We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“real bad”
Review of Marlim Mansions

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marlim Mansions
Ranked #68 of 70 Hotels in Angeles City
Reviewed February 18, 2010

i would not stay here the room's were real bad holes in the beds,no hot water,one towel and one face cloth had to pay for more. the only thing good was the food and the staff(some)

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lbuzz3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
There are newer reviews for Marlim Mansions
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 22 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2009

We arrived about dinner time and left just after breakfast, so I basically can't say anything about the hotel during the day.

We were told that the hotel was about 40yrs old. The selection of furniture in the lobby further confirms this. However, we were very happy with the level of cleanliness and the hospitality of their staff.

The room we were given was spacious, but again, the furniture used here was rather old fashioned. The bathroom was covered in marble tiles, from floor to wall. Bathroom accessories didn't look like they have ever been replaced over the last 40 years. I think there was supposed to be hot water supply, but not hot enough for my liking. Over all, I found it to be acceptable, slept well on the bed, but don't be hoping for any romantic vibes from this room.

Breakfast was very very simple. While we were there, they had Sausages, Eggs, Toast, fried vermicelli and fried rice. Nothing special. However, the staff was great. Free wireless internet access is available on the ground floor, and we were very happy with the speed.

Although on normal occasions my first stop would be the swimming pool, this time we were on a tight schedule and had to give it a miss. But after seeing the pool, it didn't seem like such a loss. The water was practically moss green, it could have been the tiles they used, I didn't get close enough to inspect, but it didn't seem inviting.

I think this hotel could use some upgrading. For the time being, I'd recommend this for short stays only. On a positive note, I understand that it's easy to get public transportation from here, also there are plenty of convenient stores nearby and a few good restaurants. Angeles fried chicken is just across the street.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bedede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2009

i stay there for how many weeks.. the people there are very friendly specially the staff of the coffeeshop.. the food they serve very delicious..hope to see again this hotel..

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joshz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2008

the building itself is 40++ years old but this hotel is good. It has almost 100 rooms and they are huge. it also has swimming pool. i love the OLA COFFEE SHOP. the foods there are great. people are very friendly and hospitable. The hotel has also a spa, thai resto, internet shop, citibank etc.. it is accesible to the casino and shopping center. it is really great to stay here. try it for a change..

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank chichidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2007

I have been separated from my wife for quite sometime. She still manages to make my life hell. During my visit, the hotel staff gave out all my personal details, which I did not appreciate.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jr1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2007

Have just returned after a three-week trip to Angeles City, two of which were spent at the Marlim Mansions Hotel.

The hotel is located in the Diamond sub-division of Angeles City, adjacent to a main highway. It is within walking distance of the "nightlife" at Fields and has its own pool and secure parking.

There is not much of a view from the rooms. The hotel has internet access and offers limited WiFi access in the lobby. Within a short distance of the hotel can be found a number of coffee shops, restaurants and bars. There is a near-by casino.

This Hotel is large and airy, and appears to have been designed without aircon, with reliance on natural ventilation throughout. However, aircon is now fitted in most rooms.

I was initially booked into one of their Superior Airconned Rooms. The room itself was large and spacious, with two double beds, a large US-style refrigerator and a bathtub as well as a shower.

The bathroom itself was a little aged and weary, but clean.

The main problem was that these rooms overlook two open-air Karaoke Bars, both of which operate at maximum volume until the early hours of the morning (5-6a.m. some nights).

I then transferred to a smaller, and cheaper, Standard Aircon Room on the other side of the Hotel. This was much quieter, but came with a defective aircon unit, requiring a second move to an adjacent room - which had a defective bed!

The friendly staff of this hotel proved to be helpful and prompt in dealing with problems however, and had a replacement bed installed.

Overall, a pleasant stay and I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Seedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2006

Angeles hotels tend to be overpriced especially at weekends but the Marlim stands out as the best of the bunch in that price range. Clean and light. Friendly and helpful reception staff. Good location, walking distance to Fields but away form the 24-hour bar scene. Plenty of eateries and convenience stores nearby. The only place in Angeles that feels like a real hotel (as opposed to a short-time dive). One drawback: the traffic noise on MacArthur Highway. Get a room high up and on the east side of the building. Other than that, a nice place.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 112609h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Angeles City hotels
1.9 mi away
Vera Hotel
Vera Hotel
#40 of 70 in Angeles City
7 reviews
0.0 mi away
PJ Inn Hotel
PJ Inn Hotel
#59 of 70 in Angeles City
33 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marquis Hotel
Marquis Hotel
#37 of 70 in Angeles City
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Azzurro Hotel
Azzurro Hotel
#17 of 70 in Angeles City
28 reviews
2.2 mi away
No photo provided
Centrium Condominium Hotel
#52 of 94 in Angeles City
1 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel V
Hotel V
#51 of 70 in Angeles City
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlim Mansions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlim Mansions

Address: MacArthur Highway, Balibago, Angeles City, Luzon 2009, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Central Luzon Region > Pampanga Province > Angeles City
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 70 Hotels in Angeles City
Price Range: $28 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marlim Mansions 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Marlim Mansions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlim Mansions Hotel Angeles City
Marlim Mansions Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing