We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Tex-Mex Food”

Tequila Reef Cantina
Ranked #5 of 502 Restaurants in Angeles City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Authentic Mexican Cuisine, Margaritas, BAR-B-Q Ribs,Burgers, Sandwiches, Seafood, Filipino Food and Much More!
Reviewed July 16, 2018

Used this restaurant last year as well. Decent Tex-Mex food. Large portions. Good margaritas. Ribs in particular were very good this time around.

2  Thank Rory K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, Owner at Tequila Reef Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2018

Thank you for your review Rory! I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the ribs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (365)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 365 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2018

I walked into Tequila Reef in Angeles City as I was planning to order an east LA burrito before I was headed home and the manager says to me that I am kicked out. I say for what reason and they say because a few nights before a guy that I know was arguing his bill because they would not allow him to put his girlfriends order(to save approximately 35 cent, wow!) onto his piatnight card which offers 5% discount for customers. If this is their policy then so be it and I see nothing wrong with letting people know about this policy as I have noticed many couples be given the discount but I guess that requires being a close friend of management. I know they are worried about abuse such as a group of guys coming in and using 1 card by putting their bill together. I never see any restaurant anywhere in Angeles city actually seperate 1 man and 1 womans bill from each other. Especially knowing that the two people involved are a couple. I had nothing to do with this argument nor do I care what happens, or the policy involved, either way for the 35 cents involved in the disagreement. I have never had a problem with this place except 9 months ago some of the waitresses would repeatedly call me cheap charlie everytime that I only left a 20 peso tip on a 152 peso bill. The were insisting 100 pesos tip and showing a very bad attitude in requesting and hustling such a tip. This had gone on for over a month, enough was enough of the incredible disrespect shown by waitresses right in front of management who did not intervene in any way, before I wrote my experience online which to Reefs credit was corrected and no more problems occurred(outside of being asked several times to remove my experience). No apology given or a let me buy you a drink or anything to say we are sorry to what had occurred towards one of our common customers in exchange for my experience being removed from an online review. Now to be accused of somehow being involved in the disagreement of someone else is just plain crazy and a poor management decision. I have a business management degree and am quite frankly shocked/disgusted that a business would employ such decision making ability. Wow, and this is really because Tequila Reef wants to split up items on their bill as consumed by him at 5% discount and consumed by her is no discount. Plus I got caught in the crossfire by knowing the couple involved. Who knows who else knows the couple and have been banned from Tequila Reef. What a joke that place has become since the sale of the business and new management has been installed. No more custom orders to how you like, higher prices, lower discounts and lower food and drink quality. I was still a customer even though the business had gone down in many areas but the people that know me know that I use to be a customer 15 times per week. Up to 3 times in one day. Now I go about 3-5 times per month. If you are looking for a place where the customer is always wrong then you have just found it.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GregBvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, Owner at Tequila Reef Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2018

The manager said you were not welcome because you are posting things that are not true or inappropriate on several social media sites. It had nothing to do with your friend.

The discount scheme has already been discussed.

Your waitress problem has already been addressed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2018

Nice cozy place. Full range of dishes. Great food with a happy atmosphere. Don't miss the Margarita dance!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank STEVE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, Owner at Tequila Reef Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2018

Thank you Steve! The girls love to do the "shaken dance".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2018

This was my first time being back at Tequila Reef since new management. I noticed a big difference. My waitress was very attentive. After taking my order, she would come over to ask if everything was okay and to see if I needed anything. The young lady who was the manager on duty that evening came over to introduce herself to me and my friends. I can't say anything bad about the service....Good Job ladies. Aside from the excellent service; I found the food to be better than before. I ordered the LA Burrito with pulled pork, which it had lots of. Burritos usually have more beans and rice than anything. This one had just the right amount of everything. It was one of the best burritos I ever had, even better than back home in the USA. #1 I didn't have to wait very long for it to be served. #2 It was hot and fresh. #3 it was more than enough to eat. I left very full and a happy customer. I'm looking forward to coming back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Passgo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, Owner at Tequila Reef Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2018

Thank you for your review! The staff works hard to earn your satisfaction. I'm glad you enjoyed your food!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2018 via mobile

They offer 5% discount (Most other places offer 10%) for a local membership card. I go here at least 3 times a week and always get my 5% off. Last night I decided to bring a date for dinner and was seriously disappointed. When I asked to pay my bill the waitress brought me 2 bills. One bill was for me and another for the items my date ordered. When I asked why the bills were separated the waitress claims “the 5% discount only applies to the things I consume.” So when all is said and done I don’t get the 20p ($0.37) discount for my girls meal and drink. Do I care about 20p ($0.37)? Nope! It’s the principle of the situation and I won’t be back here.

Thank shawn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, Owner at Tequila Reef Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2018

We have several discount schemes. The membership card that you are referring to is valid for the card holder only and it is easy to get. This has been the case since inception of the discount scheme for Tequila Reef. I'm surprised you were disappointed if in fact you are a regular customer. We due it to prevent abuse. "MOST" places have zero discount.

Our very best customers earn a VIP card that entitles them to a 10% discount for the cardholder AND his/her date. We have nearly 100 VIPs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tequila Reef Cantina also viewed

Angeles City, Pampanga Province
Angeles City, Pampanga Province
 
Angeles City, Pampanga Province
Angeles City, Pampanga Province
 
Angeles City, Pampanga Province
Angeles City, Pampanga Province
 

Been to Tequila Reef Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing