We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Down Hilll”
Review of Wild Orchid Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wild Orchid Resort
Ranked #11 of 69 Hotels in Angeles City
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Down Hilll”
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

I have been coming to Angeles for over 20 years and stayed at Wild Orchid enough times to get a Mabuhay discount card. I only come to this hotel for the pool. There are many cheaper hotels to stay at just as close to the red light district.

My biggest complaint is the lack of internet service (WiFi) on the lagoon pool side rooms, room 107. Come on now, spring for another $100 router and put it in the hall. The only way to get a signal is to go out on the balcony with all the mosquitos. Check the internet connection in the room before you except it.

For the price paid you need to have WiFi in the room! The lower end hotels have internet in all their rooms.

This place is understaffed, the food is edible, great pool area, and walking distance to red light district.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Sfrgrwes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    74
    36
    15
    8
See reviews for
13
30
80
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
106 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights from March 20 - March 23. Due to the fact that it is a little more tucked away and off the main strip than other hotels....it is much quieter than other hotels yet still in walking distance to many great clubs and restaurants. I booked a Lagoon Pool side room which was on the ground floor with its own balcony facing the pool. I never heard any noise from the pool or bar area once the balcony doors were closed. The restaurant has some good cuisine and the bar is 24 hours so you can get a drink or some food whenever you like. The Hotel is very clean and the pool there is my favorite pool in Angeles City.

The staff there were fantastic no matter what time of day. They always had a smile on their face and always had time to chat with you. I enjoyed sitting at the bar and watching the NRL live from Australia. Even better when Melbourne Storm beat Canterbury Bulldogs. The drinks tasted even better.

The prices here are reasonable....and if you are looking for somewhere clean, fun and centrally located....then definitely consider this hotel. I highly recommend this Resort to anyone visiting Angeles City.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wineguy1744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This Hotel has absolutely the best pool area in Balibago district, so If you are looking for a quite and relaxing atmosphere this is a must! Only consider the sunny season In Angeles starts more or less in December until the beginning of May; during the other months i would recommend the very near Valentino's Hotel with more affordable prices and you can always choose to use the pool area of Wild Orchid for an entry fee of 400 pesos (redeemable in foods).
Other plus it's the location...just 2 min walk from the very popular Fields Avenue with all the bars and entertainments, restaurants, etc (about 10 min. walk frm SM Mall) but still very quiet during the night.
I had a lagoon balcony room (don't choose the rooms in the old wing!) and for the "pinoy" standards has an adequate size and nice decor (not so "kitsch" style like ABC for example).
Pool area is open 24 h and you can invite all friends you want for wild party. Free wifi but sometimes little slow connection.
The food was also tasty with a various menu to select from. Regarding the staff I can say helpful and kind...just sometimes little slow like in the Check out time (you can get 5% discount if you pay cash and more 10% if you spend there more than 10 nights!).
The only negative point is the lack of a gym and little bit overpriced (for a same standard hotel you will pay around the half in Thailand)...at least they should offer "low season prices".

Room Tip: Only Lagoon balcony rooms in the new wing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heyer71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold coast
Level Contributor
204 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Good rooms and staff with everything you need to be comfortable and safe. The rooms are expensive by Angeles standards as is the food which is only average. However, worth the money if you want a relaxed and secure stay in a very entral location

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeles City, Philippines
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

I decided to get a room for my GFs birthday celebration. The non smoking room was spotless with all the western amenities that a foreigner could want. The two giant pools are clean and great for a party with friends. This hotel is a great value for the money!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico, Philippines
Level Contributor
86 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed here with my partner and cannot fault the hotel and service. Food was excellent and was especially well looked after by the Manager - Eddie. we had a deluxe room on the ground floor enabling us to just walk onto the balcony down 4 steps and straight into a private pool with a swim up bar. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Had a deluxe ground floor room overlooking the private pool area with swim up bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

My wife and I sauntered over to The Wild Orchid resort for a Christmas Day dinner. It wound up being one of our collective poorer choices when visiting Angeles City.

For a Christmas dinner, it was sadly poor. The food arrived stone cold despite a sparse crowd. The serving size was feeble and poorly arranged. It reminded me of someone slopping food on my tray in the Army, only it tasted worse.

My wife's food had not arrived by the time I had managed to choke down the food. When we "followed-up" the order, we were informed that they had not started it. It was a salad. We bailed after paying our bill.

The pool area was nice and clean. If you're seeking a place without kids, avoid this place. One of the conveniences is that it is located a minute's walk from the Field's party area. However, based on the service and the lackadaisical attitude, I would not return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Angeles City hotels
0.1 mi away
Central Park Tower Resort
Central Park Tower Resort
#6 of 69 in Angeles City
134 reviews
0.4 mi away
ABC Hotel
ABC Hotel
#2 of 69 in Angeles City
364 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pacific Breeze Hotel & Resort
Pacific Breeze Hotel & Resort
#13 of 69 in Angeles City
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Penthouse Hotel
Penthouse Hotel
#19 of 69 in Angeles City
147 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queens Hotel Angeles City
Queens Hotel Angeles City
#5 of 69 in Angeles City
190 reviews
1.2 mi away
Red Planet Angeles City
Red Planet Angeles City
#3 of 69 in Angeles City
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Orchid Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Orchid Resort

Property: Wild Orchid Resort
Address: Corner A Santos St & Johnny St. | Balibago, Angeles City, Luzon 2009, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Central Luzon Region > Pampanga Province > Angeles City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 69 Hotels in Angeles City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wild Orchid Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Wild Orchid Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Orchid Hotel Angeles City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing