We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return trip just as memorable”
Review of Wild Orchid Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wild Orchid Resort
Ranked #11 of 69 Hotels in Angeles City
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Return trip just as memorable”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Returned to Wild Orchid in september (previously in april).Booked balcony room in the new wing as before.One minor issue I had on my last visit was lack of water pressure in the shower,but this visit it was very good.Did'nt use the 2 pools as often this visit as the weather was pretty ordinary,compared to april visit.(It was the rainy season after all!)Eat at the restaurant quite often (late breakfast mainly)the food is of good quality,sometimes difficult to get prompt service on occasions from the girls (they do like to talk among themselves!)Must mention the girls at the front reception,booking in and booking out was done quickly and efficiently and with a smile on their faces.(Full marks girls!)Finally,if you are looking for a reasonably priced hotel,that is very central to all the action,this hotel could be the one for you.Another hotel worth consideration is the new Penthouse hotel,across the street.It should be completed by christmas according to the workmen I was chatting to.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Derek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    74
    36
    15
    8
See reviews for
13
30
80
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Angeles City, Philippines
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Fantastic As a budget traveller i have stayed many dollar saving hotels here in Angeles however now will come back here for sure. I cannot find one thing i didn't like. I always stayed cheaper hotels but in the long run it probably costs the same.Great room spotless!!Pool is out of this world,the food terrific and well priced.100% Recommend staying this hotel.

Room Tip: Poolside Room lower level are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PedroPenduko2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Another hotel close by is always my first hotel choice in Angeles due to proximity to nightlife, restaurants and the like but twice now in the last three months, I've called for reservations on short notice and they've been full. So twice now I've used Wild Orchid as a second choice and I have to rate it as a fairly close second. If you can't walk to Angeles nightlife from Wild Orchid, you either need oxygen or a wheelchair or both as its only about a half a block farther off of the beaten path.

Indeed the rooms are somewhat outdated and overpriced by perhaps $10.00 USD but they're clean and secure. AC and cable tv have always worked well and I've never had a problem with hot water. Beds are queen size hotel beds and you really don't know what you're gong to get in that context from one hotel to another. The pool is somewhat larger than most and both stays there I've seen kids enjoying themselves in the water. Indeed, we all know the primary purpose of this hotel given its location but in a total of about 6 nights there, I've never seen any adults misbehaving so it appears to be kid friendly if you must bring them.

There are two bars, at front and back. The premises is taboo to the street peddlers and if you're not staying there, you'd better have a pretty good excuse to gain entry. Dave the manager is courteous and compliant. He will do whatever he can for you. to try to make your stay pleasant and I've never had anything resembling a complaint about any of the staff. Had the fish & chips last night (I'm American) and it was excellent coming with a fairly large salad. Although I'm speaking of Wild Orchid as an alternative to my primary home base, I won't hesitate to stay there again. They do the maximum with what they have to work with.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
272 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for three days over a weekend. First two nights were in a old room overlooking the pool and final night in new room in lagoon room again overlooking the room. I strongly reccomend that if you do decide to stay here you get a new room by the lagoon. Two pools with swim up bars and excellent variety of food served by pool restaurant sports bar or room service. The prices for food and drinks are very reasonable and value for money. The mini bar in room has same prices and for this should be commended on price along with variety along with large selection of toiletries in the bathroom. With its close proximity to Fields Ave most of the guests are here with local girls for short time or long time so not revcomended for families but it's a free show by the pool each day. Sports bar shows racing from Australia along with different sports Nrl , Arl and rugby etc. The staff should be noted for good service we saw a young kid swimming in the pool naked and he dropped a number two ( floating variety) staff quickly vacuumed out the mess and fixed up the pool. The hotel is good but if to return must stay only in a lagoon view room which is new with great cable and air con. Too many local kids swimming in pool wirh dirty street clothes on meeds to be more controlled. On sat and sun had functions by the pool the second had dj playing rap music very loud unable to rest in afternoon in room and totally inappropriate music with profanity while young children and families by the pool. Came back to Manila on Fly the Bus which picks you up at the front door much easier and worth the extra money than to transfer to Dau bus terminal etc.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bigozzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I have stayed at the Wild Orchid over ten times, each time different from the previous. The one constant is the staff; they are a step above the rest in Angeles!

Rooms: old wing is very dated. Aircon is spotty in some rooms. Shower has weak water pressure. The decor is nothing special. Pretty much a basic room with a not so basic price, 3,500php average. For location maybe worth it, but way cheaper options in the same area. Try Valentinos for comparison (but no pool).
New wing: seems like a totally different hotel! Rooms are very bright, aircon works well, comfort rooms are huge, and the view from your balcony down to the pool is a great way to spend the afternoon.

Resto is terrible and food is never good. Pool is probably the best in town. Garden area by the pool makes you feel like you left this small dusty town. Service is top notch! Value is above average and over the top for the quality. Think about paying $150 dollars to stay at Motel 6 in Vegas as comaprison...why??

Overall it is the pool, service, and location that sets the tone for this hotel. Makes it a good choice if that is what you are looking for. I would stay again if Lewis Grand or ABC is fully booked.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miguel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I have stayed at several hotels in Angeles City and the Wild Orchid Resort is my favorite based on accommodations and price. The rooms are very nice with balconies overlooking the two beautiful and well maintained swimming pools. With that said, I do prefer the rooms of the lagoon pool. The service, restaurant, and bar are also some of the best of any hotels in the area. Housekeeping does an excellent job and I have never had any issues with missing property (see my other reviews for a hotel to avoid in the area).

During our last few stays, my wife and I brought our young son and it is near impossible to keep him away from the pool. It is definitely one of the major attractions at the hotel.

Room Tip: Personally I prefer Lagoon rooms over rooms in the original building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I have stayed at the wild orchid many times probably 30 plus nights in total, and had a mixed response from staff but most are very good.

But last February 2013 was terrible, we live 40 minutes outside Angeles and decided to stay the night in Angeles so to allow us to have a late night out. We checked into the only room available their "family room" and found a used condom and packet in the bedside draw. When politely mentioning it to the evening staff they where fine and told me they would tell the cleaner in the morning.

In the morning we went downstairs and checked out and went for breakfast in the restaurant, the cleaner came into the restaurant and said out aloud sir you have left your pants-underwear in the bag in the wardrobe she then pushed a bag in my face with someone else's pants-underwear inside with wet marks on them. They where not mine as I had the same pair on as the night before and we where only staying one night. so had not bothered to change.

The problem with the wild orchid is the management-owners seem to let the staff dictate hotel policy. It is a shame as the Hotel has good rooms nice garden and bar restaurant area is nice design and relaxing. But some of the staff there do have a serious attitude problem. I do believe over the past year the quality of amenities has dropped as now you have to ask for a hairdryer in the room little tings like that have changed to save money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimmyJames000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Angeles City hotels
0.1 mi away
Central Park Tower Resort
Central Park Tower Resort
#6 of 69 in Angeles City
134 reviews
0.4 mi away
ABC Hotel
ABC Hotel
#2 of 69 in Angeles City
365 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pacific Breeze Hotel & Resort
Pacific Breeze Hotel & Resort
#13 of 69 in Angeles City
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Penthouse Hotel
Penthouse Hotel
#20 of 69 in Angeles City
147 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queens Hotel Angeles City
Queens Hotel Angeles City
#5 of 69 in Angeles City
190 reviews
1.2 mi away
Red Planet Angeles City
Red Planet Angeles City
#3 of 69 in Angeles City
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Orchid Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Orchid Resort

Property: Wild Orchid Resort
Address: Corner A Santos St & Johnny St. | Balibago, Angeles City, Luzon 2009, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Central Luzon Region > Pampanga Province > Angeles City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 69 Hotels in Angeles City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wild Orchid Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wild Orchid Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Orchid Hotel Angeles City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing