We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place & a Great breakfast”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Olongapo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arizona International Resort
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Olongapo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I spent 1 night at the Arizona. Even before I got there I was helped repeatedly by Gerchean at the front desk. I had never been to Olongapo or Clark / Angeles City before. Gerchean helped me arrange transportation from Clark & the Southern Cross Shuttle dropped me off right at their door. I was made to feel welcome as soon as I walked in their door. I was shown a clean comfortable room will lots of storage cabinets, a desk, a fan, air conditioning, Cable TV, hot shower, and a mini bar. I only ate 1 meal there (Eggs Benedict for breakfast was wonderful), but wished I had dined there more. I didn't get into the pool, but it did look inviting.

When I checked in I was given a voucher for a free drink & decided to use it when I returned from visiting a family member. The voucher isn't valid at the regular bar, so i walked through the door of the Score Bar. I looked around & decided that wasn't the place for me. The point of telling this part is to let you know that the Score Bar is a separate bar located behind a clearly marked door. I could have easily been comfortable there, in the lobby with my wife & children. There were no gaudy signs or half dressed women running around. I went back to the regular bar, enjoyed several nice cold beers & gave my voucher to another guy at the bar.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlanOnPalawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 240 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2012

The food, atmosphere, diving and customer service made this a very enjoyable relaxing break. Well done Tommo & Gavin.

Room Tip: Drink the local rum!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The67Yak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Thanks for a great time guy's. We were not expecting five star as we were only paying around AUD55 a night. Saying that it was well above value for money and the staff did everything to make sure our trip was enjoyable including looking after any trips and transport we needed efficently. Thomo (Owner) and Gavin (Manager) made sure we were always looked after. Rooms were good, quiet and comfortable and the food was great. Sorry Thomo but I got your order of ribs (best ever). Special thanks also to Mark and Tim in the dive shop for some great dives. Great memories and good times. Thanks guy's.

Room Tip: generally all good as management try to keep any noise to a level that wont effect the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ross I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We just got back at Angeles City from a three night stay at Subic. I was looking for an old friend from Australia, the only information about whom I had was that he drank in the Score Bar at the Arizona. So that was a good enough reason to stay at the Arizona. Minutes after checking in and not even in room yet a text had been sent to my mate by management that someone was looking for him. Met up later that night. The stay was during the storm season, but it is a good place in which to wait out the bad weather. Met Gavin and Don, bothe genuine friendly fellow Aussies who make a bloke feel welcome. In some immortal words, "I shall return" to Subic Bay and it will be to the Arizona.

Room Tip: Only had Room 20, but it was a quiet room and quiet good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Warria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Myself and 2 friends visited the Arizona Resort in April and had the time of our lives. We spent a majority of our trip in Angeles and it was a breath of fresh air arriving in Subic Bay.

From the moment we walked in we were treated absolutely fantastic. My friend requested a small alteration to his room and it was dealt with straight away. No Fuss. Gavin the manager was absolutely fantastic. Not only was he great company to have a beer with but very knowledgeable. Helped us out in many areas of our trip.

The rooms were not flash however were very suitable to what I needed. All I need in a big bed, air con, a safe and a mini bar. As long as it's clean I'm very satisfied, which they were.

The restaurant has great food. From memory a Surf and Turf was around 600 peso's. This is about $13. This is a bargain.

The floating bar was great, nothing like having a few beers whilst watching the sun go down before heading to the score bar. Funniest part was watching "Pungit" the owners dog getting rowed over to the bar. The score bar was so good we found it hard leaving to go to other places. Although it is not a flash bar by any means it is just very friendly and has a great
atmosphere.

We are doing another trip in October/November and we will definitely be heading back to Arizona. I encourage everyone to check it out.

If you have enough fun you may even make the wall of shame :)

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4evergreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

The location is pretty good with one side on the Barrio Barretto strip and the other side facing the beach. The restaurant was undergoing construction work when I was there recently although they were making an effort to keep the disruption and noise to a minimum. Restauant and floating bar staff were reasonably friendly and efficient. Unfortunately the rooms really need an upgrade. Although the rooms are kept clean the furniture is old and worn. I was in one of the 'deluxe' rooms and its window looked out onto some old pipes and had no natural light. There was also no mobile phone reception in the room. It has to be said the prices are fairly reasonable for a seaside resort but the place could be really nice with a bit of investment.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank footix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

I write this review from my room at The Arizona, (WI FI signal is strong) and thanks to previous reviews here on Tripadvisor my friend and I booked 2 rooms. The rooms and property are well maintained and we were fortunate to catch a few drinks on the Floating Bar which is an experience! By the end of the first day the staff and other guests are calling you by your first name it is just a super friendly well managed place. The food is great, available 24 hours a day and very reasonably priced. Scores Bar is like the bar you'll wish you had back home. Gavin (Manager) arranged our timely transportation from Manila Airport to the Resort and the Van is available to use for any local shopping etc.while staying here for a reasonable P450 per hour. If you don't want to venture out, everything is here. As their Tee Shirts say "where it all happens". Trust me... the Staff and Guests will make you feel like home here after after your first step into the Resort. You could stay at other places here.......but why?

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrJerseyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olongapo
0.6 mi away
Mangrove Resort Hotel
Mangrove Resort Hotel
#2 of 18 in Olongapo
171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Subic Grand Seas Resort
Subic Grand Seas Resort
#6 of 18 in Olongapo
169 reviews
2.3 mi away
Court Meridian Hotel
Court Meridian Hotel
#2 of 28 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Wild Orchid Beach Resort Subic Bay
Wild Orchid Beach Resort Subic B...
#17 of 28 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
340 reviews
1.8 mi away
Subic Residencias
Subic Residencias
#3 of 18 in Olongapo
71 reviews
0.6 mi away
Subiza Beach Resort
Subiza Beach Resort
#13 of 18 in Olongapo
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arizona International Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arizona International Resort

Address: 47 National Highway | Barrio Barretto, Subic Bay, Olongapo, Luzon 2200, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Central Luzon Region > Zambales Province > Olongapo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Olongapo
Price Range: $30 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the National Highway and fronting Subic Bay, the Arizona Resort is one of the best-kept secrets of the Subic Bay area. The beach front resort has 31 well-appointed rooms, which vary in price to suit the budget traveler to those where money in no object. All rooms have queen size beds, air conditioning, color televisions with CIGNAL Digital TV, DVD players and in-room safes. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the resort. The resort also boasts South Seas Bar & Grill, the best 24 hour restaurant in the area. For the sports fans there's Score Sports Bar, the area's only fully air-conditioned Sports Bar. On the water Arizona Floating Bar has all the hospitality of the resort but the fun of a bar. And Arizona Dive Shop, a PADI registered dive shop, is considered the best dive shop on Subic Bay. All in all, The Arizona Resort is your one-stop-shop for a great value holiday. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Arizona International Hotel Olongapo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing