We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reliable Hotel, Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Royal Amsterdam
Ranked #10 of 70 Hotels in Angeles City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I was overwhelmed by the warmth, happiness, efficiency and enthusiasm of the staff. Especially the reception staff. They are 5 star. My airport pick up and drop off went really well, as did drop off/pick up Manila. My personal billing was a little complex however it was all invoiced efficiently and accurately. I travel a lot, and I have never experienced such a combination of warmth, friendliness, happiness and efficiency from any other hotel, including 5 star hotels. The hotel is in a very safe location, and very close to the action. Unfortunately, because of this, there can be a little noise, out of the control of the hotel. The first night my room faced the street but there was only a little bit of street noise and that was fine. But then in the morning the adjoining building were hammering. The empathetic staff said "we are sorry sir, we asked them to stop but they just did it more" The staff are so nice. I felt bad complaining. They immediately moved me to another room. Night 2 very quiet. Night 3 room facing the street Saturday night, and there was street noise that was a little bit uncomfortable but I am a very light sleeper. The rooms are not new, but are immaculate, large, and freshly carpeted. Beds are very firm (Like most of Asia). It has very good security, including a security guard, and also room safes. I ate at the hotel restaurant every breakfast - 10/10 and great coffee.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear may get Karaoke noise, those at the front get a little bit of street noise (altho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Privateyez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (429)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 429 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2013

Probably 3 and one-half stars at best. It's about average for Angels City. Good size room, but dark, had a funky smell, hard bed, and safe didn't work. Had to get the front desk to open the safe every time I wanted access. Not great security for your valuables as anyone who can get the key can access the safe. Very friendly and accommodating staff. Right in the middle of Walking Street action so room was noisy. 100 cable channels, yet no listing so you had to surf through them all to find anything worth watching. Overall, there are better places to stay especially some of the newer hotels, which why the HRA was almost empty in the high season.

Room Tip: Go high and in the middle away from the noise. But, no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DipCourier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UHESSE, Manager at Hotel Royal Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear guest,

thank you for your comments. We totally agree with you regarding the channel guide. We are currently working on a complete listing of all the channels available and distributing them to the rooms. The channel listing should be completed and available within a few days.

Regarding the noise levels from outside businesses, we have done everything that we can to eliminate the outside noise from affecting our guests stay. In the future please inform us if you are a light sleeper and we can arrange for a room that is located in a better location.
If you have specific needs please communicate them to our booking staff, they are very efficient and will do everything possible to ensure that your stay is enjoyable. Also, if you are looking for a particular room book early to ensure that we can accommodate your request as our rooms are on a first come first serve basis and we are usually fully booked.


What we cannot relate to is your problem with the handling of the safe. Neither the customer before nor the customer after had any issue with the safe in your room. Further more, the several times that we responded to your concerns the safe was functioning properly.

Hotel Royal Amsterdam

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is my second stay here, booked the rooms 8 months in advance because I was disappointed twice due to fully booked 2 years ago. Van was waiting for us at 1 am when we walked out of the arrival hall. Hassle free check-in (less than 5 mins), room was was small to suit our budget but it was clean. We paid cash the next morning and received 10% discount! The location is very good within everything within reached, money changer, restaurants, massage, convenient stores... Safety wise? Very good security but friendly officers! The front desk staffs were extremely helpful, transport arrangements to our golf courses was very punctual and very reasonable rate. Stay here and you will never be disappointed!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thiong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Other then no swimming pool, everything is good about this hotel...great service, accommodations, location for the mongers, airport pick up and value. The resto is poor, but many near by. Great personnel at front desk.....due to email delays my room was sold to others but manager gave me an upgrade...very gracious

Room Tip: the Jacuzzi suits wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BacchusandVenus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The location is excellent as it's right in the heart of the entertainment area (and,let's be honest,it's for the nightlife that most visitors come to Angeles). The rooms are of a good standard and are kept spotless by the excellent staff. The front desk is efficient and the security seems fine. Despite being in the middle of nightlife there is no noise from the bars (although mine was a room facing the inner courtyard - I don't know about rooms on lower levels facing the street).

I can't comment on the restaurant as I didn't eat there on this visit. Potential guests should be aware that there is no swimming pool or lifts/elevators ( I was aware of this but it didn't matter to me).

Room Tip: A room facing the inner courtyard should be quieter than one facing the street where the bars stay o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnD54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Located in the middle of Field's Plaza with an excellent staff and descent rooms but if you want something resembling the Fields Plaza Suites Condo-Hotel or Angeles Beach Club Hotel go with the penthouse suite.

Room Tip: If you need power when you’re out of the room use the extra plug in the refrigerator’s receptacle, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evolvingmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Very good location with excellent restaurant and good service, the rooms are well equipped with wi Fi DvD Good TV though some ate dark without window. Good value for money and a safe place to stay in Angeles.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulW502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Angeles City hotels
0.1 mi away
Central Park Tower Resort
Central Park Tower Resort
#7 of 70 in Angeles City
149 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queens Hotel Angeles City
Queens Hotel Angeles City
#6 of 70 in Angeles City
204 reviews
0.4 mi away
ABC Hotel
ABC Hotel
#3 of 70 in Angeles City
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pacific Breeze Hotel & Resort
Pacific Breeze Hotel & Resort
#14 of 70 in Angeles City
257 reviews
1.2 mi away
Red Planet Angeles City
Red Planet Angeles City
#4 of 70 in Angeles City
608 reviews
0.0 mi away
Score Birds Hotel
Score Birds Hotel
#11 of 70 in Angeles City
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Amsterdam

Address: 684 Fields Avenue | Balibago, Angeles City, Luzon 2009, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Central Luzon Region > Pampanga Province > Angeles City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Angeles City
#6 Best Value Hotel in Angeles City
Price Range: $39 - $52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Royal Amsterdam 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The affordable Deluxe Hotel on Fields Avenue, Angeles City.Right in the middle of the entertainment area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Royal Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Amsterdam Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing