reviews
1.8 mi away
Subiza Beach Resort
Subiza Beach Resort
#14 of 19 in Olongapo
180 reviews
32.9 mi away
Rama International Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to By the Sea Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By the Sea Resort Hotel

Address: # 99 National Highway Barretto | Barretto, Olongapo, Luzon 2200, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Central Luzon Region > Zambales Province > Olongapo
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Olongapo
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Olongapo
Price Range: $34 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly, informal, yet with everything you would expect of the finest hotel in an award winning tourism area. By the Sea Resort Hotel offers you a level of hospitality you will want to come back to time and time again. Lapped by the spectacular crystal sea of Subic Bay, easily accessible from urban centers, By the Sea Resort Hotel is more than a great place for friends or family, it is ideal for business gatherings, high profile conferences, or those special occasions when only the best will do. By the Sea Resort Hotel, your Home away from Home in Subic! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your By the Sea Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
By The Sea Hotel Olongapo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing