We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An average place next to the sea”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blue Rock Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Olongapo
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“An average place next to the sea”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

Blue rock is an average place. first of all, the dive center is misnomer, as it did not exist when i was there. just a shack which was closed down. it seems to be more popular for it's restaurant - especially with big groups of Koreans and expats. The rooms are ok. most have a view of the sea - and it is good to sit outside - so take the rooms on the upper floors. they are also quieter and away from the music of the restaurant.

the prices are more suited for expats. steaks buffet cost 450 pesos. servings are very big so they are actually good for 2 people. they have a wide seafood selection, but i think it all comes from the subic fish market.

the rooms are clean, comfortable and the bed / pillow were soft. the bathroom could have been a bit cleaner though

Room Tip: rooms on the upper floor are quiter and have a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timetohangupmyboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    45
    25
    14
    15
See reviews for
24
28
30
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

Greetings everyone!

I've stayed with Blue Rock Resort twice last year (Dec. 2011) and would like to recommend this vivid resort to anyone who's planning to stay for a few days or longer in Subic Bay. "Blue Rock" is not a five star hotel but i wasn't looking for that either. I go to Subic for diving and of course a bit of partying. Staying at Blue Rock Resort gave me the feeling of being in the "happening zone" if you like... Theres always something going on and even though you might be traveling alone its an easy place to mingle around with other guests and divers, make friends and share experiences. The food is very good compared to many similar places in Subic Bay and you're only a few minutes away from the night-scene!

You can get a simple room for about 1,000 pesos per night. All rooms are equipped with wireless internet, safety box, hot water, big buckets in the shower (very useful for rinsing your dive-gear), cable-TV and a pretty complete minibar. The rooms are far from fancy but clean and safe.

The food menu is stuffed with both local Filipino-dishes and international cousin (Australian-, American-, Mexican- and Thai-food), huge portions, reasonably good prices and you're able to order anything from the menu 24h/day. The service is great and the management is always around ready to help out in case you need any extra assistance or advice.

I did about 30 dives with El Coral Reef Dive Center, located within the facilities of Blue Rock Resort. Great instructors and superb dive masters. These guys will teach you a lot, and even though i was the only diver one or two times they never hesitated to take me out. El Coral Reef Dive Center covers all wrecks in the bay and will get you well prepared before diving on some of the more advanced dive sites!

All in all Blue Rock is definitely the choice for me, good value for money and lots of activities offered depending on your mood. I hope this review have been helpful, will add to it after my next visit to Subic Bay later on this year. Stay safe everyone!

Room Tip: Room no. 7 and 8 are interconnected. Room 6, 7 and 8 are all next to the staff quarters so unless yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
83 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 561 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

I have stayed at the Blue Rock many times over the last 8 years. It was once the only place I would consider when visiting Subic. Back in the early days when the original owner Tommo ran the place he really kept everybody entertained. He was unconsciously competent at making sure everyone had everything they needed to be happy.

I have been back since Tommo sold out the last of his shares and moved on....I anticipated being a little disappointed, and reminded myself to give it a good go. Unfortunately the new management did not come out offering a welcome handshake or introduction. I sat at the restaurant bar and spotted the new manager and other owner doing something....whatever it was it wasn't making me feel at home. I felt a bit awkward as no welcome came my way.

I drank a few beers and had some oysters. Still, they have managed to deliver great food and ice cold beer...that hasn't changed.

The rooms are getting a bit tired and could use some redecorating. I was at the Blue Rock the day the new wing opened a few years back and we were the first in those rooms. Though nice at the time, I think the interior decorator needs to drop the bright floral theme, and get into something a bit more metro or hip.

I did lots of Scuba diving when staying here and that was just fantastic.

I just booked my next holiday through Asia including Subic....I am leaving in a couple of weeks. Of course being a serial reviewer I spent a lot of time comparing places, reviews and prices...including Blue Rock. Using the BR website, I was unable to identify which room was which, and what rate it was so I had to email them. It took about 24 hours to get a (kind) reply, but that was too late, as I had already booked the Wild Orchid across the road. I think internet inquiries should be dealt with every hour....as we do in my own business.

In comparison, the prices for the larger nicer rooms at Blue Rock, were the same as a deluxe room at the Orchid....and the Orchid looked much nicer, however not beach front. The facilities such as the pool look second to none at the Orchid, as the BR pool is merely a plunge pool and nowhere to lay out.

A lot of people complain about the vendors on the beach at the front of the hotel. I first despised them but after a couple of trips around Asia I learned they are just making their living....just learn how to deal with them and don't offend them.

Great food, beer, floating bar and great location.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmithersinAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

I guess your opinion of this hotel depends on what your expectation is. I didn't expect much and that's pretty much what was delivered. The room I stayed in was at best; basic. It looked like it had been decorated with cast off furniture from the Salvation Army.

On the plus side the aircon worked well and the room was relatively clean.

Rather unexpectedly and the highlight of the stay was the food served in the restaurant. Reasonably priced, a good menu selection, decent quality and huge portions. It's not upscale dining by any means but was good decent tucker.

There is a pool but it's postage stamp sized. The beach is okay but as others have mentioned you run the beach vendor gauntlet every time you step foot on the sand.

We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The same goes for the Aussie management.

If you're looking for a room or hotel that looks like it's part of an international chain - this is not for you. If you don't spend much time in a room and just need a place to lay your head, this may be okay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HK355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Olongapo hotels

Beijing, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

Stayed there for one night, although i had planned to stay longer, but after one night in an old, overpriced room, that smelt only toilet and chlorine cleaner, we decided to go back. Aircondition worked well, but noisy like an old JU-52 airplane engine. Staff was quite nice, food was ok. As some of the comments already mentioned, the difference between cash and credit card payment is ridiculous. who wants to carry so much cash in a country like the Philippines?


The floating restaurant was swept away by a typhoon, no idea when or if they will build it up again.

All in all an experience i do not want to have again. there are nicer and better places in this area. i strongly recommend to do some refurbishment or renovations, because for the state the rooms are in, it is far too expensive.

By the way, it is quite strange to not allow any foods and drinks to be brought to this hotel. Looks like they want to absolutely force people to stay and spend the money there, which brings it almost close to rip off, although prices are reasonable. Never happened to me in any hotel of the world before.

The beach was not nice too. someone should tell the customers that they have to look upon an industrial harbor in close vicinity. no chairs and umbrellas installed - but you are allowed to take a beach chair by your own, with the "kind" reminder to take care that they come back again. but since these annoying vendors are around there all time, i guess not many guests will use this unique opportunity. the management should take a look at hospitality in other Southeast Asian destinations, in order to learn a bit about customer care and guest service.

Not the hotel's fault, but the sea water was very dirty. but, the water in the swimming pool was not much better, which is the hotel's fault.

oh, concerning guest service supplies. the hotel just provides a small piece of cheap ,packed soap. of course, all other supplies are there, too. with the exact price written on it. this is not really guest service. for this price they could maybe offer some shampoo and shower gel, fixed to the wall in the bathroom, or even better, some small bottles for free.

for just 900 pesos more per night i had a fantastic stay in a very pleasant, clean and modern 4 star hotel on Manila bay. including all the necessary things - and breakfast, which is, of course, not included, too. i really regret to have interrupted my ten days stay in manila for this bad experience in this blue rock resort. wasted time and money for the travel and the stay in subic.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank True story B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
125 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

Well situated right on the beach in Subic Bay. Arrived during a very wet July and access to the hotel site was not the ideal introduction to our short three day visit. However the weather eventually improved and once the beach was cleaned up by staff it looked every bit like the promotional brochures except for the missing floating bar. Great menu with wide range of local dishes and western style meals. Staff very helpful and room service very prompt. Thanks we will be back

Room Tip: The Blue Rock Resort does have very blue rooms on the beach front
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
2 Thank retep42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2011

A review depends on one's attitude to life, past travel experiences and expectations. A 'resort' in the Philippines does not mean the same as these words in another country but the price you pay should indicate what you will get.


Room 18 - right on (above) the beach. Smallish room but quite okay with a mattress on the floor for 5 of us (3 kids - 3yrs, 6yrs, 8yrs). Mirror on the ceiling but sadly no pink champagne on ice.

Kids could play in the sand and we could watch from deck chair on balcony or join them. Not a fantastic beach (grey sand with rubbish) and lots of vendors etc but water clean. Vendors no problem, they are polite - be nice to them they are just trying to feed their family.

Blue Rock sweep their part of the beach regularly and vendors are unable to actually enter the resort. The food is just GREAT! The staff are excellent. Very well trained. A small mistake in an order in the restaurant was rectified immediately (one small error in 10 days not bad!). Office staff are great.

Right on the beach so impossible to stop getting a bit of sand in your room esp with kids but staff turned up everyday to clean and change sheets etc.

Sure a few guys there with girls they had picked-up in local bar but it wasn't a problem and certainly didn't bother the kids. Why should it?
Floating bar just off-shore looked fun.

Pool is very small (although deep).

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flightless74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olongapo
0.1 mi away
Mangrove Resort Hotel
Mangrove Resort Hotel
#2 of 18 in Olongapo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Subiza Beach Resort
Subiza Beach Resort
#8 of 18 in Olongapo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.5 mi away
Subic Grand Seas Resort
Subic Grand Seas Resort
#4 of 18 in Olongapo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.2 mi away
Rama International Beach Resort
2.2 mi away
Subic Residencias
Subic Residencias
#3 of 18 in Olongapo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cherry Midtown Hotel
Cherry Midtown Hotel
#13 of 18 in Olongapo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Rock Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Rock Beach Resort

Property: Blue Rock Beach Resort
Address: Baloy Long Beach, Olongapo, Luzon 2200, Philippines (Formerly Blue Rock Resort & Dive Center)
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Central Luzon Region > Zambales Province > Olongapo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Olongapo
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Olongapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Rock Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In-room accommodation include the following to make your stay more pleasurable: 1 Queen Size Bed, air-conditioning/ceiling fan and wall fan, FREE WiFi connection, safety deposit box, telephone available for local & international calls, mini bar, cabled TV, private bathroom and toilet with toiletries. For Junior Suite same room amenities have been applied with 1 King Size Bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Blue Rock Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Rock Resort And Dive Center
Blue Rock Resort & Dive Hotel Olongapo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing