We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views from VIP room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Subiza Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Olongapo
Houston, TX
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great views from VIP room”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Booked this room on short notice because it was the only room available at the level I was looking for from available resorts in this area.
It's a bit on the pricy side but the view overlooking the bay is very nice.
The room door leads into your large private patio.
From there you enter your room through sliding glass doors.

Because the patio is semi-private you can leave your curtains open and let light in in the morning.
The room was clean and bed was comfortable.
Big flatscreen TV, minibar and safe available in the room.
No bathtub, just a shower.

Can't say anything about the other rooms because I didn't stay in them.

There is another new resort near sheavens called the Wild Orchid that is not reviewed on tripadvisor. Perhaps at the request of the resort?
Overall that resort, Wild Orchid is newer and bigger and rooms are more modern but it's not on the water.

What you're paying for and getting with the VIP room is the private patio right above the water overlooking part of the bay. I say it's semi-private because even though its private, you can see part of the restaurant from part of they patio. Otherwise it's a fully private patio.

No phones available in the room but you can order breakfast on your private patio by stepping outside your door into the restaurant area.

Service was prompt and friendly.

I would stay here in this room again.

Room Tip: The review is for the VIP room. Can't speak for other rooms. There is no dive shop at this reso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SJWKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    51
    31
    24
    22
See reviews for
46
39
33
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Staying again soon. Great spot on the water with stairs into the water & showers when you get out. Nice pool too. Friendly, helpful, trustworthy staff all round. Good food with plenty of eating options close by. Rooms are ok, worth what you pay and clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roostermandingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

I love this place! This is my 5th time staying at sheavens and it is always great! The people are friendly and the food is probably the best in town! I will be back again that is for sure! I think I will go there for Christmas and new years! They really do it well there.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank chefmark23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bauang, Philippines
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

more than happy with the food, location and accommodation.
great service from the resto ladies, trained to perfection.
a credit to management.
I highly recommend this hotel, close to bars and all major attractions.

Room Tip: balcony room facing the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

There is only 1 reason people come to this location and that applies to single travellers.

I got a cold whilst staying here and the uncleared aircon filters didn't help. Room had bad curtains which meant getting any sleep in the day time was impossible.

Reception are quite clueless and I had issues at checkout, how they passed accounting at university is beyond me.

Rooms are adequate but TV is very old and produced bad sound quality which means you really have to turn it up to get anything heard.

Bathroom is ok but please note that the walls don't go to the roof so if you use the toilet there is no privacy. I found that quite awkward.

Pool over chlorinated their pool which stung my eyes and sent them red in about 5 mins. Bring goggles.

The hotel is down a dark unlit dirt road so getting in and out in the night is risky to say the least. The whole area is dissapointing and quite dangerous in my opinion.

Management are Sri Lankan so don't expect western standards for customer service or restaurant quality.

I won't be back, they can improve their whole business with little or no cost by simply going through very aspect of the hotel from start to finish and just being honest about the problems and addressing them.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Trentbkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Olongapo hotels

Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Arrived with relatives to stay 3 nights. To get to our room we had to walk along a rusted and very rickerty metal walkway. we always walked one at a time along it, just in case it broke.Charged full price for the room, the toilet was broken, the shower curtain was so filthy it could have stood up on its own, shower recess putrid and not cleaned very well. we did not receive a bath mat and eventually had to ask for it. Swimming pool was a strange green color and closed. The resort definitely was very tired. Had several meals and every time the service was very slow. l ordered a coffee and club sandwich and only the coffee arrived but on checkout was charged for the club sandwich.

Room Tip: Avoid if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juda_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I've been traveling in Philippines for six weeks and so far have visited Cebu, Boracay, Bohol and Manila. My experiences in all those locations have been universally excellent with friendly staff, good service and and good prices. All that changed in Olongapo where I recently spent three nights. I found a pervasive and insidious rip-off culture in Olongapo. While this may be attributable to the long-term US presence in the region it is nevertheless unpleasant. A 15 minute taxi ride that will cost 150 peso maximum in Manila will cost 500 in Olongapo. There does not appear to be a metered taxi system so in order to get a taxi you are forced to enter into a negotiation with the hotel receptionist who will "assist" you in finding a taxi. If you stay in this hotel they will quote you 900 pesos for the 15 minute taxi ride to the city. That's in broad daylight. Imagine what they will charge you at night or in an emergency. It's not just the taxis. I had dinner at a nearby resort where I was the only customer in the dining room. My waitress was unsmiling and unfriendly. She then attempted to rip me off on the bill. I stayed in Sheavens and found the hotel to be poor value for money. The AC in the room was old and struggling; there was an eighth of an inch gap all around the door which allowed the mosquitoes free access from outside; there was a permanent pool of water on the bathroom floor either from the sink or the toilet. The food in the restaurant was expensive and the service was slow. When I was checking out they charged me for a bottle of water that I hadn't taken from the mini-bar. In Olongapo generally I found the taxi drivers, the hotel and restaurant staff and everyone else I encountered had a [--] you attitude that was almost sinister. I repeat I have had only excellent experiences everywhere else in Philippines. I hated this place and will never be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olongapo
0.0 mi away
Mangrove Resort Hotel
Mangrove Resort Hotel
#1 of 18 in Olongapo
169 reviews
0.4 mi away
Subic Grand Seas Resort
Subic Grand Seas Resort
#6 of 18 in Olongapo
166 reviews
2.3 mi away
Subic Residencias
Subic Residencias
#3 of 18 in Olongapo
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Wild Orchid Beach Resort Subic Bay
Wild Orchid Beach Resort Subic B...
#14 of 26 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
330 reviews
2.6 mi away
Court Meridian Hotel
Court Meridian Hotel
#2 of 26 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
238 reviews
31.2 mi away
Rama International Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Subiza Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Subiza Beach Resort

Property: Subiza Beach Resort
Address: No. 13 Baloy Long Beach | Barrio Barretto, Olongapo, Luzon 2200, Philippines (Formerly Sheavens Seafront Resort)
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Central Luzon Region > Zambales Province > Olongapo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Olongapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Subiza Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Subiza Beach Resort is the right choice for visitors who are searching for a combination of charm, peace and quiet, and a convenient position from which to explore Subic Bay's emerald-blue waters and nature. It is an affordable and comfortable hotel, situated along the shorelines. The hotel staff offers an attentive, personalized service and are always available to offer any help to guests. Our 50 air-conditioned guest rooms from Standard and Deluxe categories, all the way up to Superior and Executive rooms offers the amenities of your own home. The hotel's swimming pool overlooks the pristine beach which is a few feet away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Subiza Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheavens Seafront Resort Hotel Olongapo
Sheavens Hotel Olongapo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing